We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shenai

78 Yorktown Road, Sandhurst GU47 9BT, England
+44 1252 878795
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
78 Yorktown Road, Sandhurst GU47 9BT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We live locally and have been using Shenai for takeaways for years. Great good, massive helpings and friendly staff. Will deliver locally, or 10% discount if you pick up yourself. Timings can be a bit elastic, however, and you can sometimes wait for a little...More

Thank Richard L
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for you review, we are glad that you enjoy our food! Thank you, The Shenai

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Our wives away so the men went to an excellent Indian restaurant. Good food, service and value for money. I have been before and will return.

Thank Brian Q
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We hope we impressed enough to bring the wives next time! Thank you, The Shenai

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Went with friends. The service was appalling, we didn't order a starter thankfully as the mains took one and a half hours to turn up even when we asked about them earlier. We ordered a second round of drinks which never arrived. And when we...More

2  Thank Rob H
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very sorry that you have had this experience at The Shenai. We try our best to provide excellent service and would love for you to come back and give us a second try. Thank you, The Shenai management

Reviewed 25 September 2017

We have always loved the food at the Shenai but were very disappointed the last time we got a takeaway from them. The Tarka dhall was so watery - it was tasteless and more like dhall soup and the pilau rice was lumpy and not...More

1  Thank Casey8548
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am very sorry that you have had this experience at the Shenai. I can only assume that you may have ordered on a rare off day. However this is also not acceptable as our food should and usually exceeds exceptations everytime. As for the...More

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Went for lunch on Saturday. Place was empty apart from us. Ordered drinks and they came promptly enough. Placed our order and waited...and waited...and waited.... the two waiters were on their smartphones in the bar area, and didn't look at all bothered or surprised that...More

1  Thank Yvonne L
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We truly apologise the experience that you had at the Shenai. Staff are not permitted to use mobile phones at all on the restaurant floor, and we train them to be as attentive as possible. As for the large takeaway, at the Shenai we do...More

Reviewed 18 September 2017

Their website shows them being open from 12 - 2 on Saturdays and having eaten there before I was keen to show my friends how good the food was, albeit the service first time I ate there was slow. We entered the Shenai about 12.10pm...More

1  Thank Angelic-Friend
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We apologise that you felt this way. We advice our customers as much as possible to book before hand so we can provide the best possible service. At the Shenai we do not prioritise takeaways over the table of customers, but we apologise that you...More

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Terrible food terrible service Tuesday night special for poor quality food and half portion sizes go somewhere else and pay full price for quality food and quality service iMore

1  Thank luke b
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry that you felt this way. We hope that you can give us another chance as we have many customers actually praise our food, portion sizes and quality of service. Although there should not be bad days at our restaurant, sometimes unfortunately you...More

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Well worth a booking as it can fill up quickly with the quality of the food. The staff are lovely. I never eat an Indian anywhere else now as been spoiled. I always choose something new every time but I do find the mango chicken...More

Thank Kelly C
bethmadi123, Manager at The Shenai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, the mango chicken is one of our favourites too! Thank you, The Shenai

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Strongly advise you book ahead as restaurant was full from 8pm in August. Plenty of comfortable seating inside if you decide to wait for a table and have an early drink. For around £13 per person you get a starter, main, veg side and a...More

Thank Jon S
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

This is the second time we have eaten at the Shenai. The restaurant is lovely , food and service excellent. Went there last Saturday they were very busy with a couple of large groups but this did not affect service or quality. Highly recommend ,...More

Thank Jane B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bird in Hand
154 reviews
.77 km away
Raj Tandoori
92 reviews
1.49 km away
Sandhurst Tandoori
46 reviews
.74 km away
The Village Inn
68 reviews
1.57 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jake's @ Tri-Lakes
131 reviews
1.10 km away
Royal Oak Yateley
47 reviews
1.54 km away
The White Swan Pub
28 reviews
.19 km away
Royal Military Academy Sandhurst Collection
29 reviews
.79 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Shenai staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 78 Yorktown Road, Sandhurst GU47 9BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Sandhurst
  • Phone Number: +44 1252 878795
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing