We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cru

Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
+372 614 0085
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“lamb tartar” (5 reviews)
“bread” (26 reviews)
“meringue” (5 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very good food, well cooked. served quickly. Very good service, nice friendly and polite. Great location downtwn Tallinn

Thank jn02468
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear jn02468, Thank you for the kind words, happy to read that you have enjoyed your meal in Cru restaurant. You are always welcome back! Best regards, Anneli Tammela

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a very highly-praised and awarded place. Maybe we happened to visit them on a bad day (it was a Friday evening) but both of our foods were bland and not worth the money at all. If it were a cheap lunch place, then...More

Thank Jaanuar
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jaanuar, Thank you for choosing to visit Cru. It is very sad to read about your evening spent with us, specially when most of our guests get to experience this true Cru feeling, have an amazing dishes and service. It does not matter what...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to like this place, but unfortunately everything was too full of butter and cream. Also, they don't serve tap water. Pretentious much?

Thank WJ L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place was recommended to us by a local. It has good ambience, creative food (albeit very limited choices) and exceptionally nice server. I would give it a "5", but we were disappointed that they did not accept AmEx card.More

Thank FOttoC
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear FOttoC, Thank you for the feedback and kind words. Sad you had to be disappointed about the payment methods we have here at Cru. There is also a reason why we do not accept AmEX. But then again, happy to read that you have...More

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Having read about Cru before our trip in July this year, we were keen to experience it. From the moment we entered the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The decor is eclectic and stylish. We proceeded downstairs to a beautifully decorated room, which proved to...More

Thank AwaySydney_Australia
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AwaySydney_Australia, It is so nice to hear from you, after summer you still have a good feeling and willing to share your experience. Thank you for the kind words shared, it is always wonderful to read reviews when our guests have loved what we...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017

I visited Cru with my husband during Tallinn Restaurant week. The idea is that for 15 euros you get a 2-course set menu (it sounded like a good deal after checking the regular price list). The chanterelle soup with grilled cheese was amazing, the home-made...More

Thank annehe
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Annehe, It was our pleasure to have you and your husband dining with us. Thank you for a very detailed feedback given here! Cru has just recently changed the menu to go more with the season and Tallinn Restaurant week was the first week...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Had a nice quiet lunch here. The service was very good and friendly, got the best seat in the restaurant by the window. Started with some bloody marys, unfortunately they were slightly too large and spicy. We shared a platter of bites for two for...More

Thank 633suvil
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear 633suvil, It was our pleasure to have you and your friend over for lunch. Thank you for your honesty and your kind words. We try to do our best to offer our guests this magical Cru emotion and yes, we might not succeed in...More

Reviewed 28 October 2017

Tallin is not the easiest place to find a good restaurant, and based on TripAdvisor's rating we decided to have dinner at Cru. As appetizer we had octopus. When the portion arrived, we notice d that it was hidden underneath lettuce and surrounded with a...More

Thank Esa_K_Traveler
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Esa_K_Traveler, Thank you for taking the time and leaving your detailed comment here on TripAdvisor. Very sad that you had a bad experience with the food, especially, when Octopus as a starter got a very good feedback. We will definitely look into that, so...More

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We have been there for the business dinner. Attention was felt from the very beginning when they greet us entering the restaurant. Selection of the meals was not wide, but I am sure that everyone can find something attractive and tasty. So did we. Starters...More

Thank Rytis A
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear Rytis A, Thank you for choosing to have your dinner with us, it was an absolute delight to have you here! It is very nice to read your kind words. Yes, Cru does not have a massive choice of dishes, we try to offer...More

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We went there for dinner and it was awesome! Really fine dining with great stuff and delicious food. I had the deer liver with fried onion and mashed potatoes and it was very nice cooked and together with the beer sauce it was fantastic. Also...More

Thank Raphael M
Anneli T, General Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Raphael M, It was our pleasure to have you dining with us! It makes us truly happy that you have enjoyed our summer tastes that our chefs have carefully put together. Cru will be going on the winter menu soon, so we do hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ribe
767 reviews
.08 km away
Rukis Kohvik-Pagarikoda
368 reviews
.05 km away
Restoran Spot
378 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
St. Catherine's Passage
774 reviews
.10 km away
Masters Yard
56 reviews
.05 km away
Helios Hall
22 reviews
.10 km away
Museum Of Medieval Torture Instruments
47 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Cru staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Viru 8, Tallinn 10140, Estonia
  • Location: Europe  >  Estonia  >  Harju County  >  Tallinn
  • Phone Number: +372 614 0085
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing