We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Little Bistro

33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7314
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good20%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scallops” (41 reviews)
“sole” (21 reviews)
“veal” (8 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
French, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 692 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal, a couple of firsts for us 1. Soufflé light and cheesey with a beautiful sauce 2. Kale who knew I'd actually enjoy it, combined with the tasty venison and sauce magnificent. Service was great. Highly recommended this restaurant.

Thank 313ranat
Reviewed 4 days ago

Beautiful meal, cosy setting, excellent service. We both had the sole - beautifully done. Service was excellent and the setting was warm and intimate. Menu was interesting and varied. Recommended.

Thank David W
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi David W Thank you for taking the time to review our little bistro. You cant really go wrong with frsh whole sole.. regards richard

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Little Bistro is amazing! The Chef knows what types of food compliments each other and always has a delicious menu! I think some diners do not understand the Little Bistro and how the menu works. You can't change the menu and take this off...More

Thank Kerry M
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kerry M, It was great to see you on Saturday, were so glad you managed to get a night away from the rugrats. One of the hardest challenges we face to trying to explain to customers that our produce is locally grown, and were...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were excited to go to this restaurant after reading some of the reviews. We walked there with our 1yr old in pram to find out they don't allow children under 10yrs of age in. I understand as it's a cosy atmosphere but we were...More

Thank Kate R
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kate R Our no under 10s policy has been in-place for coming up to two years now. We understand your disappointment, however there is a giant sign outside(see guests photos on Tripadvisor), and it is advertised within our website and booking system. To actually...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First the service. The service here was two extremes, our waitress was lovely and reasonably attentive, although she did not refill our water, but the tables either side had terrible service from a younger woman. The salmon dish was accompanied by quinoa and some vegetables,...More

2  Thank Annie S
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow Annie S Sounds like you had a terrible time in Akaroa this weekend, at least you rated other restaurant worse than us. A like how you've spent most of your review complaining about the service other tables received. You didn't enjoy our ambiance, service...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my first visit to Akaroa for some time and folks from Christchurch as well as Alex and Jane from La Rochelle Motel in Akaroa recommended I dine at The Little Bistro. I was not disappointed. I was by myself so the small, intimate...More

Thank Michael F
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Michael F Thank you for taking the time to review our little bistro. Were so glad you enjoyed your time with us. The Beef Cheek Bourguignon Has defiantly been this winters winning dish. we look forward to seeing you again soon regards richard

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My girlfriend and I ate here on a Friday night. Setting was nice and intimate. Candles absorbed the tables however this did not provide much light to read the menu. We had to use our phones for this, I am not a fan of having...More

4  Thank jasonrobson
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi jasonrobson Thank you for taking the time to review our little bistro. Its always disappointing to read reviews where guests havent enjoyed there experience with us, its more disappointing however that you didnt raise these issues on the evening, and marking your experience as...More

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit to the little bistro and it was just as good as our first. 4 courses - oysters, scallops, venison and sticky toffee pudding. All were 100% spot on. Already planning our next visit! We are incredibly lucky to have such...More

Thank Osteo65
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Osteo65 Thank yu for taking the time to review our little bistro. Its always nice to read reviews from locals as well as tourists. We look forward to seeing you again soon. regards Richard

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Kerry at the Akaroa Village Inn recommended & booked this restaurant for me, and I'm so glad she did! It was cosy and warm, and the meal was incredible. Delicious flavours and perfectly cooked venison fillet. I don't know how people can live in Akaroa...More

Thank redcantab
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Hi redcantab, Thank you for taking the time to review our wee restaurant. Were so glad you enjoyed your special night away with us. Kerry at the Akaroa Village Inn is one of our biggest fans. Hopefully we will see you again soon. regards richard

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

After reading the reviews on this place and receiving a referral by a local we booked in for dinner. The restaurant is popular and perhaps for that reason there may be an extra table or 2 in the dining room leaving me feeling cramped. The...More

3  Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi GaryandLesleyTravel Thank you for taking the time to write a review. One thing we cant manage is a customers expectations, thankfully we reach most peoples. regards richard

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar
817 reviews
.77 km away
The Brasserie Kitchen And Bar
478 reviews
.08 km away
Akaroa Fish and Chips
570 reviews
.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Giant's House
759 reviews
.75 km away
Banks Peninsula
951 reviews
.77 km away
Akaroa Lighthouse
88 reviews
1.44 km away
Akaroa Museum
136 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Katers_gunna_kate
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TLB_Akaroa | Property representative |
Hi Katers_gunna_kate out of respect for other diners the little bistro doesn't except reservations with children under the age of 10 years
1
Vote
FallonA85
3 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Riffi_O | Reviewed this property |
Hello. I am not the restaurant. You probably can find out on their web site or by sending an email.
0
Votes
Carla0911
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TLB_Akaroa | Property representative |
Hi Carla0911, Sorry, but the little bistro will be closed from 25th to 27th December inclusive for our staff Christmas break.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$29
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Full Bar
Open Hours
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:00
Thursday
17:30 - 21:00
Friday
17:30 - 21:00
Saturday
17:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Akaroa
  • Phone Number: +64 3-304 7314
  • E-mail
Description
"...a bistro is a small restaurant serving hearty meals and wine in an unpretentious setting..." European inspired, locally sourced food cooked and served with love, plus a winelist to die for....
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing