We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trading Rooms Restaurant and Pantry

Claimed
Reserve a Table
RestaurantHub

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2016, 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly

Location and contact

About
Semi-fine dining dinner atmosphere and casual lunch experience, fine wine selection, beautiful sunset harbour views from the terrace. The Trading Rooms is a timeless historic venue, perfect for your special occasion. Peak Season Opening Hours: From 11:30-9:00 PM / 7 Days Lean Season: From 10:30-7:30 PM and closes during midweek
PRICE RANGE
US$10 - US$30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveller rating
400
168
68
30
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
400
168
68
30
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon sorbet mushy peas steak seafood bread clams fries chowder salad market fish new zealand green lipped mussels lovely restaurant overlooking the bay fish of the day cooked perfectly
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 694 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We've eaten here in the past so were looking forward to a pleasant lunch. Unfortunately we were disappointed. My seafood chowder was good with lots of seafood in it but my wife's salad, though served as described contained just too many sweet things and drizzles....More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Barry M
La Plage Pty Lt... T, Manager at The Trading Rooms Restaurant and Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Barry M, Thank you very much for taking the time writing us a review. We apologize to disappoint you on your return to The Trading Rooms. Your input on the salad will be addressed to our Chefs and will be taken consideration. As for...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

A port of call for the cruise ship we were on. We called in for morning tea and really enjoyed it. Later on we decided we liked our morning tea that much we went back there for lunch. I was feeling quite tired and every...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Cedrealaorna
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stepped in here for a light lunch on our tour around NZ. The menu mentioned a “catch of the day” fish and chips. We asked and were informed it was elephant fish and having never heard of it we decided both to give it a...More

Date of visit: March 2019
2  Thank dmennie1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four years ago the evening meal here was the highlight of the holiday. The new owners seem to try to keep to the modern kiwi menu but using chefs trained in other cuisines. They should probably stick with what the chefs can do and leave...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank ASH696
La Plage Pty Lt... T, Manager at The Trading Rooms Restaurant and Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Anne Hefford, Thank you very much for taking the time writing us a review. I appreciate you coming back to The Trading Rooms after your visit with the previous owners of the restaurant. Our new team here at The Trading Rooms are trying to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The menu is creative with a variety delicious food. I had fresh oysters and the market fish (don’t remember the name) and both were expertly prepared. My wife had lamb and my daughter had the local salmon and both were rated as wonderful. The staff...More

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 565dickf
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The roasted veges with quinoa sounded nice and was the only vegan option on the menu. Very disappointing, the taste was very odd and the "roasted" vegetables were 1 carrot, 2 cauliflower florets and 1 broccoli on top. Very bland and uninspiring.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank SianD177
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch after reading other positive reviews and were happy we did. We had a lovely lunch with a great view of the water. The meals are a substantial size and the staff are friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank MrsMJM
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right on the waterfront in the township of Akaroa, this place has good food, helpful and friendly staff, and the atmosphere overlooking the waterfront is excellent.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank Michael_MandM
Reviewed 13 February 2019

This is an OK restaurant, we had a nice enough meal. The location is GREAT! and the staff were lovely, however the food was average.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Julieabby
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

Extremely impolite waitress asked if we are intoxicated, she couldn’t serve us a beer. All we had was tea before. Then I told her it might be my German accent that sounds unfamiliar to her. She said they don’t need German customers. I didn’t expect...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank martin_schacht
TheTradingRooms, Manager at The Trading Rooms Restaurant and Pantry, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Dear martin_schacht, Thank you for your time writing us a review. You were dealing with me, the Duty Manager, yesterday. My apologies if you were not pleased that I have decided not to serve you any alcoholic drinks. You must be well-aware of New Zealand...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Akaroa Village Inn
215 reviews
.08 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
365 reviews
.58 km away
Tresori Motor Lodge
149 reviews
.97 km away
La Rochelle Motel
244 reviews
1.05 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 31 nearby restaurants
Murphy's On The Corner
192 reviews
.12 km away
La Rangis Pizzeria
82 reviews
.64 km away
The Little Bistro
920 reviews
.87 km away
Ma Maison Restaurant & Bar
225 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 60 nearby attractions
Akaroa Museum
211 reviews
.60 km away
Banks Peninsula War Memorial and Grounds
109 reviews
.49 km away
Akaroa Lighthouse
186 reviews
.44 km away
Catholic St. Patrick's Akaroa
85 reviews
.81 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
danielakorem
15 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from La Plage Pty Lt... T | Property representative |
Hi Daniela, we serve lunch until 3 to 3:30PM depending on the flow of customers. After that will be snack menu then dinner at 6:30PM. Enjoy your cruise!
0
Votes
Schmala
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from La Plage Pty Lt... T | Property representative |
Good day, Carla0911! Sorry for the late reply. We will be open on Christmas day for lunch and dinner. If you would you like to have lunch, no need to book for a reservation pls pop on in and we will surely arrange a table... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing