We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shed Te Motu

76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke Island, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
+64 9-372 6884
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good15%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
18:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, International, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke Island, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Went for lunch and the food was divine, the service excellent and the wine POWERFUL. Definitely book in advance and be prepared for a little walk up the driveway of your not being dropped off at the door

Thank Fmsuth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a lot of tables so you must book. The food is tasty and well priced backed up with friendly service. Probably one of the better meals I have had on Waiheke.

Thank janwholeboxndice
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jan Many thanks for your review - appreciate the feedback Cheers

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent range of wines. Their best wines are amazing & expensive. The vineyard was founded by a legend in the NZ wine industry. It's located next to Stonyridge so you can walk to either across the old airport 'strip' Then of course you can walk...More

Thank TheWaihekeDon
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Cheers TheWaihekeDon Appreciate the review. See you again soon? Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were on a wine tour and booked this restaurant for lunch. Can highly recommend. Lovely atmosphere and great food. As we had been tasting in the morning we knew which wine we wanted and had a lovely 'larger plate' each. Food was tasty, service...More

Thank biznbob
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Biznbob Many thanks for the review. Yes, we are a working winery and the wine you enjoyed was made right here on-site. Look forward to seeing you again Regards

Reviewed 12 July 2017

What a great cellar door, we purchased a lot of wine here! The host was exceptional and spent so much time with us talking through the wines, and getting different ones for us to try, we didn't feel rushed or pushed and the setting was...More

Thank BEA818
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

I cannot recommend The Shed highly enough. We attended as a group of nine plus two babies. The food was delicious, and the service was exceptional. Nothing was a problem; They happily catered for a couple of dietary requirements without any fuss and kept our...More

Thank Kristal R
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks Kristal Great to see you out here over the weekend. We really do appreciate such positive feedback. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Great setting, food was wonderful and the wine was very good. The service was so good I can't remember having an empty glass. Will be back for sure.

Thank mark22997
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Hi Mark Thanks so much for visiting and sharing your review. Hope to see you back soon. Craig

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I guess this place is for people that visit Waiheke frequently and don't mind wasting a day at the island. In my case, visiting from abroad it was a total waste of time and money. The food menu is VERY limited. This is the first...More

Thank Negroycanche
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Hi Negroycanche, Thanks for your comments - wow, it doesn't sound like you had a good time at all! From your description of your experience it doesn't sound like the quality of food and service that we pride ourselves on at Te Motu. You'll see...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

I took visitors from Madrid to Te Motu for a weekend lunch at The Shed. We didn't have a reservation but the staff very kindly accommodated us. Despite being accustomed to michelin star restaurants in Europe our guest could not stop raving about how good...More

Thank Elisabeth T
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Thanks so much Elizabeth It was a pleasure to host you and your friends over the weekend. Make sure that you come and visit us again Regards

Reviewed 4 April 2017

100/100 - food was amazingly good and great friendly service. Family celebration, 10 of us, everyone said how good it was. Not a cheap basic restaurant but given the quality of the food and service and i was the one paying the bill i would...More

Thank MEANDMEX
Craig B, General Manager at The Shed Te Motu, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Hi MEANDMEX Thanks so much for the opportunity to host your family celebration at The Shed. We're very glad that we were able to make it such a memorable occasion for you and your family. Kind regards Craig

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casita Miro
793 reviews
.66 km away
The Boathouse Cafe & Bar
122 reviews
1.32 km away
Charley Farley's
502 reviews
1.44 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
458 reviews
.35 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tantalus Estate Vineyard & Winery
92 reviews
.50 km away
Obsidian Vineyard
126 reviews
.85 km away
Stonyridge Vineyard
131 reviews
.34 km away
Adventure Fishing Charters
7 reviews
1.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GabrielleHarrop
16 December 2015|
Answer
Response from Katemandeno | Property representative |
Hi Gabrielle, If you could email or call us on 09 372 6884 that is the best way to make a booking. Cheers
0
Votes
Richard B
31 October 2015|
Answer
Response from Katemandeno | Property representative |
Hi Richard, Te Motu is about 15 minutes drive from the Matiatia ferry dock. There are also buses that run here regularly. Cheers
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$26
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 16:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 76 Onetangi Road | Waiheke Island, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Waiheke Island
  • Phone Number: +64 9-372 6884
  • E-mail
Description
Casual, garden-to-plate eating in a relaxed vineyard setting.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing