We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterfront Restaurant

Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
+676 25-260
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (17 reviews)
“profiteroles” (6 reviews)
“seafood” (5 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, European, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Heard about this place on TripAdvisor , another place you can dress nice for. Great background music , our meals were great, especially the steak with mushroom sauce, unfortunately out of season for lobster, lovely dessert, great service. Recommended!

Thank philnbev7
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I've not found a better offering of sashimi. The accompanying sauce has me craving more! Fantastic service, beautifully presented food. Great Restaurant to get dolled up for the night. I had the sashimi and chowder, chowder wasn't what I was expecting as it was a...More

Thank Jo W
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Thank you for the kind review. Delighted you enjoyed our Sashimi & Chowder even though it wasn't as you expected. Hope to have you here again for another night out. Ofa atu

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Did not expect to find this standard of restaurant in Tonga. Have gone here for dinner two years in a row on our annual trip to Tonga. Have not been disappointed. Great food and when converting to NZ$ not that expensive. Great setting for a...More

Thank Robyn D
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

hi Robyn, Thank you once again for the positive feedback. it was good to have you here and hope to see you again soon. we hope you had safe trip back. malo aupito.

Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the waterfront restaurant just foe some drinks and snacks in the deck before heading towards the airport. I cannot say much about the food since we only ordered a couple of appetisers (satay and onion rings), but the place and the service were...More

Thank Guillermo M
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We visited this charming restaurant and enjoyed a delicious meal, in a delightful setting. If sitting outside, mind those pesky mosquitoes at night time !!!More

Thank Corinne T
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank you very much for your review Corinne, glad you were able to enjoy the meal with those mosquitoes. Hoping the staff did put mosquito coils around your table as we do for guests that choose to sit outside on the porch. Malo Aupito, and...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Feasting at the Waterfront after a day relaxing at Atata island. We have ordered 4 entrees as our meal, prawns, sushimi, squid and oyster! And what a fantasticly presented selction of food with each dishes flavours distintive and absoloutly delish. Service was bright cheeeful anf...More

Thank Duncan J
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you Duncan for such positive feedback for our staff & restaurant. We hope others enjoyed as much as you do :) Hope you will visit the Kingdom again soon! Malo Lahi & hope you had an amazing experience in the Kingdom. Thank you

Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Pleasant lunch in pleasant surroundings. I think other places might do better fish and chips for an awful lot less cash!

Thank Berrylicious12
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Hmmm, well I'll start with the positives. Lovely location, beautiful setting and fine dining. Nice selection of wines (could have more Aussie/NZL choices and less European) and the steak was perfect! Negatives are, DO NOT ORDER the octopus salad. I'm pretty sure it was octopus...More

Thank Aitchisonkc
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi there Aitchisonkc, Thank you for your review, unfortunately i'm sure you wrote your review for the wrong restaurant. Our selection of wines are all New Zealand & Australian, mostly New Zealand. Our main source of wine is Villa Maria and we have been selling...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Old colonial style property with nice verandah where we had a reasonable lunch, with 3 beautiful cockerels strutting around. My wife had a Caesar salad which was more a bowl of greens than a Caesar salad (the add-ons were spares). I ordered fish and chips,...More

Thank Tykedownunder
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We decided to pop in for dinner as our restaurant of choice for that evening was closed for a function. Another restaurant across the road was open but was more expensive and the setting not so good. We were pleasantly surprised at the price for...More

Thank AucklandToni
Waterfront-Lodge, Manager at Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi, We are very pleased and humbled for your review. We are super delighted that you had a wonderful experience in our restaurant. I guess your restaurant of choice was closed for a good reason :D hehe. Thank you & we hope you can enjoy...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Billfish Bar & Restaurant
185 reviews
.46 km away
Frangipani Korean Restaurant
24 reviews
1.50 km away
Korea house Restaurant
46 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whale Swim, Fish & Dive Tours
106 reviews
1.74 km away
Free Church of Tonga
51 reviews
1.97 km away
Royal Tombs
85 reviews
2.00 km away
Reload Bar
16 reviews
1.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Antony A
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Waterfront-Lodge | Property representative |
Hi Antony, No Sorry, we are not open on Sundays Regards, Waterfront Restaurant
0
Votes
Antony A
2 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Peter S | Reviewed this property |
I don't know, but I think that they are open every day
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Vuna Rd, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu Island 1001, Tonga
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Tonga  >  Tongatapu Island  >  Nuku'alofa
  • Phone Number: +676 25-260
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing