We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Mombasa

Silos Road | Nyali, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
+254 41 4471747
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good26%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (124 reviews)
“crab” (30 reviews)
“prawns” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Silos Road | Nyali, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

I had the chance to test and enjoy seafoods like prawns,lobsters and calamari at this restaurant. The food is well prepared and very delicious i tell you.

Thank Liz W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food was lovely. Getting a reservation is easy and they are welcoming. The waiters and waitresses do a good job too.More

Thank Dorcas N
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your complimentary review. We are happy to her that you enjoyed the food and that the service was good . These are the things we are very proud of about our restaurant and we are happy to hear that they made a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So this is were I had one of the best experiences during my trip. Big up to Bilha to taking such good care of us. From the moment we walked in we could feel the love. The service was above and beyond our exceptions. The...More

Thank WairimuGeche
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post such a rave review and for the perfect rating. Your enthusiastic comments are music to our ears and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and that not only was the food you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Tamarind was recommended to us by a local and we were not disappointed. The food was fantastic and the service was top notch. My husband and I ordered crab and lobster and both were delicious. I would highly recommend wearing mosquito spray, however (I forgot...More

Thank Hannah W
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are delighted that you chose to dine at Tamarind upon a recommendation and that the experience met with your expectations. It is great to hear that the crab and lobster you ordered were delicious and that the service was top notch. WE do apolgise...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we were a table of 9 -food came cold after 2 hours of wait, people seated after us ate and left while we were waiting.they did not know who ordered what and kept mixing all the dishes up even dessert was all mixed up although...More

1  Thank Taskeen F
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is with great concern that we read your review and it is certainly discouraging to hear that we fell way short of our customer service mark, and that you had a 2 hour wait for the food and then it was cold on arrival,...More

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Tried again and whatever you say this place is ridiculous. That is it and having people do reviews for you does not help in the long run. You should be doing something but definitely nothing to do with food and serviceMore

Thank Amjad S
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

It is with great concern and disappointment that we read your review. As you do not explain why you find the place ridiculous it is difficult for to correct the issue which obviously displeased you. Nonetheless although an apology will unfortunately not alter the outcome...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

We visited for lunch on December 21st while on a 3 week tour of Southeast Africa. We had a guide this day. We shared the Duck in Philo Dough App. and had Biri Biri Shrimp and Thai Crab in Coconut sauce. The Crab came with...More

Thank Scott C
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a rave review and for recommending us to other diners. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and that not only were the dishes you chose amazing and the flavours stood out but...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Whenever I visit Mombasa and have the opportunity I will always come here. It is a truly superb seafood restaurant and easily among the best i have ever experienced.More

Thank Arnold L
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a rave review and for perfect rating. We are delighted to hear that whenever you visit Mombasa you will always come to Tamarind given the opportunity. We really appreciate your comments about it being among the...More

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Nice view but not value for money spent on food and service. The food was only Ok and service ok but pricing is very expensive in comparison here. They also add about 25% on top of the prices in the menu as VAT, service charge...More

Thank Micael E
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is with great concern that we read your review and are troubled to hear that the food and service did not meet with your expectations and were just ok. In addition to which...More

Reviewed 3 January 2018

I came here in December with my friends to eat sushi. the service was really slow and our food came in really late - around 1.5 to 2 hours later. The food however was tasty.More

1  Thank Pinky S
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Mombasa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Thank you for the review. We are very sorry to hear your sushi experience was not the best and although the food was tasty, the service you received was unacceptably slow. We sincerely appreciate your valuable feedback and just to let you know we are...More

PreviousNext
12345649
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 61 hotels in Mombasa
CityBlue Creekside Hotel & Suites
238 reviews
.96 km away
CityBlue Creekside Hotel & Suites
2 reviews
1.03 km away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
104 reviews
1.07 km away
Alliance Safari Beach Hotel
1 review
1.64 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tamarind Dhow
195 reviews
.64 km away
Forodhani
27 reviews
1.43 km away
Tarboush Cafe
134 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fort Jesus Museum
710 reviews
1.47 km away
Old Town
426 reviews
1.11 km away
Jain Temple
25 reviews
1.38 km away
Leven House
7 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Phil H
22 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from labinaNairobi | Property representative |
Hi Thank you for your enquiry. Our Cell numbers are as follows: +254733623583 /+254722205160 / 020535446
1
Vote
birchy1606
5 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from labinaNairobi | Property representative |
The dress code is smark casual
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
7:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Silos Road | Nyali, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Coast Province  >  Mombasa
  • Phone Number: +254 41 4471747
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing