We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe

) #2 of 23 Restaurants in Avarua $$ - $$$ Cafe, , European
Black Rock Villas, Avarua, Cook Islands
+682 21 233
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (102 reviews)
“tapas” (46 reviews)
“dumplings” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Black Rock Villas, Avarua, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

had lunch here recently .Only open between 11 am and 2 p m .food is bordering on fine dining .Definitely the the best lunch we had on the island .Prices are not too high and drinks are in the reasonable range .Gets busy for a...More

Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A massive thanks to Michelle and Andy and Staff at the cafe. A very welcoming environment, Food and service was amazing and absolutely amazing view to eat lunch over, we will definitely be back next time we are over for more of that Delicious Food!!...More

Thank McLuskie_87
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were told to try the fish and chips here and we weren't disappointed. The fish was parrot fish and the chips were wedges. Service was good as was the view of black rock. I had my first ginger beer here and it was a...More

Thank Derek W
Reviewed 12 July 2017

This certainly wasn't our first visit to Tuoro. When we arrived I mentioned to Michelle that I had been craving her mussel fritters since our last visit, to which she replied "we have changed the recipe". My first thoughts were "if it aint broke, don't...More

3  Thank Fernsie
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We had the most amazing time and Michelle was just fabulous. Set in a tranquil setting with sea views, The food was truly sensational and well worth the visit. Thank you so much Michelle

Thank Louise C
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We had lunch in this great Restaurant and decided that this was where we wanted to take our guests to celebrate Morris's birthday. What a fantastic choice it was!! We had a private function which we would highly recommend to anyone with a celebration coming...More

1  Thank Pamela R
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

Really great lunch Food brilliant Let down only by not being able to a coffee at 2.10pm as kitchen closed. Highly recommend overall.

Thank ickbar
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Had lunch here on our last day in Raro. Great vista which was spoilt some what by the rain. Service was good despite being down by a staff member. Like the menu as it is designed for sharing. The Ika Mata was my best on...More

Thank GastroGaz
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We were on Raratonga for a family reunion so had been busy zipping here and there. Our 10 year old grandson every day would ask if we could go up the hill for lunch before we went home. So on our last full day we...More

Thank Robert F
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Unfortunately, we didn't even get to try the food, so this review doesn't address the menu. However, I felt I needed to write about our experience. Tuoro only serves lunch, and everything we've read said they were open until 3pm. We arrived at 1:50pm and...More

1  Thank jwag777
Michelle231600, Owner at Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Firstly,thank you for stating we only open for lunch time dining. Secondly, whilst appreciating the fact that you did not review us on food, I am rather perplexed that you provided a rating on value as you did not dine with us therefore how could...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kikau Hut Restaurant
944 reviews
.42 km away
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
288 reviews
.52 km away
Oceans Restaurant & Bar
254 reviews
1.44 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
129 reviews
1.37 km away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
255 reviews
2.50 km away
Punanga Nui
304 reviews
4.22 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
124 reviews
2.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NDST_2013
19 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michelle231600 | Property representative |
Kia Orana, Thank you for your enquiry. Yes,you can book the cafe via email. I look forward to your reply. Kind regards Michelle.
0
Votes
Brogirl
11 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Fiona C | Reviewed this property |
The villas are spacious well laid out and private. Have stayed twice over the last two years. There is also BBQ facilities with the ability to eat inside or out. The pool is also fantastic being a good size fot just two... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:00 - 14:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 14:00
Thursday
11:00 - 14:00
Friday
11:00 - 14:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Black Rock Villas, Avarua, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Avarua
  • Phone Number: +682 21 233
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing