We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Spice Garden Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
By-Pass Road | Idukki Dist, Kumily, Thekkady 685509, India
+91 99954 64884
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

220 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 185: English reviews
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the best meal we have had so far in Kerala. Our visit included a cookery demonstration of each dish we selected from the menu. The staff looked after us beautifully and nothing was too much trouble. Excellent value for money.

Helpful?
Thank nimnum
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice garden, atmosphere, staff etc.. End of the day it's a restaurant and the food is dull expensive, scanty portions. probably the food is not fresh as its over priced and locals cannot afford to eat here and it's so quiet that they freeze their produce maybe. What ever the cause waste of time and money. Thekaddy cafe is where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neebs M
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely breakfast in this restaurant. Very nice place to sit , in the spice garden. Food was simple but very good (we had Indian breakfast).

Helpful?
Thank אורן צ
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner at Spice Garden. It was a little more expensive than some other places around India but the choice in Kumily is fairly restricted to tourist-oriented restaurants anyway. We very much enjoyed the fish biryani and cashew curry. Nice location, slightly off the beaten track. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Claire5000
York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely selection of veg dishes. All freshly prepared in a kitchen that's on full display and dang tasty. Nothing to complain about at all. Not a single stone in the rice :) (see previous review). Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Jacko66
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
158 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Since we went in a wrong time ie. When the restaurant was fully reserved for foreign tourist we had to wait for a long time for our food however the food served was good & nice. If you are keen in going to this restaurant then better reserve your table and then go. The only problem was their card machine... More 

Helpful?
Thank chettiyappan
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

The fried rise contained stone ,which broken my teeth. Hair were in another food. They were ready to change food. The girl said they are not living with my 6 Persons bill. Food is good, but you should be from Nagaland to enjoy...

Helpful?
Thank Antony J
NaturalAdventures, Owner at Spice Garden Restaurant, responded to this review

Ha ha.. It was very comedy, because this person had all food which he and his family ordered. Finally he said in the rice contained one stone, we just asked where is that and found that was a broken pepper. Then he said I am the manager of Niramaya he getting 50 thousand rupees salary Bla Bla..... That time our... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

First they bring the wrong soup, second they charged 400 rupees for a fish the size of an iPhone, third they bring a raw chicken, fourth they forget half of the order and finally they give us a garlic bread all burn up. I don't recommend at all this place. Very expensive and not at all worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Paula A
NaturalAdventures, Manager at Spice Garden Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear guest, you went a wrong place maybe, because we never charge 400 for a small fish. So we are sure you went maybe the Spice Garden resort. More 

Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2016

It is a nice little restaurant. Since there are less than 2 people in the kitchen, the order takes some time. We ordered a Huge Fried Fish which was tasty but had to put salt afterwards. However, the place is decent for a calm dinner. Gives a homely feeling

Helpful?
Thank gauravb284
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

Not recommended we went to the restaurant and waited for 20mins no one has approached. Attention was only paid to foreigners. Very bad customer services.

Helpful?
Thank Nilesh J

Travellers who viewed Spice Garden Restaurant also viewed

Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 
Thekkady, Idukki District
Thekkady, Idukki District
 

Been to Spice Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, International
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Cash Only, Reservations, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: By-Pass Road | Idukki Dist, Kumily, Thekkady 685509, India
  • Location: Asia  >  India  >  Kerala  >  Idukki District  >  Thekkady
  • Phone Number: +91 99954 64884

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Spice Garden Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Spice Garden Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?