We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fortaleza

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Number 9 Church Cross Street | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
+94 91 2 233415
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 344: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017

Great food (Seafood with rice and "Coconut Gravy" - so much better than the description!), lovely courtyard atmosphere, nice cocktails...a bit pricey but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank davidlockwood01
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

The fish and chips was really good and the prawn fajitas totally tasteless. They did a mistake in the order and my husband got his food 15 minutes before me. After main course no one seemed to take notice of us so we paid and left. Would like to give them a "2" but the fish and chips is worth... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gabriella L
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Had this place recommend to us by our hotel. Food and service were outstanding. We ate quite early at 6.15pm so the service was really quick as the restaurant was only half full. I had the seaseme seared tuna which was outstanding. Perfectly cooked and delicate to eat. My wife had the seafood curry which was on special which she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Owain J
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2017

Not the best lunch we are by the sea and you use tinned tuna in your wraps, staff quite sullen and unhappy was not a good atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank sezley
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

This place is far over rated for the quality of food, over priced and service is slow and unfriendly. Even though it looks very nice and cozy from outside, the welcome you get is cold, definitely over prices and from the manage down unconcerned about the service.

Helpful?
Thank Chatur A
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review

Dear guest Please accept our apologies for the service that was delivered, we have always been highly commended for both the food and service here. In the last couple of weeks we have experienced a couple of comments about the service not living up to expectations, i assure you this is not will not be accepted and action will be... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This place would be great if you had nothing else to do all day. Fortunately that was the case. And the wifi is the best in Sri Lanka! Lunchtime special seafood curry was delicious. But I waited 15 minutes for a double espresso then had to ask again. All services was slow but friendly and reasonably attentive. So I recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments and feedback. Good to hear you had a relaxed, enjoyable afternoon with us. Sorry the service was a little slow, we shall keep an eye on this. Thank you for your support Ethan More 

Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017

A breath of fresh air after the average food we had in Galle. Staff are attentive and service good by Galle standards. Would recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Kinnie53
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review

Thank you for the recommendations ! Look forward to welcoming you back some day. Warm regards Ethan More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2017

Genuinely disappointed and unimpressed here with a recent dinner last week on holiday in Sri Lanka. I had to find my own table and flag down a server to place my order after waiting 10 minutes. I had little to no service throughout the evening but by the end of my dinner had interacted with 5 different servers. The manager... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review

Dear Guest First of all please let me apologize for the experience you had here on the evening you visited Fortaleza. The staff on the evening you visited may have been a little overwhelmed as it was the busiest day of the year, we are sorry you did not receive the regular level of service we consistently provide, you will... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We had lunch there and simply loved the tasty food and great atmosphere of the restaurant. Fast service too, which is so rare in Sri Lanka! Great place

Helpful?
1 Thank María L
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review

Thank you for the brilliant review ! So pleased you enjoyed it so much. Please come again. Ethan More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We came here for dinner, the restaurant is good (the tuna crudo was very good as a starter and also the prawn spaghetti with basil pesto) The mezze platter was nothing special, not bad but I would advise to pick something else. The dish selection is quite limited, but overall it is quite a good restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Andy7889
Ethan S, Manager at Fortaleza, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review ! We appreciate the feedback, we shall take it on board to further develop our menu selection. Please come see us again. Warm regards Ethan More 

Travellers who viewed Fortaleza also viewed

Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
Galle, Southern Province
 
Galle, Southern Province
 

Been to Fortaleza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$30
Cuisine
Seafood, European, Asian, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Number 9 Church Cross Street | Fort Galle, Galle 80000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Southern Province  >  Galle
  • Phone Number: +94 91 2 233415
Description
Fortaleza is a courtyard Restaurant with a Bar.
We serve Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our menu is Western with an Asian influence. We have a specials board which changes almost every day.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fortaleza and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Brentwood, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fortaleza staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?