We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Blue Elephant

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kidney Crescent | Ginnery Corner, Blantyre, Malawi
+265 1 915 559
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Sat 10:00 - 12:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 30: English reviews
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The management at the Blue Elephant is highly unethical. The normal staff are very polite and professional, however the management are not. Summary: charged 3.5x as much as they should have. Food was definitely not to standard, management lied, threatened and was incredibly rude. Better off going to the many other nicer, better value and pleasant restaurants or bars in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 737asdfghjkl
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We had limited time for lunch and this restaurant offers great food in generious portions which is served immediately as they have prepared food - which included a beef stew, fish, mixed fresh veggies, potatoes and rice. This restaurant has an informal feel to it with warm and friendly service. This restaurant is also good for a couple of cold... More 

Helpful?
Thank Loma B
Blantyre, Malawi
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Not my usual place to eat, but when I do, I am never disappointed, great atmosphere, great presentation, and great service,!!!!

Helpful?
Thank mwandemange
Cape Maclear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

Went for lunch and was pleasantly surprise by both the price and the quality of the food. We went for the buffet. Very nice potato soup starter with fresh bread. Main was chicken fillets in a pepper sause with beef roast and veg. Never mind the fact that it was so affordable, I would pay more for it!

Helpful?
Thank Travelfirst1
Peter C, Manager at The Blue Elephant, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our lunch at The Blue Elephant. Our food at this venue is really geared to those who like a pub atmosphere and a quick and affordable lunch. I think in your case we have hit the mark! More 

Lilongwe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016

A friend invited me for lunch. They had both buffet and a la carte. I has a nice chicken with fresh salad.

Helpful?
Thank EMoyo
Peter C, Manager at The Blue Elephant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. At the Blue Elephant our emphasis is to provide quality food in a relaxed informal pub environment with fair prices. If you would like to sample some of our other venues, you should try Casa Mia restaurant, its a little more formal but with equally good food More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2016

Me and some colleagues went there on a Wednesday evening. We had burgers, steaks and fries. The burgers were of the I&J frozen variety, the "steaks" were minute steaks, the bread was hard and the fries were extremely oily and the oil used was really old. The waitress was slow and didn't know what was on the menu. At least... More 

Helpful?
Thank Theo_Kotze2013
Peter C, Owner at The Blue Elephant, responded to this review

In our business we regard such reviews a revenge reviews! We cannot accept the validity of this review. Indeed it can certainly happen that a customer on occasion can feel they have had poor service or food etc at any venue, however there is a way to complain that will result in that problem being resolved. Allow me to enlighten... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2016

I love Blue Elephant on Wed nights, its so nice to see live music, and the band that we've caught here have been AWESOME!!! we've always had fun nights out at BE.

Helpful?
Thank Merri B
Peter C, Manager at The Blue Elephant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind remarks. We value your comments and hope you return to see our bands again and again More 

Split, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2016

Great for a mid day lunch! I had roast beef, roast spuds with two veg and a glass of beer.... all inclusive price about USD5.00

Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
Peter C, Manager at The Blue Elephant, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review of The Blue Elephant. Our emphasis at lunch time is always to offer great value for money wholesome food at prices people can afford. I think we've hit the mark! Please come again and enjoy our food and also our nightly entertainment More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

the service is pretty terrible. they serve you half a glass of wine and tell u thats a full glass. usually overcrowded but the food is alright. their burgers are ok

Helpful?
Thank margaret m
Peter C, Manager at The Blue Elephant, responded to this review

Sorry that you thought we were terrible, but please allow me to defend ourselves. I understand from our staff on sight that your main complaint in fact, was not the level of service but the quantity of wine in your glass. The Blue Elephant is essentially a pub/bar, as such we sell wine by the glass as opposed to the... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2015

I am a buffalo wing snob...I'm actually from Buffalo, NY. But I'm not gonna lie we tried the wings at Blue Elephant on a Saturday night and they weren't bad. We were hoping for live music, but they just had a DJ that night. All and all if you are looking for a quick bite to eat (I recommend the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly S

Travellers who viewed The Blue Elephant also viewed

Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 
Blantyre, Southern Region
Blantyre, Southern Region
 

Been to The Blue Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 12:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 12:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 12:00
Thursday
10:00 - 12:00
Friday
10:00 - 12:00
Saturday
10:00 - 12:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kidney Crescent | Ginnery Corner, Blantyre, Malawi
  • Location: Africa  >  Malawi  >  Southern Region  >  Blantyre
  • Phone Number: +265 1 915 559
Description
The Blue elephant is a lively local pub offering fantastic buffet lunches during the week for a quick inexpensive meal. There is also an a la carte menu with a variety of bub style and continental dishes all day/night.Ideally situated for a quick drink on the way home or for an evening of entertainment, "The Blue" is a must for a lively night out, having live bands on Wednesdays and a disco every Friday/Saturday

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Elephant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?