We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa

No. 20 Jalan Aru | Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
+60 88-327 888
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good29%
  • Average22%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“risotto” (8 reviews)
“pizza” (17 reviews)
“ribeye steak” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, European
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
No. 20 Jalan Aru | Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Went to this restaurant for our wedding anniversary. We were met by very friendly attentive staff who showed us to our table which was especially decorated with orchids. Their menu consisted of an exceptional wide ranging choice of food giving also a good choice of...More

Thank CarolStouph
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear CarolStouph, Thank you so much for choosing to spend your wedding anniversary here with all of us. We're delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your dinner with your handsome half at Peppino. I'll be sure to share this with Peppino Manager Charlie and his...More

Reviewed 23 October 2017

No atmosphere in the restaurant. Was expensive with little menu choice. I had the worst lasagne I have ever eaten, it was tasteless. It took forever to get our bottle of wine, it came after our meal had arrived. Not what I expect from a...More

1  Thank lemontartEngland
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear lemontartEngland, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am terribly sorry to hear that we had failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies, we will do our utmost to improve both our service and the food served....More

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Offers tasty Italian food, the pizzas were very good. Unfortunately the tiramisu was finished on our first visit, but to our surprise we were presented with a complimentary dessert. Definitely good service! The food takes longer than expected, but this didn’t impact our experience and...More

1  Thank goundar-morton
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear goundar-morton, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you did get to have that Tiramisu in the end! Happy Ending afterall. We'd love to serve you again in the near future. Meanwhile, may your days...More

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Went here twice during our stay, both times the food was lovely along with the red wine. Staff were very friendly also, definitely worth a visit.More

1  Thank Jule0902
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jule0902, Thank you so much for your kind review here and for your recommendation. We truly appreciate them. I will be sure to share them with Peppino Manager Charlie Okiau and his team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Peppino soon. Yours...More

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We ate here while staying at the Shangri La Tanjung Aru as my wife was suffering from a slight stomach upset and so didn't fancy a trip into town for some local food. The insdie was ice cold, so we ate on terrace - unfortunately...More

3  Thank Peter B
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Peter B, I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience at the restaurant did not live up to your expectations. We note the feedback you have given here and would like to thank you for taking the time to write it. Your...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

This was our most expensive meal we have had as as there is little choice in the area then not unexpected Food was good but nothing amazing so didn't feel it was value for money Good service and atmosphere was okMore

2  Thank timothyg61
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear timothyg61, Thank you for this review of Peppino. We value your kind feedback. Following this, we will look into expanding the menu to cater for a wider price range. Wishing you safe journeys always. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director of Communications Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru...More

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

I was a little disappointed with the standard of food. When we ordered the lasagne the waitress said it was big enough for two to share as a main meal. It was not. We ends up having to order a pizza as well. The food...More

2  Thank stephanie s
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Dear stephanie s, Thank you for this review of the restaurant. I am sorry to hear that we have fallen short of your expectations. We will work hard to improve ourselves and hope to welcome you back one day soon. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong Director...More

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Not bad looks lovley staff are very good...pleasant and very patient my little girl was very tired and grumpy & our waitress was excellent with her...however i found it very pricy for what it is....our food was good but not amazing...starter was very generous but...More

1  Thank Suzanne C
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Suzanne C, I am sorry to hear that your recent experience at Peppino did not exceed your expectations. We will adjust the prices and portions accordingly to ensure diners have a memorable experience every time. We'd love to serve you again when you return...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at Peppino last night. They had a Matsusaka beef promotion. It was cooked to perfection. Melts in your mouth goodness. Price is comparable to the one I had in Japan.More

1  Thank Milette V
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Milette V, Thank you so much for sharing your Matsusaka dinner experience with us here. We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your steak so much. Please come back again, I am certain Peppino Manager Charlie Okiau and his team will...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Been here with my family last night and found all of our food to be very bland. Most of the items on the menu were not available so choices were very limited. The lobster tasteless and the lamb was not served as described on menu,...More

1  Thank AnthonyJubilee
ShangriLa_TAH, Director Of Communications at Peppino at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Dear AnthonyJubilee, Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Peppino. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take your feedback here very seriously and will look into improving ourselves. Your kind support is much appreciated. Yours sincerely,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sunset Bar at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa
507 reviews
.21 km away
Cafe Tatu
41 reviews
.03 km away
Shang Palace
113 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tanjung Aru Beach
258 reviews
1.01 km away
Tanjung Aru Perdana Park
243 reviews
1.32 km away
Let's Climb Mount Kinabalu
101 reviews
1.37 km away
Canopy Walk
64 reviews
1.54 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Simone D
3 July 2016|
Answer
Response from phbatbjco | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Best to contact the guest experience manager heilivia.pouli"at shangri-la . com - she was extremely helpful sorting out an issue we had Phil NB substitute "at" for the a with a circle as Tripadvisor will not... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$38 - US$248
Cuisine
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No. 20 Jalan Aru | Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
  • Location: Asia  >  Malaysia  >  Sabah  >  West Coast Division  >  Kota Kinabalu District  >  Kota Kinabalu
  • Phone Number: +60 88-327 888
  • E-mail
Description
Located in Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Peppino’s is amongst Kota Kinabalu’s treasured culinary locations for Italian fine dining. Touted as one of Malaysia’s Best Restaurants since 2002, Peppino’s promises patrons impeccable authentic Italian cuisine complemented by unforgettable Shangri-La hospitality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing