We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rancho La Cascada

$$ - $$$
Caribbean, Central American, American, Costa Rican
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
| La Fortuna de San Carlos. Diagonal a Banco Nacional de Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 8790
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 57: English reviews
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

The waiter was nice. That's the one and only positive thing about this place. However, he didn't bring the right drinks, we ordered a vegetarian hamburguer cuz the waiter said it had a cassava patty, and when he brought it, there had no patty at all, just some poor looking veggie strips. Looked like a cheap salad on buns. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hector S
Antonia C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this review

Dear Customer. We regret that your visit was not to your liking. We sincerely apologize. Your comment is very important to help us improve. We are working hard on remodeling the place and hiring the best staff to provide our clients with the best you deserve. More 

Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2016

Went there for dinner one night and we were very disappointed. The beef was ordered medium rare and came out blue/red rare cooked by the Latina, the meat, got sent back, the boss then cooks the meat well done...totally RUDE, useless to request a replacement at that point, since the boss was cooking it. Ordered a grilled whole fish and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank brad j
Antonia C, Director Comercial at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this review
Google Translation

Buenas tardes. Rancho La Cascada agradece sus comentarios. Les informamos que desde ya los propietarios del local lo han retomado,... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Do not buy from the associated tour seller (José) here. He ripped us off and would not refund the money even after our tour guide (the one he sold us!!) told him we paid too much. We paid ~$60 more than we should have for a tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine E
Antonia C, Director Comercial at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this review
Google Translation

Hola. Hace unos meses cometimos el error de alquilar un espacio para ventas de tours. Rogamos nos disculpe y aclaramos... More 

New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2016

My 2 friends and I decided to try dinner at this establishment. I ordered a fish dinner at approx. 4,200 colonies. The fish and rice didn't have much flavor and there weren't any options to enhance the taste. My 2 friends, a married couple weren't very hungry so they decided to share one entree. As soon as the waiter saw... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Erast M
Antonia C, Director General at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this review

Greetings dear friends. We regret that your experience was not expected. Your comment has been very important to improve. We work for your bad expereince not repeated. We ask for your apologize for the inconvenience. More 

Sugar Land
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2016

After a strenuous full day tour with a lackluster free lunch included, we were on the hunt for a satisfying dinner and perused various restaurants. Unfortunately my friend selected this place and we soon found it was a TRAGIC FAIL. CONS - despite being at 30 percent capacity, our food took an extremely long time to prepare and we asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank SassySarahSuggests
Antonia C, Director General at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this review

Greetings dear friends. We regret the bad experience Your comment has been very important to improve. We work for your bad expereince not repeated. We ask for your apologize for the inconvenience. Today the owners and founding family is in charge of providing excellent services. More 

Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2016

Thought this looked interesting, so 2 of us gave it a try. The rice was hard and tasteless, the salad was underwhelming, and the (price non-disclosed) "special" was way overpriced when we finally got our check. Would not recommend this at all. Plenty of other places to enjoy in and around La Fortuna.

Helpful?
Thank runningbarb
Antonia C, Director General at Rancho La Cascada, responded to this review

Greetings dear friends. We regret the bad experience Your comment has been very important to improve. We work for your bad expereince not repeated. We ask for your apologize for the inconvenience. Today the owners and founding family is in charge of providing excellent services. More 

Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
153 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2015

Just on the corner of the town square it's easy to find. A massive palapa hut and cheap food. I got a veggie burger and fries for $4 and they were fantastic. So good I took a group of about 7 others back for dinner and everyone loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2015

I had eaten here before and was looking forward to a good meal in a place with an awesome location, but I was greatly disappointed! The portions were small, the rice was hard, and the restrooms were dirty. We brought this to the attention of the staff and the owners, but we were told to leave, or the local authorities... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Maria Gabriela E
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

Venturing into Fortuna for the first time the taxi driver happened to drop us off directly in front of Rancho La Cascada. I immediately liked the look of it, but it was decided we should circle around town to see what else it had to offer. I couldn't help but notice that the other side of the main strip (the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike F
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2015

Met Arthur the owner, a US ex patriot that treated us great. Promised us the best Calzone in town and he delivered on his promise.

Helpful?
Thank Aurelio R

Travellers who viewed Rancho La Cascada also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rancho La Cascada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$40
Cuisine
Caribbean, Central American, American, Costa Rican
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: | La Fortuna de San Carlos. Diagonal a Banco Nacional de Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Alajuela  >  Arenal Volcano National Park  >  La Fortuna de San Carlos
  • Phone Number: +506 2479 8790
Description
Restaurant fine Costa Rican and international cuisine. We specialize in fine cuts of meat. We produce our vegetables and meats monitoring sustainability in harmony with nature

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rancho La Cascada staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?