We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship & Anchor

$$ - $$$, European,
2 Bakehouse Lane, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-426 1539
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good34%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish n chips” (4 reviews)
“steak” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Bakehouse Lane, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Loved the tap beers and seafood Platter. Enjoyed my weekend. Gonna come in free time and sit whole day.

Thank Manpreet S
Reviewed 4 days ago

A very big meal after a long flight. Enjoyed the food (I had the fish and chips) which was fresh and cooked perfectly. Prompt service and staff were attentive.

Thank Karen M
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very nice staff, food is awesome loved the Seafood Platter, good nautical theme, Asahi beer on Tap is bonus, will come back definitely.

Thank Jatin T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited Orewa to see the Sand Castle building competition and when the weather turned we needed shelter with good food, kid friendly and a decent glass of wine. I had seen the Ship and Anchor on TripAdvisor and we gave it a go. I...More

Thank Mark B
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lunch with mates was a pleasant experience, good choice of moderately priced food. Good selection of wines and beers, moderately priced, wine $7 a glass and $9 a pint for beer. The Ship & Anchor beer is a good taste.

Thank Tony M
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Walk passed and liked the vibe with lots of people having dinner. Ended up ordering the lamb shank for hubby and the Pork belly for me. Good food and good service.

Thank Atkinsonrachel
Reviewed 16 March 2018

A group of us now make this bar & restaurant a regular stop off where we can enjoy good; service, drinks, food and of course friends

Thank oldbull44
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We had a group of 43 (mixture of adults and kids) dine on Saturday night. Considering the numbers we had, they did a fab job. Catered well for our Coeliac diners who needed gluten free meals and were knowledgeable about it. Food and service were...More

Thank stephensfamily12
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Haven’t been here in years so was pleasantly surprised. Service was very good and the food quality and portion size was excellent. Will be back

Thank Steve P
Reviewed 11 February 2018

The meal was simply excellent. This restaurant, located in the middle of Orewa, greets you typically with sounds of clinking glasses and lively conversation. A popular spot with locals, the friendly atmosphere is warm and inviting. My wife and i had the special of the...More

Thank Mark D
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Orewa
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
145 reviews
.17 km away
Orewa Motor Lodge
57 reviews
.24 km away
Four Seasons Motel
52 reviews
.28 km away
Golden Sands Beachfront Motel
1 review
.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar
392 reviews
.07 km away
Oliver's Cafe
138 reviews
.07 km away
Micks
139 reviews
.06 km away
Coast - Bites and Brews
190 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Orewa Beach
266 reviews
.44 km away
Red Beach
9 reviews
2.20 km away
Wenderholm Regional Park
52 reviews
5.94 km away
Snowplanet
189 reviews
6.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil D
26 May 2016|
Answer
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
Hi, Unfortunately we are not a BYO restaurant.
0
Votes
ngatirehia8
3 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
hi , sorry we don't do any live entertainment on a regular basis and our dress code is casual, Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Bakehouse Lane, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Orewa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-426 1539
  • E-mail
Description
Situated at the heart of Orewa Beach, We have a great variety of Food & Beverages, all cooked in our own unique style we specialize in fresh seafood and steak. Bring the family along and enjoy our hospitality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing