We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grounded at Echo

C/O 24th Ave and Pierneef St | VIllieria, Pretoria 0186, South Africa
+27 12 329 0159
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good37%
  • Average8%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“cake” (3 reviews)
“sandwiches” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Deli, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
C/O 24th Ave and Pierneef St | VIllieria, Pretoria 0186, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Pleasant surprise! Went there for coffee, ended up ordering baked cheese cake. Reception was friendly, service was good. Coffee was great. The baked cheese cake was really tasty, not dry as it tends to be . i will be back for more reviews

Thank PieterCroukamp
davidvb777, Owner at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Ah, wonderful to receive such a nice review! Thank you so much Pieter, we look forward to being able to host you again soon :)

Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

I was invited for a belated birthday breakfast at Grounded. I never expected to find such an excellent coffee shop in Pierneef str. Although they were short staffed that morning, David and Karolien and their staff looked after like royalty. We were 10 persons and...More

Thank Nico558
davidvb777, Owner at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi Nico, Thanks so much for your lovely review! We glad that you had a good birthday experience with us, it was a great pleasure to be able to host you all. We hope you'll be in the area again soon :)

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Some friends and I met here yesterday for a literary coffee klatsch. As always there was a warm welcome, really good coffee and nicely prepared and served eats. The art exhibition, which changes regularly, consisted of striking images of fjords. Grounded was a little too...More

Thank David L
davidvb777, Owner at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi David, So good to read a review like this! It does get a little hectic at times, but we're stoked that you still had a good experience here. Hope to have you with us again soon!

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

I enjoyed the pap, spicy tomato sauce, egg, spinach and boerewors for breakfast. The coffe was excellent and the service great. This place is a gem.

Thank Charel S
davidvb777, Owner at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi Charel, Thanks for your lovely review and kind words! We're thrilled that you had a good experience here, looking forward to having you with us again :)

Reviewed 20 March 2018

I've visited Grounded on several occasions and have been blown away by their superior service at every level at each visit. The food, the drinks, the service, the layout - no improvements required anywhere! A shame that it's next door to a garage, but on...More

Thank gracefhc
davidvb777, Owner at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Hi gracefhc, Thank you so much for your lovely review!

Reviewed 7 November 2017

The place is neat and small. Food is not bad. When I asked for a breakfast dish, the kitchen staff decline, said they do not serve breakfast all day. I had to change my order because they either did not have it (yet is was...More

1  Thank Megan R
Andria E, Manager at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for the review and feedback Megan. We only serve our breakfast items until 12 noon. Hope you would reconsider to come around again sometime and enjoy one our breakfasts.

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Grounded is a small coffee shop that really hums. Innovative job creation, a constantly changing art exhibition, superb and unusual coffee, simple but profound fusion sandwiches, cake to die for - and take away - and a really good peanut butter and coffee milkshake are...More

Thank David L
Andria E, Manager at Grounded at Echo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank you so much for the review. We are launching our summer menu soon, watch the space for new flavours.

Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped by for getting vegan and glutten free food. Was not disappointed at all. Great sandwiches on the menu. Very filling portions. Highly recommended.

Thank HarryV823
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for the review. Hope to have you around soon.

Reviewed 20 August 2017

This is one of the best coffee shops in Pretoria. Their cappuccinos are rich and foamy and sugar takes more than 8 seconds to sink - making it the right texture! Breakfasts are always tasty, however, bring in something new for a change please? Good...More

Thank adriaannortje
Management response:Responded 4 October 2017

Thank you for the review. Please be on the look out for our summer menu with new additions. *Launching soon*

Reviewed 5 April 2017

We were very excited but left quite disappointed. expected at least a plate-size waffle for the prize- got two child's palm-size pieces. Instead of a slice of cheesecake, a small "mini" cake with a 4 cm diameter. It was never the less very tasty, but...More

Thank Naude_Marelize
Management response:Responded 11 April 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 75 hotels in Pretoria
Meintjieskop Guest Lodge
29 reviews
2.10 km away
Rosetoli
1 review
2.34 km away
The Villas Luxury Suite Hotel
75 reviews
2.65 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
595 reviews
3.00 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Toni's Fully Furnished Pizza
223 reviews
1.29 km away
Burger Bistro
289 reviews
.12 km away
Toni's Fish and Chip Co.
39 reviews
.06 km away
Das Gasthaus / Adler Cuisine
19 reviews
1.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Statue of Nelson Mandela
97 reviews
2.73 km away
The Blue Train
313 reviews
3.87 km away
Loftus Versfeld Stadium
194 reviews
3.49 km away
Union Buildings
1,217 reviews
2.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Grounded at Echo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$5 - US$10
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: C/O 24th Ave and Pierneef St | VIllieria, Pretoria 0186, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Pretoria
  • Phone Number: +27 12 329 0159
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing