We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Africa - CLOSED

35 Victoria Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
+27 21 438 4253
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“rosti” (2 reviews)
“pizza” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
35 Victoria Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
All Details
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Camps Bay definitely isn't the place to come for a chilled drink during the day. Everywhere seems to be permanently full. Grand Africa was slightly less chaotic than elsewhere, meaning (with some luck) we managed to get a table. In truth they don't need to...More

Thank Iain73
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Great bar, lively, serves the most amazing pizza, friendly, fun. The V&A Waterfront branch has a better location actually on the beach, big car park and interesting shop.

Thank 20patricia
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Hi Patricia, thank you very much for your positive feedback. Our Grand Africa Café & Society in Camps Bay is closing at the end of March. We hope to see you at Grand Africa Café & Beach again very soon. Kindest regards

Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

The service was painfully slow and forgetful. The food we ordered (calamari and chips) was definitely the worst we tried all week. Plenty of better options along Victoria Road.More

Thank SFromZurich
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Hi SFromZurich, thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience with us. We are sorry that we did not manage to meet your standards with regards to service and food quality. However we hope to see you again at our Grand...More

Reviewed 18 March 2016

it's a good place, nice views, good food--all in line with the restaurants and bars around on the strip

Thank Karin B
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Thank you Karin, for your positive feedback. We are closing doors in Camps Bay at the end of March and would like to invite you to visit us at Grand Africa Café & Beach in Granger Bay in future. Kindest regards

Reviewed 17 March 2016

I booked for dinner with two girlfriends last night (16 Mar 2016) and had the worst meal imaginable. Service was slow and the waiter sultry. We kept apologising for asking him for things like wine and our meal. We received lots of eye rolling and...More

Thank Penny M
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2016

Hi Penny, thank you very much for taking the time to express your opinion about your experience with us in Camps Bay. We are very sorry to hear that our service and food quality did not meet your standards and you did not have the...More

Reviewed 4 March 2016

Superb people watching on the Camps Bay strip. Service was cheery and tempura prawns and carpaccio very enjoyable.

Thank Jacksville007
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hi Jacksville, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your positive experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed our cheery service and your delicous meals. Come back soon! Kindest regards

Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

We have been going to The Grand in Camps Bay for a number of years. In the past it was a high quality establishment. Not anymore. Food was awful and service was distinctly average. On the plus side location is good.....however there are plenty better...More

Thank G457
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

Hi G457, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are saddened to hear that service and food were not up to par and we are working very hard to improve the quality until we are closing...More

Reviewed 29 February 2016 via mobile

Nice outdoor brunch spot with ocean views! Grand offers a nice selection of breakfast options at reasonable prices. Nice view of the beach.

Thank MKNYC2015
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Hi MKNYC2015, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We look forward to having you back soon. Kindest regards

Reviewed 23 February 2016

It's a busy spot on the strip next door to even busier Cafe Caprice hence there's much for the "bird" watcher going on, specially when the Ferrari s and models parade on the strip during the seasons.

Thank KingArt2013
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Hi KingArt, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your visit. We hope to have you back again shortly. Kindest regards

Reviewed 18 February 2016 via mobile

We arrived at 11 and hadn't booked but managed to get a table overlooking the beach. I had scrambled eggs on toast and my partner had the smoked salmon rosti. Both were excellent. Friendly service and relaxed atmosphere. We also walked passed on a couple...More

Thank KateBonnie
GrandAfricaBeach, Public Relations Manager at Grand Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2016

Thank you again Kate!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mezepoli Meze & Wine Bar
421 reviews
.31 km away
Ocean Blue
710 reviews
.38 km away
Blues
1,028 reviews
.33 km away
Paranga
1,143 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Camp's Bay Beach
2,044 reviews
.38 km away
Skaris Touring
103 reviews
.10 km away
Theatre on the Bay
62 reviews
.54 km away
Langaro Lifestyle Centre
15 reviews
.16 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$10 - US$100
Good for
View, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
09:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 00:00
Thursday
09:00 - 00:00
Friday
09:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 35 Victoria Street, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Camps Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 4253
  • E-mail
Description
Cape Town's showgirl on Africa's ‘Miami Mile’ in Camps Bay, offers grandeur of a bygone era for locals and international travelers. Elegant simplicity is the setting with beautifully prepared cafe-style cuisine and an impressive wine list showcasing local South African and international wines, desirable Champagnes, Cap Classique and cocktails celebrating the magnificence of this beach setting. Grand Room, offering the ultimate in bare decadence crowns the famous Grand Cafe on the Strip in Cape Town's, Camps Bay.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing