We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marco's African Place

15 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 423 5412
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“ox tongue” (4 reviews)
“game meat” (9 reviews)
Open Now
3:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
15 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

at first I wasn't sure stepping into the place what to expect, but in fact a lot of locals come to this place for dinner/celebration. They place music here all night and they have male and female vocalists and are very lively. They charge a...More

Thank AHY2014
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had the pleasure of spending new yrs eve at this place. I must say the band was vibey and tye crowd was lovely. The service from the waitress was nice. But the food could be better. I had umngqusho and oxtail. At the price...More

Thank lwandoruga
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello lwandoruga, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We are sad to hear you were disappointment in your meal and have immediately addressed the issues you highlighted. We hope you will reconsider and give us another try....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly atmosphere Good quality food Live band and dancers during the meal You have to reserve, it's always full

Thank Frederic D
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Frederic D, Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the food and live entertainment.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I always enjoy taking groups to Marco's in Cape Town. The food is usually great but the vibe, the music, the dancing, the great service and the welcome of the owner is usually excellent...

Thank Edwin A
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow, thank you for your lovely review, Edwin A! We are looking forward to your next visist!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was fantastic, we mixed traditional African with western. Fried worms, impala steaks with normal steaks. Wine very well priced and very good selection. Our waiter was knowledgeable and very helpful. The African entertainment was great as well, again mixing traditional with western music...More

1  Thank Ian0964
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the wonderful review, Ian0964. We are so glad to hear you had a great time. Hope to see you back soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved our visit to Marco’s. It was a great way to sample traditional foods without having to commit to a whole springbok steak. We tried ostrich, kudu, springbok, crocodile, and caterpillar. Though I didn’t finish the caterpillar because it wasn’t my thing, everything was...More

Thank rhyamb
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Rhyamb, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your meal and could sample multiple of our traditional foods. We hope you will come visit us again.

Reviewed 4 December 2017

On Friday evening me and my friend visited Marcos. We had the samp and oxtail both lovely!! The music and atmosphere was marvelous. We sang and danced. But the night was nearly ruined in the beginning by the attitude of ALL the staff to the...More

Thank Zakithi M
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Zakithi M, we are sorry to hear about your experience. Customer service is a top priority for us. Our corkage policy is that we only allow 2 bottles of wine from outside the establishment. Hope you will give us another try.

Reviewed 17 November 2017

We went with friends from Sweden. We actually enjoyed it although it is very touristy. The food was disappointing, but the live music definitely made up for everything. We ended up dancing to the cool african tunes!

Thank liesbettebs
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Hello liesbettebs, Thank you for writing to us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the live entertainment and we apologies that you did not enjoy your meal. We hope you will give us another try.

Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We were entertained here for dinner and between us all had the day’s specials: croc, springbok and ostrich carpaccio; springbok, croc tail, kudu and impala steaks. All first time for us and all very enjoyable. This is a big space which requires and has good...More

Thank TonyPKL
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Hello TonyPKL, Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our traditional cuisine. In the future we will be more than happy to reserve a more secluded table for you and your party. Hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The owner, Marco is always hands on. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can go the real African way or stay with the normal dishes. The live marimba music and the vibe is great!

Thank Kerstin K
Bongeka, Guest Relations Manager at Marco's African Place, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Hello Kerstin K, We are so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable evening. Thank you for writing a great review. We hope to see you again soon!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 112 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
101 reviews
1.04 km away
Cape Grace
2,128 reviews
1.14 km away
Cape Heritage Hotel
1,336 reviews
.21 km away
One&Only Cape Town
1,704 reviews
1.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Africa Cafe
804 reviews
.21 km away
Savoy Cabbage
1,067 reviews
.16 km away
Villa 47
254 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gold of Africa Museum
68 reviews
.17 km away
Signal Hill Winery
11 reviews
.21 km away
Museum of Gems and Jewellery
5 reviews
.28 km away
Baraka Gifts and Decor
265 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
janmm52
25 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jean G | Reviewed this property |
would make a booking for the balcony setting, as you have a better view of the band. music is very enjoyable, but don't expect too much of the food or service. booking before 7.30pm should be good. Enjoy your stay in Cape... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
3:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
3:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Rose Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 423 5412
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing