We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Greenhouse

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel | 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7800, South Africa
+27 21 795 6226
Website
Today
18:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 18:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 390: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

an awesome dining experience! wonderful for a special occasion superb unusual food with outstanding service

Helpful?
Thank paulaU1131XX
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear paulaU1131XX Thank you for reviewing Greenhouse and for your kind words about the food and service. I hope to have you join us again for another great experience. Warm regards, Dustin Blencowe More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had guests from Europe visiting. They asked me for an outstanding dining experience in Cape Town. I asked around and several people recommended Greenhouse at Cellars-Hohenort. It is near me and a great venue so I booked early. We were sent in advance the new December 2016 menu. I was a bit worried as I cannot eat fish but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crawhall
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

WoW!!!! Peter & his team pulled it off again & again.... Have been there over & over again These boys are getting better every time.... a Symphony to the senses The Orchestra is superbly rehearsed With Peter in the Laboratory & Dustin in the front of house to elaborate & accent Peter's Master Creations One has to go to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sergio1918
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited as a group of 10 and had selected the 8 course African tasting menu and wow what a treat. The food and service where excellent however the theatre and performance in the way they arrived and presented simply made this a very special event. Each course arrived with a story and served with a showcase of origins, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Baggie210
Manchester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a lovely meal here a few weeks ago. Service was far more relaxed than the night before when we'd eaten at Rust en Vrede in Stellenbosch while still being professional. Although there is no a la carte menu it was nice that there is at least one choice of meat or fish if you opt for the African... More 

Helpful?
Thank TimManchester
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear TimManchester Thank you for your lovely review of Greenhouse and for appreciating the relaxed atmosphere that our front of house team creates. I am happy to read your wonderful comments, especially those about the cheese and dessert courses. I hope to see you again in the near future! Warm regards, Dustin Blencowe More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner here, made a reservation a couple of weeks before. The style of the restaurant is very modern, nice atmosphere. We had the spring menu and staff was very helpful in selecting the right courses for my pregnant wife. Even the canopies were especially prepared for her! Great job! Only reason not to give this the maximum rating... More 

Helpful?
Thank jake861
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear jake861 Thank you for taking the time to review Greenhouse. I am very happy that we were able to fully accommodate your wife and allow her the opportunity to experience Greenhouse to the fullest. I am however very sorry that you found some dishes too salty. I will address this issue with the kitchen team. I hope to have... More 

Worthing
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Felt the food was underwhelming, the trout was vertically raw and unpleasant, the main course and dessert were very good, but the two starter dishes felt like they were designed for a chef and not a diner! The staff seemed a little disinterested and the state of their uniforms was tatty. We've experienced better meals for half the price at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Finemaster
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear Finemaster Thank you for your review of Greenhouse. As per my personal email to you, I really appreciate all your feedback and your comments have been taken forward with the whole Greenhouse team. I hope to have you book with us again for a much improved experience. Warm regards, Dustin Blencowe More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed the African origins tasting menu and it did not disappoint! Every dish was impeccably prepared, wine pairings were perfect. Worth the drive from Cape Town!

Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear Sarah N Thank you for your positive review of Greenhouse. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and wine pairing options. I hope to see you again in the near future. Warm regards, Dustin Blencowe More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A party of 6 we went for the 8 course offering one of which was the vegitarian option, with wine flight. It was all exceptional, the service, the theatre, originality and quality of food and as much information as you require. Service was attentive but not overbearing a gastronomic delight. We arrived just after 6 pm and left at 10.30... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark J
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear Mark J Thank you for your review of Greenhouse. I am delighted to read about the wonderful experience that yourself and your party had with us. I will pass your positive comments onto the service and chef teams. I hope to see you all again next time you visit Cape Town! Warm regards, Dustin Blencowe More 

Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Due to the fact that this restaurant is acclaimed as one of the best in SA, I expected something great. The staff was very friendly and funny, but the food was a disappointment. I had the five course menu with wine pairing. The wine selection was a joke, as I received three times an unpleasant pinot noir or grenache. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank absolutcologne
Dustin_Blencowe, Manager at Greenhouse, responded to this review

Dear absolutcologne Thank you for taking the time to review Greenhouse. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy the food and wine that you were served. I appreciate your honest feedback and we have since launched our new African Hunter menu with new wine pairing options. If you are willing to afford us another opportunity to impress, you... More 

Travellers who viewed Greenhouse also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Bloubergstrand, Cape Town
 

Been to Greenhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining
Good for
View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Tuesday
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
18:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Cellars-Hohenort Hotel | 93 Brommersvlei Road, Constantia 7800, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Constantia
  • Phone Number: +27 21 795 6226
Description
A state of the art dining room and cutting-edge kitchen sets the scene at Greenhouse, where produce of the Constantia Valley and the region are presented as culinary creations in an intimate taste space. Here guests are invited on a multi-sensory journey of distinctly South African flavours and hospitality, as they savour and indulge in the delectable creations of Peter Tempelhoff and his team. Greenhouse stretches the boundaries of traditional South African cuisine, brings conceptual creations from the garden, veld and sea to the plate and shares local stories and culinary insights through the dining experience. Expect the unexpected... Greenhouse is where meals translate to memories.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Greenhouse and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Greenhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?