We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Java Cafe

7 Jan Katz Building | Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 887 6261
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good46%
  • Average15%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (48 reviews)
“salad” (28 reviews)
“wraps” (9 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pizza, Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Jan Katz Building | Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 489 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We came here for lunch and had a lot to choose from the menu. The atmosphere was great and the staff was efficient. Great place.

Thank Alexanderkurtz
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A big group of us went and we enjoyed this restaurant. The menu is extensive, and the food was just ok, nothing special. The atmosphere was great, and I would return for drinks

Thank Tyabb455
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The place is situated in the heart of Stellenbosch, but it is clear with the poor experience and food that Java are worlds apart from the surrounding restaurants. After 7 years in Stellenbosch, I thought to give Java Cafe another try. They have a wide...More

Thank OneBigAdventure2016
Fjooste, Manager at Java Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

If possible please indicate what you ate sonwe can rectify any problems and also what you would lile to see in the waiters Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in town for a week and went here 3 times for breakfast, drinks and dinner one nights. Generally we found the staff very friendly (even when it was packed one evening during the Varsity orientation week) and the food reasonable. It is a...More

Thank Mike B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great staff, ate there twice, all food good and great choice of wine by the glass. Nice place on the street, very popular so sometimes have to wait for a table.

Thank kirstyalisonsimpson
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant has always appeared popular, with the pavement seating full. Today we managed to find a table for lunch. Service was slow but this wasn’t a problem as it’s a great spot for watching the world go by. The menu offered a large variety...More

Thank s3aview
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Honestly was expecting so much more when friends and I decided to come have brunch. The staff are super friendly and helpful, but any confectionary that is ordered is either dry or under-baked. Slow service and no management on the floor to direct comments to....More

Thank Tanisha S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

4 meals. One burger uncooked one meal missing veg one meal missing chips. One missing peas. Complained about burger manager adjusted bar bill minimally instead of taking off the cost of the meal. His response well you ate most of it before complaining. Hey it...More

Thank lexielexie18
Fjooste, Manager at Java Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As with most restaurants in the world we try to accomodate clients requests as much as possible, we offered to put the last small piece of burger patty on the grill for you and also adjusted the bill which really is very reasonable as 99%...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just could not resist this place as we walked by. Always busy every day at all times with a real buzz. We had a couple of beers and the bread platter. All fine. The attraction here is just chilling and being part of the...More

Thank Nicked2016
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

HAVE AGAIN: Boboti was really tasty. But slow service. Great place to sit and way people go by. Sit outside even if summertime.

Thank LibraryRed
PreviousNext
12345649
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Stellenbosch Hotel
944 reviews
.05 km away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
884 reviews
.05 km away
Oude Werf Hotel
696 reviews
.09 km away
Eendracht Hotel
449 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Helena's
874 reviews
.05 km away
Stellenbosch Kitchen
892 reviews
.07 km away
Oppie Dorp Restaurant
1,195 reviews
.11 km away
Basic Bistro
709 reviews
.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden
681 reviews
.46 km away
Dorp Street
390 reviews
.10 km away
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
293 reviews
.18 km away
Dutch Reform Church
115 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Java Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$50
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Jan Katz Building | Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 887 6261
  • E-mail
Description
Java Bistro offer full breakfasts with lunch, dinner and an open show kitchen with qualified chefs preparing your gourmet meal to perfection Enjoy our side walk seating with a glass wine from our cellar with over a hundred to choose from
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing