We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Pommier wine estate & leisure

$$ - $$$
Wine Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 885 1269
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 107: English reviews
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Le Pommier is always good to go to when one is unsure of what one wants to eat. Their chicken supreme is outstanding, their burgers great and their fish and chips delicious. Steak is not their forte, but good service makes up for it.

Helpful?
Thank Karin K
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2017

The Scenery is beautiful in this area and we went for Sunday Lunch. Their prices are average and I decided to try the pork belly but was very disappointed - we didn't bother with dessert. Don't think we'll bother with a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank MiloDexter
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Dropped by there on way to Graff (only to look & hobnob with the affluent!) Had table in the shade - temp c. 32 degrees - and sampled local dishes of Bobotie and Potjie ..delicious. Also had some local starters to whet the appetite. Like everywhere in South Africa quality is assured and all for a reasonable price. Fully recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Deltablade
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the lodges (which are more than amazing) and therefore we had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Every time we had to wait for an hour for Some food. The food itself is ok, but nothing special.

Helpful?
Thank Lvhart
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and apologise if you had a bad experience at our restaurant. Your comment about the slow service have been noted. Regards ELMIEN More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2017

The service was so bad that I had to get up and find a waiter to bring us some more drinks while we waited for our meal which took way too long to arrive. When it did arrive it was awful. The prawns were soggy and 'mealy' and the fish was tasteless and greasy. The bill had items on it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Derek L
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

Dear Derek I am really sorry that you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. To enable me to take the necessary action, would you mind to please contact me on 021 885 1269. I will discuss the matter with you further on the phone. Thank you ELMIEN More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017

A great place to try some South African specials. In our party we tried the bobotie and the potjie. Both were very tasty and the portions were huge. A few of us had the malva pudding for desert, which was a bit disappointing (my custard was poor and tasted of scrambled egg), but overall this was a decent place for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin D
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I must apologise for the tasteless custard. I will discuss with the relative kitchen staff as this is unacceptable. Regards ELMIEN More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

On our anniversary weekend getaway We had a decent lunch at Le Pommier and decided to return for dinner. We do not often go away and it was a huge treat for us. After waiting an hour for our food our meals arrived but mine was incorrect. The wrong dish arrived. Both our meals were subsequently taken back to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Candice C
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

I must apologise for your bad dinner experience at our restaurant. All your points raised have be addressed and discussed with the Head Chef. It is totally unacceptable as we strive in giving all our guests a special experience when visiting our restaurant. Please contact me when you next in the area as I would like to discuss the matter... More 

1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2017

We checked in at Lumley's Place and enjoyed a light lunch at Le Pommier last friday, 06 January 2017. We were seated promptly outside under and umbrella. The restaurant was not very busy as there were plenty of empty tables outside. After being seated, we waited for more than 10mins for a waiter, even though there were quite a few... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travis_TG
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

Dear Travis I apologise for the slow service when you visited our restaurant. I would like to invite you back when you in the area again, just to proof that this is not our norm and I promise that this will not occur again. Regards ELMIEN More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I love this restaurant! Besides staying at Le pommier which was amazing - we had breakfast included every morning at the restaurant on site! The service was fast and the Chef cooked amazing food! Not only that he was extremely friendly! To add onto that - we got ROOM SERVICE because we didn't want to miss a movie during dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
Sydmey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

I was caught out a bit with most wineries being closed for lunch by 3:00pm on Sundays. Luckily I came across Le pommier. I had the bobtjie which was absolutely wonderful and was matched with a red blend by the waitress which was spot on. Lovely ambience and relaxed feel completed the experience.

Helpful?
Thank gingermeggs65

Travellers who viewed Le Pommier wine estate & leisure also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Le Pommier wine estate & leisure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$2 - US$14
Cuisine
Wine Bar
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 885 1269
Description
Country Style Cape Vineyard Lodge and Restaurant. Child friendly with petting zoo. Ideal venue for intimate weddings and small conferences.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Le Pommier wine estate & leisure staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?