We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penguin Restaurant

820 Diaz Street | Lüderitz Nest Hotel, Luderitz, Namibia
+264 63 204 000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good35%
  • Average23%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“crepe suzette” (2 reviews)
“tartare” (2 reviews)
“soup” (4 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
820 Diaz Street | Lüderitz Nest Hotel, Luderitz, Namibia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had 2 meals here as we were staying in the hotel. On the Saturday evening there was also a large group of Rotary club members having dinner. Unfortunately, it took 40 minutes to get a bottle of water, but no glasses and a bottle...More

Thank susanmartin2018
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest-Patron, Thank you so much for taking your time to post your review on your recent dining experience/s at our PENGUIN RESTAURANT. I am very pleased to read that your Sunday evening dining experience was very much in line with our normal standards. Please...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The waitress showed complete racism to our guide who was dining with us; she also ignored me completely after I had complained about her.More

Thank rosgoldfarb
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mrs. Goldfarb, Due to the SERIOUSNESS of your review, I have now finished an in-depth internal investigation. I can state for a FACT that I can find NO EVIDENCE whatsoever that my staff member (non-white Namibian citizen) displayed in your words "Racism" to your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The restaurant has lovely sea views but is let down by slow service and poor quality food that certainly does not match the prices chargedMore

Thank Peter F
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Patron, Thank you for taking your time to post your review on our locally popular restaurant with its fabulous location. Please accept my sincerest apologies that our service delivery and food did not meet your high expectations. We have a simple but effective policy:...More

Reviewed 13 April 2018

It was Easter Sunday and we were not resident. We had been to Kolmanskop and had not made a reservation but we were able to get a table. We wanted to eat at the Nest hotel and had researched where the Nest Hotel and Penguin...More

Thank R1chardN
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Dear Patron, I thank you for posting your positive review on your Easter Sunday lunch experience at our locally popular PENGUIN RESTAURANT. I am pleased that you found our restaurant's ambiance, decoration, seating and most importantly, my staff very good. You are correct in what...More

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The family decided to have dinner over the Easter weekend at the Nest Hotel. A buffet and also a A la Carte menu were on offer. We decided to have the A la Carte. The food was very ordinary in taste and variety and did...More

Thank Wolfgang T
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Patron, I have read your review with some dismay. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies that you did not experience the (normally) fabulous food and service we are famous for. Had you brought your concerns to my team's immediate attention, we would have done our...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I possibly had the best chicken noodle stirfry of my life right here. My friends, however, were not too impressed with their seafood dishes, which is a bit of a disappointment. Otherwise there was nothing to complain about - great service and a lovely setting...More

Thank Camel-thorn_Pyrenees
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Dear Patron, Many thanks for posting your positive review on your recent experience in our popular PENGUIN RESTAURANT. I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our chicken noodle stir fry offering. I am also very happy to know that you loved our service...More

Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Our group mostly ordered steaks which were cooked extremely well and tasty. Friendly engaging waitrons. Main drawback however is service is slow...order after a group and expect to wait an hour...coffee also took over 20 minMore

Thank GaryvE
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Patron, Thank you very much for posting your feedback on your recent dining experience in our popular Penguin Restaurant. I am delighted to read that my staff delivered a friendly and engaging service and that your group enjoyed their meals. Important: Please accept my...More

Reviewed 10 January 2018

We were booked into this hotel as part of a small group tour and used this restaurant twice for dinner and breakfast. Our meals were buffet style and the food was generally very good. The restaurant does get very busy and noisy, with congestion at...More

Thank Travelexperience12
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2018

Dear Patron, Thank you very much for posting your positive and informative feedback on your dining experience in our popular PENGUIN RESTAURANT. IMPORTANT: We offer an extensive dinner buffet on certain evenings only and an À la carte menu is always available. You are correct...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Although we were not staying at the Nest hotel, to which this restaurant belongs to, we booked a table for New Year's Eve given that most other places in town were closed. What a mistake. We were brought into a large dining room where we...More

Thank irena p
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Patron, Thank you for posting your feedback on your New Year's evening experience in our EVENTS CENTRE. Please accept my sincerest apologies that your expectations were not met. Normally, we would host our patrons in our PENGUIN RESTAURANT but due to lack of dancing...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

The food from the buffet was delicious and the staff super friendly. My friend had to wait for his a la carte order quite a while but they even came to apologise for this, because it was such a busy night. We had time enough...More

Thank bjdendekker
LNHGM, General Manager at Penguin Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Patron, Thank you so much for taking your time to post your positive review on your recent dining experience in our popular Penguin Restaurant. I am delighted that you loved our seafood and buffet. I am pleased that you found my team friendly as...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels in Luderitz
Luderitz Nest Hotel
551 reviews
.00 km away
Sea-View Zum Sperrgebiet
54 reviews
1.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Garden Cafe
93 reviews
1.28 km away
Barrels - Restaurant and Bar
208 reviews
.67 km away
Diaz Coffee Shop
133 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Felsenkirche
145 reviews
.45 km away
Namib Offroad Excursions
27 reviews
.68 km away
The Goerke House
81 reviews
.46 km away
Luderitz Museum
51 reviews
.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Penguin Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 820 Diaz Street | Lüderitz Nest Hotel, Luderitz, Namibia
  • Location: Africa  >  Namibia  >  Karas Region  >  Luderitz
  • Phone Number: +264 63 204 000
  • E-mail
Description
The Penguin Restaurant with direct sea-views is the only full service restaurant in Lüderitz. It is open throughout the year and delicious local Lüderitz lobster, oyster and abalone, and Namibian dishes are served. Vegetarian and children's menus are also available. Lavazza coffees with fresh patisseries are available the whole day. Lunches can be enjoyed on the outside terraces with direct sea views. In-house guests are treated to one of the best full buffet breakfasts in Namibia (FREE for in-house guests).
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing