We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

USS Chowder Pot III

560 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405-2907
+1 203-481-2356
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (117 reviews)
“honey bread” (9 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 - 21:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
560 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405-2907
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Wow ! The prime rib Thursday Special is excellent. My wife and I shared the larger option with the PEI muscles on we came away satisfied. The muscles were very good. Good serv, and good meal.

Thank Squawbrook
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm glad you and your wife had a great time and enjoyed our Beef Night Specials. We hope you both come back soon!1

Reviewed 5 days ago

I love the nautical theme throughout the restaurant. Although the prices are higher than what we're used to paying, the food was delicious and the portions were adequate. The service was warm and cordial. My only complaint is that the only restrooms are located on...More

Thank Beatlesmom
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm glad you enjoyed our food and service. We are looking into the restroom situations. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We hope you come back soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For $200.00... -Each of our 3 orders of Lobster Bisque were served cold, and delivered at different times. -The fried soft-shelled crab came out, again, late and over cooked. It was supposed to be served atop of toast. Instead, a stack of toast was brought...More

Thank Sdsx72
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry for your poor experience. Our owner, John would like to speak to you regarding the situation. Please give the restaurant a call at 203-481-2356 so that we can try to make this better for you.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very large portions. I suggest sharing the fried fish platter. The prime rib portion was amazing largest I've been served. Only reason this is not a 5 stars rating is my medium rare prime rib was over cooked, but even at tha, it was very...More

Thank theKippys
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your positive response! We hope you visit again in the future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant is our favorite for seafood between Pa and RI. We always plan to arrive during lunch hours. Since we had our Golden Retriever and it was warm out. So here's the plan. Stopped at 1pm. I went in sat on the bar side...More

Thank terrytwoof
ChowderPotManagement, Front Office Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are happy that you had an enjoyable experience and that Nicholas got to enjoy some Chowder Pot too. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was excellent. I had the stuffed Dungeness Crab...it was huge! My husband has the stuffed scallops which was also very good. Service was a bit slow but friendly.

Thank Felicia R
ChowderPotManagement, Front Office Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive feedback. We hope you visit again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Baked stuffed lobster is unbelievably good and their prime rib is the best around. Poppy john shrimp appetizer is pricey but ridiculously delicious. The bread they make is the best bread you will ever eat, its phenomenal. Salad is always fresh and the dressings are...More

Thank Brian W
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your business and are happy that you enjoyed your experience!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As my wife and I were on a road trip from NJ to Maine and ready for a late lunch, she launched her tripadvisor app looking for a seafood restaurant that had good ratings and close to I-95. USS Chowderpot became our destination. Arriving at...More

2  Thank STM0041
ChowderPotManagement, Manager at USS Chowder Pot III, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope you visit us again on your next trip through!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

nice people, great menu, but they like to COVER stuffed dishes with an abundance of weird stuffing, the steak sides were a little grizzly and too sweet. I had a side of rice that had a giant blob of lobster scrap or imitation crab meat...More

Thank nickandLes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food was consistent and delicious. We had a party of 10 and they were accommodating. I do feel that this restuarant needs a face lift. As good as it is in terms of food, it's disappointing on the interior. Prices are mid to high, but...More

Thank mishelle a
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Parthenon Diner Restaurant
162 reviews
1.38 km away
David Henrys
16 reviews
.42 km away
Cafe Fiore
38 reviews
1.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rose Orchards
15 reviews
1.05 km away
Bishop's Orchards
147 reviews
5.99 km away
Stony Creek Brewery
93 reviews
4.84 km away
Shoreline Segway
25 reviews
6.12 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jim T
11 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ChowderPotManagement | Property representative |
Most of our martinis are $10. However, it does depend on the alcohol content, and extensiveness of the drink. If there is something specific that you like on our menu, we can better help with a price for you.
0
Votes
pennstate93
22 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ChowderPotManagement | Property representative |
Hi, We do not have a menu that is gluten free, but we can make our fish and meats plain grilled for you. Our tuna avocado salad is also gluten free. We can modify many of our entrees to suit the allergy. Please ask the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:00
Thursday
11:30 - 21:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 560 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405-2907
  • Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Branford
  • Phone Number: +1 203-481-2356
Description
For 36 years our customers have enjoyed award winning seafood, slow roasted prime rib and USDA Choice steak. Chowder Pot III has two large dining rooms and a very popular Captain's Lounge featuring a raw bar. Happy Hour Mon-Fri, 3:30p-6p Pick out your own live lobster from our tanks from 1-15 lbs.!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing