We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fresh Salt

2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2502
+1 860-388-1111
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good24%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (55 reviews)
“swordfish” (40 reviews)
“lobster roll” (35 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2502
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

I'll tell you that this IS a special place for wife and myself as we were married here on the pier at Saybrook Point Inn, which hosts this fine restaurant, called now Fresh Salt. It was formerly the Terra Mar, and I can't understand why...More

Thank Raymojay
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

We dined once again in old saybrook. Nancy made us feel like family for our meal. We started with tuna triangles served as sushi. Four nice triangles of tuna tartare . I had the large cioppino with an abundance of seafood in a spicy broth....More

1  Thank Ronpariser
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Ronpariser, Thank you for your glowing review! Delighted to see you and your wife enjoyed our menu options! We hope to see you again soon. John Lombardo

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Prices are a little steep, but the location is great and good food to match! We had mimosas which were mostly champagne and a 'splash' of orange juice, so you get what you pay for on these! Definitely get the 'fresh salt style' chowder -...More

Thank vvendygirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the atmosphere sitting outside by the water. Great service. Mostly excellent food. Sometimes inconsistent. The prices are ridiculous. Way too high. Would go more often if the prices were more realistic.More

Thank Lisasuem
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Fresh Salt, and your compliments on the food and service. We appreciate your high rating and always will strive to earn it. In order to address the issue of affordability and pricing, we have established Medium and...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm from Northern California, not too far from Napa, visiting on a business trip. Not a bad venue for a business gathering! After a day of flying and additional travel, coming to Fresh Salt for dinner was a treat. The food was fresh. The wait-staff...More

Thank Wayne P
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your comments, it is always gratifying to hear about our guest's positive experience and how much you enjoyed your visit!. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. John Lombardo General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a table for my wife's birthday. We both ordered the lobster roll which goes for $30. Our daughter ordered scallops. We waited a very long time to be served. Our daughter's dinner came first. The server said ours was being "plated." They finally appeared....More

Thank John Leroy W
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

My apologies about your experience, certainly not what we are known for, nor acceptable. Any restaurant from time-to-time has a day when everything goes wrong, and unfortunately this was the case. Comping your meal was no reflection on the server. Please contact me directly for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had heard about Fresh Salt for a few years now and we were coming back from New Haven and thought we would try it. It was fantastic! We ate outside overlooking the marina but not where the previous reviewer sat, we could see that area...More

Thank pisces025
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

So glad you enjoyed your lunch, and the lobster salad and taco special. I will pass your compliments along to our culinary staff. John Lombardo General Manager Saybrook Point Inn, Marina & Spa

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wait staff and hostesses were attentive, pleasant, and hardworking. Choosing to eat outside by the marina was great. Lots of nice seating with clean tables. The problem with our experience here quite simply is tasteless, poorly prepared food. Coupled with the price that you pay...More

1  Thank Rob G
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to respond. I am interested in the specific items that you ordered, if you would email directly to me, so I can check on the pricing and review the preparation with our culinary staff. Thank you and my apologies....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We don't normally do brunch but this past Saturday we met a group for brunch. It was interesting in that the serving are was separate from the actual dining area.There were two rooms, one had mostly breakfast items and the other had mostly lunch items....More

1  Thank Bobby-sprocket
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our brunch. We hope to have you back so you can enjoy everything else we have to offer! John Lombardo General Manager

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

The waitstaff all seem to be college students who care very little about how well they perform their job. Our waitress Lauren kept spilling water and ice cubes on our table because she was careless and not paying attention to what she was doing. The...More

Thank antonakos1
SaybrookPointInnGM, General Manager at Fresh Salt, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and opinions. We will continue to focus on staff training year-round. John Lombardo General Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Penny Lane Pub & Restaurant
301 reviews
2.45 km away
Aspen Restaurant
212 reviews
2.71 km away
Liv's Oyster Bar & Restaurant
237 reviews
2.41 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Katharine Hepburn Cultural Arts Center
72 reviews
2.26 km away
Florence Griswold Museum
186 reviews
5.08 km away
Harvey's Beach
74 reviews
.25 km away
Sculpture Grounds
11 reviews
3.62 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
judy2346
17 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from SaybrookPointInnGM | Property representative |
Yes, All major credit cards accepted
0
Votes
Tynnelove
16 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from SaybrookPointInnGM | Property representative |
Good Afternoon Tynnelove, Thank you for your question. I am very sorry that there was an error with our response to your review of Fresh Salt. Please know that it was an honest mistake on our part which was due, in part... More
0
Votes
Elaine D
30 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from krl781 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure. I agree with awwhitfield. You should call the restaurant to confirm.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$25 - US$38
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 21:30
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Bridge St, Old Saybrook, CT 06475-2502 (Formerly Terra Mar Grill)
    (Route 154)
  • Location: United States  >  Connecticut (CT)  >  Old Saybrook
  • Phone Number: +1 860-388-1111
  • E-mail
Description
Named Best Waterfront Dining and Best Seafood by Connecticut Magazine in 2016, Fresh Salt serves seasonal and locally inspired meals. Our tables overlook the waters of the Connecticut River where the fresh river meets the salt of the Long Island Sound. It's a treasured and historic spot with a natural environment that is rich in life. Fresh Salt restaurant reflects that lively diversity: We have a raw bar, a seasonally varied menu, and offer as much as we can from the farms, brewers, cheese makers and other food enterprises that are springing up around our region. Fresh Salt delivers a dining experience that's comfortable and relaxed. Our staff is here to be of service to you, our kitchen stands ready with fresh ingredients, a deep wine cellar and carefully crafted fusions of foods and beverages that bring tastes together in delicious and new ways. We have tables by the fire, at the bar, and in season offer seating outdoors on the Fresh Salt Terrace. Awards include: - Best Brunch, Best Waterfront Dining, Best Seafood, and Best Hotel Dining from Connecticut Magazine, January 2016 - Named Upscale Restaurant of the Year by Connecticut Restaurant Association, December 2015
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing