We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plough & Harrow

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Oad Street, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LB, England
+44 1795 843351
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:30
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 103: English reviews
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We had a great meal with 5 of us for a lunchtime, 4 of us had the roast and one had a vegetarian dish. We had a good time and were well looked after in the upstairs bit. Paying the bill took a bit loger than it should take but apart from that it was a great experience. We did... More 

Helpful?
Thank john r
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

It was most delicious, I had the lamb shank, I had reservations about it being sinewy but the landlord told me it was cooked 3times. My Dad, My husband and my step mum all throughly enjoyed out meals. Landlord and staff all nice, didn't have to wait long and all our food was brought out together.

Helpful?
Thank Julie S
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2016

A really fantastic night with a great quiz great company and superb buffet. really looking forwards to the next one on the 9th January 2017

Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Food was good bit of a wait between courses(due to function upstairs).Overall very pleasant.Good atmosphere traditional old style pub.

Helpful?
Thank petebottle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

Well I am so disappointed the food was cold, obviously through the taste and flavour it had been microwaved, cold chicken, reheated potatoes that were the only WARM thing on the plate and they still expected full payment !!! Never again nor will I recommend, the worst food I have had in front of me in years 👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼

Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle c
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review

Michelle, I can honestly say that we have never had a customer like you at The Plough & Harrow. The fact that you think you are entitled to leave a bad review after the way you behaved yesterday, is quite unbelievable. First of all, I am not upset, that you and your male companion walked off after consuming £30 worth... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

This pub is so different from many others we have visited. It is a good old fashioned inn with two lovely coal fires and a friendly cosy atmosphere. The food was exceptionally well presented and the waitress was helpful and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our Sunday lunch there. Also we found the prices very reasonable for a good well cooked... More 

Helpful?
Thank monkey7266
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting such a positive review. Out small business depends on good feedback, and we are very happy that you had a good time. Kind regards, The Plough & Harrow More 

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We hired the upstairs room for a 60th party of 20 full meals. Everything we asked for in the pre-event meeting was catered for. The owner and staff could not have done any more to make the evening more of a success and were so polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was first class with the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CS20032013
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing such a great review! We are delighted that the evening was a success, and very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, K Jones The Plough & Harrow More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Recently re-furbished and menu revived. Great traditional fare, such as lamb shoulder, steaks and so on.

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, K Jones More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

We used the function room for a 50th birthday meal, the room was lovely and it was a surprise meal and the staff were great at leading people to hide etc! Food was lovely proper homemade chips, I had the fish and chips which were spot on! The chicken got a lot of praise and the steak! Lovely decor, all... More 

Helpful?
Thank JessLange
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this lovely review. Our function room is proving very popular at the moment, and we are really delighted that you enjoyed your event there. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, K Jones More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Old Git Barry took us on a mystery tour up the M2 to the the Plough & Harrow. Very nice Pub. Warm welcome. Good food and Beers. Reasonable prices and varied menu. A nice equine feel to it with pictures of race horses etc. Reason being it is owned by the Stud Farm up the road. Well done for them... More 

Helpful?
Thank favershamfats
K J, Owner at Plough & Harrow, responded to this review

Thanks very much for the great review! Hope we see you again soon, now that all the fireplaces are lit and the pub is really looking its best with the Christmas decorations! Best regards, K Jones More 

Travellers who viewed Plough & Harrow also viewed

Lower Halstow, Sittingbourne
Borden, Sittingbourne
 
Borden, Sittingbourne
Rodmersham, Sittingbourne
 

Been to Plough & Harrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$23
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Oad Street, Borden, Sittingbourne ME9 8LB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Sittingbourne  >  Borden
  • Phone Number: +44 1795 843351
Description
Traditional English pub dating back to 1654 with a luxurious country feel. Real fireplaces throughout. Unique interiors, freehouse. Real ales, cask beers, excellent wines. The food is locally sourced, regularly updated and delicious. A stunning private dining room available for all special occasions. A real find.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Plough & Harrow and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Plough & Harrow staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?