We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calypso

Harbourside, Kioni 283 00, Greece
+30 2674 031066
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good36%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“kleftiko” (8 reviews)
“salad” (9 reviews)
Closes in 8 min
All hours
CUISINES
International, Seafood, Mediterranean, Greek, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Harbourside, Kioni 283 00, Greece
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had one dinner at Calypso during our week in Kioni and generally the food was fine although nothing to shout about. However we also visited the cafe next door which has the same owners I think. The coffee here is very good, and great...More

Thank RosebudTraveller
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This taverna is lovely with fresh food prepared every day. Xzandra the owner is lovely and make you very welcome

Thank yvonne f
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

When cruising in the Ionian. This restaurant was always such a pleasure. They sold the best burgers you can imagine. They don't anymore. Just the same Greek menu served by everyone else. taverna menu sold everywhere else.

Thank Jonathan R
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Great food and the house wine is good. Service is very friendly. Rabbit Stiffado is very good with a rich sauce..

Thank Barwickgreen
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This place needs praise. We had an amazing meal. Right. Y the sea. The best octopus I've eaten in Greece- seriously to be recommended. So recommended.

1  Thank 1Nick_B36
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Onion pie was made with ready prepared (frozen) fillo which is unacceptable for the place and the price.greek salad were bad too,white colored tomatoes ,tinny slice of feta and a high price for a salad you can find at any average taberna. We order gemista...More

Thank buntolas
Calypso I, Owner at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear customer, Our onion pie is a dish with a thirty-year- old history and people come again and again from all over Europe to taste it. Its original recipe is with baklava filo because it makes it very crispy and not because it is cheaper...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Visited Calypso because of Trip Advisor's reviews. I'm not going to comment on why people keep on giving it a "5" or a "4", I'm just going to share our experience. We ordered 1 ouzo, 1 green leaf salad with orange dressing, 1 shrimp pasta,...More

1  Thank Christina K
Calypso I, Owner at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear customer, We thank you for pointing out the problem with the shrimps which were all returned to the provider this morning. But as for the tomato ketchap, we do not use it in ANY dish. Actually, we don't have this product in the restaurant...More

Reviewed 11 August 2017

We (2 persons) stayed here for food. The restaurant is really unacceptable since the prices are extremely high (i think tzatziki 4.5, potatoes 4 etc). we took a mixed of meat which was really funny since it had a tiny sausage, a tiny beef, a...More

Thank Αλέξανδρος Μ
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

I went there last night, awful restaurant, they even don't know they have clients! We waited about 15 minutes to seat, and that's okay but then, we waited half an hour, because no one asked if we wanted to order, so I had to ask...More

Thank Cristina C
Calypso I, Owner at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear customer, Please read the response provided to the immediately previous review with the same title as yours (review by Alessandro D). I am convinced that you are both referring to the same incident so it not really helpful and also rather misguiding to submit...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We've been waiting more than 50 minutes to eat what we've ordered. The wine became hot while waiting and the grilled shrimps were cold (not to mention that the salad was served without oil vinegar and salt). Overall a bad experience. Definatly not the first...More

Thank Alessandro T
Calypso I, Owner at Calypso, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Customer, We are sorry for the disappointing experience that you describe. However, it was on the busiest night of this season with a local festival taking place and dozens of people waiting to be served simultaneously. Under such difficult circumstances, it is only human...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mythos Taverna
65 reviews
.06 km away
Mills
300 reviews
.02 km away
Piccolo Coffee and More
59 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kioni Harbour
146 reviews
.05 km away
Frikes Harbour
65 reviews
2.51 km away
Polis Beach
38 reviews
4.45 km away
Gedaki Beach
107 reviews
7.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Calypso staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Reservations
Good for
Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 2:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Harbourside, Kioni 283 00, Greece
  • Location: Europe  >  Greece  >  Ionian Islands  >  Ithaca  >  Kioni
  • Phone Number: +30 2674 031066
  • E-mail
Description
A restaurant with a great reputation both in Greece and abroad. Our international visitors have spread our name all over Europe and we are mentioned in every tourist guide that involves Ithaca and Kioni. All our dishes are cooked with greek olive oil and the freshest ingredients. Our fish is provided by the local fishermen and our meat comes from the local market to support the local economy.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing