We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

J.B. Dawson's Restaurant

$$ - $$$
American, Bar, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
315 Christiana Mall, Newark, DE 19702-3205
+1 302-369-4000
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 11:00 - 21:30
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 112: English reviews
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love J.B.'s -- if you order something you are not happy with they will take care of it. The staff is very efficient, and I love that the manager stops by your table to make sure your dining experience was great! Food is excellent, and they have wine-down-Wednesdays where wine is half price.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

Brenda D, thanks for the very nice review. So glad to hear that you love JBD's and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Within the Christiana Mall complex JB Dawson has great quality food overall. Ahi Tuna starter and the Prime Rib is just an excellent finish of the day.

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

Michael H, thanks for the very nice review. So glad to hear that you enjoyed everything. You should expect nothing but the same each and every time you walk through our doors. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

The Baja Fish tacos and the Cajun chicken sandwich were wonderful and the staff were very friendly. Prices are reasonable as well. Great food great service!! Definitely and must visit

Helpful?
Thank Dawn F
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dawn F, thanks for the great review! So glad you loved everything. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner More 

Newark, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
244 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Sad to say this place has started down a slope that includes high prices, dried out or greasy food and an impatient bar staff that doesn't understand, "I'll signal you when I know what I want. " In the ,"Price/ Value Equation ," I consider this place a poor value. I won't hurry back. Cheers!

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Pete D, General Manager at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

Robert H, my name is Robert Lautenbacher and I'm the General Manager of this location. I can promise you that we are in no "Downward Spiral" as you have written. It appears that you had a bad experience and I would love to talk to you about this to find out what I need to do to get you back... More 

Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2016

The food at this restaurant was great except for the bread. I had the ribs and chicken the other 2 people in my party 1 had salmon the other had ribs and chicken. We all enjoyed our meals the ribs and chicken the salmon was great. The highlight was the potato!!!!! That baked potato was great!! Smooth,creamy, I haven't had... More 

Helpful?
Thank angiewar
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

angiewar, thanks for the nice review & all I can tell you is that we are definitely addressing the bread. Our old bread company stopped making our bread and we had to move to a local baker and we have been telling them all about the feedback. We are having them bake what appears to be very close to what... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

As I've said before I hate chain restaurants, I think they pretty much lack imagination and are too boring for my taste, but this restaurant surprised me it is one of the better ones....I liked how the bar seating was comfortable for a bigger person such as myself, it had a place to rest your feet which is huge. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

Kevin W, thanks for the very nice review. I can tell you that we aren't the average chain restaurant. We are a locally owned restaurant and our 1st restaurant was opened 20 years ago outside of Reading PA and over the last 20 years we have grown to 5 total restaurants but we are much different than what you are... More 

Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

The atmosphere was very relaxing and upscale, but we were comfortable in our casual clothes after a long day of driving. The host was welcoming and friendly and we had immediate seating. We shared the Salmon Oscar and the huge serving was enough for two. The bread and sides were also delicious! The server was friendly and knowledgeable. I didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank venicemonkey
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

venicemonkey, thanks for the great review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed everything and Shatiece took care of the wine issue. Our Happy Hour is great so you will definitely have to come back for that. We look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner. More 

Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2016

If you're like me, you feel pain in the pit of your stomach and dreadful mental anguish after you've paid $15-20 for kids' meals only to have your kids eat three bites. J.B. Dawson's says, "No More! No more must you pay to linger in the land of limp reheated French Fries and pasty hot dog bun leftovers! We have... More 

Helpful?
Thank fricassee2000
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

fricassee2000, thanks for the very nice review. Glad to hear that you loved the Kid's Eat Free on Sunday's but we don't have a couple of the items that you listed (PB&J or the spaghetti & meatballs but we do have the Mac & Cheese, Grilled Cheese, Cheeseburger in addition to the chicken nuggets and hot dogs which you already... More 

Glen Allen, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Family of 6- two kids- heading on 95. Stopped by for some lunch and had great service and food was very good. Did not have to wait for a table and all 6 of us enjoyed out meals. Fish tacos were very good and wish we had room for dessert but did not. Price was not cheap but kids eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank tmattt
Pete D, Owner at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

tmattt, thanks for the very nice review. So glad to hear you enjoyed everything and that you were able to use the Kid's Eat Free to your advantage. We look forward to serving you again soon. Sincerely, Pete DiCarlo. Director of Operations/Owner. More 

Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

Food was blah, service terrible. We were only asked once if we wanted a drink, in fact we saw ou waitress twice, once to take the order and second to give us the check, the place was only a quarter full too!

Helpful?
Thank lynneK2340DW
Pete D, General Manager at J.B. Dawson's Restaurant, responded to this review

lynneK2340DW, my name is Robert Lautenbacher and I'm the General Manager of this location. I'm so sorry for your recent visit and would love the opportunity to get you back in our doors. We pride ourselves on great food and great service and I hope you can from the reviews, that this isn't the norm with JBD's. If you would... More 

Been to J.B. Dawson's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$30
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:30
Thursday
11:00 - 21:30
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 315 Christiana Mall, Newark, DE 19702-3205
  • Location: United States  >  Delaware (DE)  >  Newark
  • Phone Number: +1 302-369-4000

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of J.B. Dawson's Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from J.B. Dawson's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?