We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Captiva House

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15951 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014 (2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge)
+1 239-472-5161
Website
Today
17:30 - 21:30
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 17:30 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 699: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The food is outstanding! We ate here several times during our week long stay. It is the only place we eat more than once. The blue crab soup was wonderful. The all the seafood was great. The lobster-cargot appetizer was outstanding. The puff pastry was light and flaky and the lobster was tender, tasty and well seasoned.

Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Successful meal again at the Captiva House. Christmas lights on the surrounding trees and a live pianist added to the ambiance. Server was spot on and kept our waters topped up and was prompt with food delivery. Food was delivered hot and the fish was cooked to perfection. Sea bass was excellent and the bisque was pipping hot. Beer and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rubiron
LAURENTBO19, F&B Director at Captiva House, responded to this review

thank you so much for the excellent review of our restaurant, we are glad that you liked the food and the service. we will share your comment with our staff. we hope to see you soon. best regards Laurent More 

Sanibel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My new husband and I ate breakfast every morning at the Captiva House during our stay for our honeymoon. The service was exceptional and I could not believe the variety of tasty fresh fruit every morning. If you order a breakfast, be sure to get the bacon - yum, yum!

Helpful?
Thank Terrie & Jim K
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear Terrie & Jim K, Thank you for your recent review of the Captiva House and thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Tween Waters Inn! We loved hearing that you enjoyed the service and breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you, F&B Management More 

Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our family has enjoyed the Thanksgiving Buffet here many times over the past 30 years, and it is always the consummate feast. Our Open Table reservation got us immediately seated at a lovely table. We were greeted by our server for the evening, and we ordered a bottle of wine from the well-balanced list. Our server was friendly and attentive... More 

Helpful?
Thank dimojam
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear dimojam, Thank you for your recent review of your dining experience with us at the Captiva House. We appreciate you and your family choosing to spend your Thanksgiving with us again! We're glad to hear you enjoyed our new OpenTable option this year, as we only offered call in or in person reservations in the past. OpenTable allows us... More 

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
503 reviews
409 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Drinks can be a bit pricey but they do cater to those who can afford it. Right next to the marina which has large boats for the few who can afford them.

Helpful?
Thank withvalidity
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear withvalidity, Thank you for your recent review of the Captiva House! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your dining experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our great service and location! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you, F&B Management More 

Schaumburg, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had breakfast there 2 consecutive days while staying at the Tween Waters Resort. A continental breakfast (coffee, juice, fruit & dry cereal) was included with the room but I wanted more. A limited menu was available so I ordered from it. My selection of eggs, potato's, bacon and toast was reasonably priced and went well with the other items included... More 

Helpful?
Thank William P
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear William P, Thank you for taking the time to review your breakfast dining experience with us. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our reasonably priced breakfast menu. We apologize for the overcooked bacon and will personally speak with our chef to resolve this issue. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thank you, F&B Management More 

sewickley, pa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We dined here because the restaurant claimed to have a romantic sunset view. It doesn't have that - maybe possibly if you strained your neck. So we were greatly disappointed, but the food was good and the service was great.

Helpful?
Thank vlkm
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear vlkm, Thank you for your recent review of the Captiva House. We apologize if you didn't enjoy our 'tween the waters sunset view. Our sunset lounge is the ideal location to see the sunset, however, we always welcome any guests that wish to walk out front and take pictures. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed our food and... More 

Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the resort there. Tried to eat here for dinner. Had surf and turf it was the worst I had ever had. The lobster was over done then they took it back then it was raw. I told the waitress to don't worry about everyone was done there meal she had them make one anyway and that one came... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear Barbara D, Thank you for your recent review of the Captiva House. We take all of our reviews very seriously as they give us opportunities to better ourselves. We sincerely apologize our surf and turf missed the mark for you that evening. We'll personally speak with our chef and resolve the lobster temperature issue immediately. However, I assure you... More 

Weatherford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016

The pianist was the highlight of the evening. We have eaten there a year ago and it was excellent. The food this time not as good. The portion of sea bass for the price was very small. Coconut rice was mushy. The Caesar salad was fresh and nicely presented. The dessert choice was the same presentation but just different flavor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank catlady471
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear catlady471, Thank you for your recent review of the Captiva House. We apologize that your dining experience this year with us missed the mark. Our sea bass entree is a small plate, which is 4 oz of protein per serving. However, we will personally speak with our Chef and resolve the issue of the "mushy" coconut rice. As for... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2016

My mother is 95 and lives in an "assisted-living facility." They have a dining room that seats about 100 people. Folks trickle in and park their walkers along one wall, some haul oxygen tanks to their tables and most hang a cane over the back of their chair. Then the overpriced, mediocre food arrives and everyone eats what they get... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wes C
TWIFandBManagement, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review

Dear Wes C, Thank you for your recent review of the Captiva House. We take all of our reviews very seriously, as the friendly criticism helps us improve. We apologize that our dining room felt like an "assisted-living facility" to you. We've been working very hard to improve our atmosphere in the past months with a new paint job, art... More 

Travellers who viewed Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$12 - US$42
Cuisine
Seafood, American, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Dining Style
Fine Dining
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 21:30
Monday
17:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15951 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6014
    (2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge)
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  Southwest Gulf Coast  >  Captiva Island
  • Phone Number: +1 239-472-5161
Description
Welcome to the historic, award-winning Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Captiva House and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Davenport
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Captiva House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?