We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Babalu

$$ - $$$
American, Bar
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
9246 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-3132
+1 727-576-7414
Website
Today
10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 21:00
Mon - Wed 10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Thu - Fri 10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 115: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great service, food & price😀 A family neighborhood bar & restaurant! This is just like the neighborhood pub that my parents took me to in Erie, Pennsylvania. Try it, you'll love it!

Helpful?
Thank Tom C
St Petersburg
Level Contributor
146 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I have passed Babalu many times on my way to downtown. I have seen their TV ad a few times, seemed to be an ok place. Decided to give it a try. Pros: The eats were priced reasonable for what you get. The wait staff was friendly. Service was timely. That is where it ends. The table was dirty to... More 

Helpful?
Thank rick m
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have eaten here five times in the last year and each time the food has been good and the staff helpful and friendly. On a recent visit we took friends with us and they liked it as well. One of our friends had the fish sandwich and it was huge and he said it was very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank floridatravellady
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of my favorite restaurants. If I could give you 10 stars I would Love the place nice and clean, food on time always fresh and quick. What I also love there is babalu employees, always smile and always checking on you making sure everything is going ok. I will keep returning as I always do Thank you!... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marko I
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017

Nice local restaurant, I usually get my order to go and my order is always ready during the time-frame given. The staff is friendly and engaging, the prices are reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank shawnjackson33742
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks for being such a fan of ours, Shawn -- we really do love being a part of this wonderful community, and it's wonderful to see that you've always been so pleased with your experiences. That being said, we really do rely on customer feedback more than you may know -- if there's anything we can do to improve, be... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Definitely improved. Clean, fast service, food was hot. Friday Sloppy Joe special is a bargain. New owners. Jo's desserts are awesome.

Helpful?
1 Thank Agwetmore
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks a million for joining us -- it was such a pleasure to have you in! We really are excited about the new chapter ahead of us, and we couldn't be happier to have you be a part of it! Cheers, Babalu Management More 

Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

I had fried chicken (1/2 chicken) with FF, husband had gulf shrimp, friend had honey bbq chicken fingers. Everyone loved their meal. It is not a fancy place and booths have wooden seats. Staff is great and is a good place to stop by for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

Thanks so much for joining us, Lorraine -- it was wonderful to have everyone stop in! We definitely believe that food doesn't have to be fancy to be delicious, and it looks like you agree! Cheers, Babalu Management More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2016

The menu advertises "Jumbo wings". The charge is 6.95 for six "wings". What you get is six PIECES of wings. This is false advertising and a fraud! The better business bureau is getting a copy of this review. I will NEVER do business with these con artists again. Also, when I called to complain to "Eddie-the manager" I was cut... More 

Helpful?
Thank sklinger20
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

It sounds like our jumbo wings weren't quite what you were expecting, and I'm sorry to hear that. It's never our intention to mislead our customers, and we're always happy to explain any of our dishes in more detail. We certainly want our customers to be satisfied with our service, and if that hasn't been the case, then you haven't... More 

Key West, FL
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

I'm going to preface my review by disclosing that I spent over 40 years in the restaurant/hospitality field. Made a trip from Tampa specifically because this place had been recommended, only to find out that they don't have a full menu available on Sunday until 1 PM! (It was 1230PM, btw) Not really happy and wasn't really happy with how... More 

Helpful?
Thank brake4bears
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I appreciate you making a trip to come see us, and I completely understand how this might've been frustrating. While our team is happy to accommodate our guests' requests whenever possible, we do have a small kitchen and have to stick to serving our breakfast menu until 1 PM on Sundays -- I apologize if that wasn't made clear before... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Bland food. Made us all sick later that night. Staff was not very engaging. This place is also over priced. Avoid.

Helpful?
Thank Corey K
Chip P, Owner at Babalu, responded to this review

I’m sorry to hear you weren’t feeling well, Corey. I know that can really put a damper on your night, and I certainly understand your frustration. However, we follow all health and safety codes, and we’re committed to making sure that all of our meals meet the high standards we aim for. Beyond that, our staff should always be friendly... More 

Travellers who viewed Babalu also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Babalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$20
Cuisine
American, Bar
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Delivery
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 09:30
10:30 - 21:00
Thursday
10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Friday
10:30 - 10:00
10:30 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9246 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33702-3132
  • Location: United States  >  Florida (FL)  >  St. Petersburg
  • Phone Number: +1 727-576-7414
Description
Babalu is St. Petersburg's neighborhood tavern offering delicious homemade food and daily specials prepared freshly each day.

We offer an extensive menu of freshly made items. From our delicious burgers to jumbo wings, fresh grouper, hand-breaded shrimp, snow crab, hand cut steaks, homemade meatloaf and more, we've got something for everyone.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Babalu and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Babalu staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?