We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blackwater Grill

260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
+1 912-634-6333
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good26%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“jambalaya” (32 reviews)
“boudin fritters” (27 reviews)
“brunswick stew” (45 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Contemporary, American, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We were told that everything was made fresh and only were allow to eat the buffet but since it was fresh you had to wait to get your food brought to your table. Needless to say, it took forever! We were told there was only...More

Thank curlsgeorgia
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Perhaps it was the meal I ordered, and perhaps they do not "specialize" in the meal I ordered, but that said, I can truthfully say that the chicken dumplings dish served to me was god-awful, tasting as if the chef (cook) had dumped a huge...More

Thank trout1036
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

There is no other place on the island with Cajun food. This is our go to place for that! We ordered the “new” Shrimp and Grits and the Jambalaya. Both were delicious. The service was very good. The atmosphere is unique. And the price was...More

Thank michelewave04
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We ate here on a rainy chilly evening, and it was warming inside and out! We liked the gumbo, and the shrimp and grits. Service was a little confused, the server brought me lukewarm coffee but was quick to correct it when asked. We enjoyed...More

Thank Colleen A
Reviewed 30 November 2017

About 10 years ago, an acquaintance recommended we go to the Blackwater Grill for shrimp and grits and I found they had the best I have ever tasted. We now go out of the way to stop in Brunswick on the way north or south...More

Thank Drogjo
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We have dined here before with great results. This visit was disappointing. We ordered three different choices that were unavailable. One was the catch of the day. How can you run out of the catch of the day?? It was a week night and they...More

Thank CollinsRome
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

I do apologize about your experience. The Chef/Owner orders our fresh seafood daily and he orders a limited amount so that it will not go to waste. So I apologize for the inconvenience.

Reviewed 25 November 2017

My mate and I drove all the way down to Saint Simons Island (i.e., 100 miles) for a few days around Thanksgiving. We stayed at the Grey Owl Inn, which rates at least five dots, and decided to have a non-traditional, non-turkey, Thanksgiving lunch/dinner. We...More

Thank AlPhD
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for dining with us on Thanksgiving!! We had a selected menu due to the fact that it was Thanksgiving. I do apologize about the mix up, but we tried to let all of our customers know before hand that it was limited this...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017

I paid $34 for a piece of overcooked fish, wilted salad and greasy brussel sprouts. When I told the waitress that the salad tasted bitter and witty, she argued with me. I was floored when I received the bill. I travel to SSI frequently for...More

Thank elizabethw648
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

I apologize for this inconvenience. We do not tolerate our waitresses arguing with our customers at all. I will love for you to give us the name of your waitress, so we can fix this problem so it will not never happen in the future....More

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We love Cajun food and this is the place to enjoy it. The setting is off beat and has a lot of charm with it’s eclectic decor. The staff members are wonderful! The prices are right considering what they offer. We definitely have this place...More

Thank michelewave04
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you very much. We really appreciate you coming out please come back and visit us soon!!

Reviewed 25 October 2017

We sat at the bar and bartender disappeared for a while. He finally came back, was not very friendly. We were going to eat dinner there, but decided to get an appetizer instead. Got the gumbo and stew and it was not good. Glad we...More

Thank seasidegirl603
JONIKA B, Manager at Blackwater Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

I do apologize for this inconvenience. Our bartender is usually very friendly, but i will have a staff meeting regarding this incident. I hope that you do come back and try our dishes because they are really delicious and fresh.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Saint Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
679 reviews
.23 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
174 reviews
.85 km away
Best Western Plus St. Simons
164 reviews
1.01 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Simon's Island
73 reviews
1.06 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Southern Soul Barbeque
2,151 reviews
.37 km away
Tara Thai & Sushi
165 reviews
.20 km away
Fuse, Fresh Frozen Yogurt
122 reviews
.21 km away
Wake Up Coffee
107 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bloody Marsh
90 reviews
.56 km away
Weber's Growler Factory
12 reviews
.18 km away
Get Your Muse On!
5 reviews
1.49 km away
Kids Fishing Billy Bee Charters
185 reviews
.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Blackwater Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 260 Redfern Vlg, Saint Simons Island, GA 31522-2501
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Golden Isles of Georgia  >  Saint Simons Island
  • Phone Number: +1 912-634-6333
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;