We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Crab Shack

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
40 Estill Hammock Rd, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
+1 912-786-9857
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:30 - 22:00
Fri - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

3,942 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 3,913: English reviews
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The food was tasty and plentiful. Price was moderate as expected for the Tybee Island area. The tables are definitely set up for peel and eat. Great concept! Our server Elaina was outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank Nolan B
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our Captain Crab's seafood sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance and the service you received- we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Elaina. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I wanted to like this restaurant because it was recommended to me by a family member and the ambience seemed to fit the Tybee Island experience. However, all our food and drinks were served on styrofoam. It's 2016, who uses styrofoam? So wasteful! And, we had to throw away our own dishes in a trash can put in the middle... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer E
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your overall experience with us. Please do always ask for a manager if ever there is any aspect of your visit that does not meet your expectations, as we never wish for a customer to leave dissatisfied. Our Gator Lagoon is maintained daily, and the welfare of our alligators... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I had read about this place online before visiting the area. Managed to tie it in with a dolphin watching trip at Captain Mike's and then lunch here. Most of the tables overlooking the water had gone by the time we arrived and we were seated over the far side but asked to move as it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SarahJGabriel
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our Captain Crab's seafood sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance, our views of Chimney Creek, our interactive Gator Lagoon, and rescued kitties. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

MAX WAS AN AWESOME SERVER! He went over and beyond to make sure we enjoyed ourselves! Definitely will be back! 👌🏼👌🏼👌🏼(he needs a raise)

Helpful?
Thank Ashley E
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our unique ambiance, as well as the service you received- we will be sure to pass your compliments on to Max. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Santee, South Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The crab stew is excellent and the deviled crab platter was very good with plenty of crab meat. Very casual dining experience and would highly recommend over some of the more pricey restaurants in Savannah. Like we say on the coast: "the less frills in seafood dining, the better the food". Definitely recommend this place. Another benefit is it's tucked... More 

Helpful?
Thank scdiner5663
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our homemade Georgia blue crab stew and deviled crabs, as well as our unique ambiance. We are sorry to hear that you felt rushed when you dined with us, as we always wish for our customers to feel relaxed and take as much time as... More 

Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Every time I have friends in town this is the one place we go. And after I take them the first time they always request to go back. Defeatist sensational the atmosphere is delightful the service is splendid. It's always a fun time and a memory maker

Helpful?
Thank Christa R
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are happy to hear that you always think of The Original Crab Shack when you are entertaining out of town guests! We're glad that you enjoyed our unique ambiance and the service you received. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Tuggerah, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The location was great and the place was very busy with people , the service was good we found it took awhile for our drinks and meal. But like I said it was busy . When the meal arrived the size of the meal was very much to csiro sizing portion size , but for the price didn't match. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julian2259
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed the service you received and our unique ambiance, but we are terribly sorry to hear that you did not find your portions to be ample. Please do always ask for a manager if ever there is any aspect of your visit that does not meet... More 

Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is so another classis Tybee joint. Very unique setting that is all Tybee. Rustice with tons of character. Kids love the alligators. Can't beat a seafood place with trash can in the middle of your table. Had the sample and it was plenty of seafood, couldn't eat all of the sausage. Excellent service. One of us asked about... More 

Helpful?
Thank SEABOARDHOTELS
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed Captain Crab's seafood sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance, our interactive Gator Lagoon, and the service you received. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We got the Shack Specialty, a big platter of shellfish, potatoes, corn. Loved everything, except the corn. Don't be shy, just wade in and start cracking crustaceans. Messy but delicious.

Helpful?
Thank footloosefogey
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our Captain Crab's seafood sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We always seek out good local restaurants when we travel and this was a good choice. The weather was a bit chilly, but the sun was out, we were hungry for seafood and we were on vacation! We had a couple of beers and the "boil for 2 platter" - it was excellent! Will definitely go back one day!

Helpful?
Thank Britsmom
thecrabshack, Guest Relations Manager at The Crab Shack, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're glad that you enjoyed our Captain Crab's seafood sampler platter, as well as our unique ambiance. We appreciate you recommending us to others, and we look forward to your next visit! More 

Travellers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Cuisine
Bar, American, Seafood, Soups, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Monday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 23:00
Saturday
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40 Estill Hammock Rd, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Tybee Island
  • Phone Number: +1 912-786-9857
Description
The Crab Shack isn't just a restaurant, it's a destination! We seat more than 700 guests and offer both indoor and outdoor dining options. Both dining rooms and our outdoor dining deck offer picturesque views of Chimney Creek. Both the young and young-at-heart will enjoy our interactive, educational "Gator Lagoon" which is home to 78 baby alligators; our aviary which is home to more than a dozen rescued exotic birds, and our "Gift Shack". The Crab Shack offers traditional Low Country fare, including fresh streamed and boiled seafood and slow-cooked BBQ. We also have a kid's menu available with burgers, hot dogs, and pizza. The Crab Shack is and always has been a family owned business, and recently began shipping our entrees in ready-to-be-cooked kits through LoCo To Go. Stop by and experience all we have to offer for yourself!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Crab Shack and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question
Houston, United States
6 months ago
Rincon, Georgia
2 months ago
Atlanta, Georgia
5 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Crab Shack staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?