We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sharrow Bay

Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2LZ, England
+44 17684 86301
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good12%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2LZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Could be viewed as expensive but given its quality, level of service & the ambiance also the fact that it was a milestone birthday very much worth it

Thank clampitsontour2016
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Clampitsontour2016, thank you for your very positive comments, I'm happy to hear we helped you celebrate your special occasion, and hope we see you at Sharrow Bay again soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm always 'delighted' to see the replies that the management come up with after you write a review of their premises..it's usually bordering on the rude, condescending or implying that you are a liar...never a good idea, I think, to insult the people who pay...More

2  Thank Paul S
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Great food. served well by delightful staff. One would probably not want to eat there every night as they provide a set menu which is probably too much after two nights of enjoyment

Thank Andrew B
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Andrew B, thank you for your positive comments - I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and will pass your comments on to our team. I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

We have stayed and eaten at the Sharrow Bay several times in the past and was looking forward to taking our children for afternoon tea one day and then dinner later in the week. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to its past. It has a...More

3  Thank Kevin N
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Kevin N, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to us. Sadly you did not leave any feedback at the time of your visit, and your comments are quite vague, so I have very little constructive feedback to work with,...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We ate dinner at the sharrow bay twice during our stay , both meals were excellent . There is a choice of two set menus with a number of choices on each menu . The service is formal . The dining area is like a...More

1  Thank JRP-Bkk
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear JRP-Bkk, thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us, I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 4 July 2017

Had lunch here recently. Very smart with very good food. The dining room is lovely with very fine views over Ullswater. There are fixed price menus and we had the one celebrating the food history of the Sharrow Bay. The food was beautifully prepared and...More

1  Thank Iain1949
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Iain1949, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch with us, thank you for your kind comments. I hope we can welcome you back to Sharrow Bay soon. Kind regards, Oliver.

Reviewed 27 June 2017

The food and service were excellent, however it's unacceptable to both customers and staff to expect reception staff to handle phone calls for reservations and general enquiries while also processing payments from restaurant customers. Absolutely ridiculous. I waited a good 10 minutes, as did another...More

Thank Ranipuss
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Ranipuss, I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to us. It would have been exceptional that both our receptionists were so lengthily involved with other guests, but I do apologise for the inconvenience caused to yourself. Thank you for your feedback, it...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017

We went there for a family girls treat tea having convinced the Dads to look after our little ones for the afternoon. I had been warned about the snooty staff, but they really did look you up and down. I guess it's part of the...More

5  Thank londongirlupnorth
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear londongirlupnorth, firstly, I apologise about the guest in the flower, if you had drawn this to our attention at the time we would have made absolute amends, no hesitation and with heartfelt apologies. However, with regard to the rest of your extensive, detailed, and...More

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

I got a voucher for afternoon tea and was really looking forward to it as I had visited a few years ago. My husband and I were seated in a lovely position overlooking the lake. I notice from other reviews some guests were offered various...More

Thank Lorna F
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear welcome to Tripadvisor with your very first review. I am sorry you were disappointed with your Afternoon Tea, and particularly note that the concerns I addressed so positively in a previous review, have now been so efficiently contradicted by yourself. Your description of our...More

Reviewed 5 June 2017

My daughter bought me an afternoon tea voucher for Christmas. We were quite dissappointed and did expect more. Don't know what type of tea they were using but it tasted of nothing. The food was very nice although there was not two of everything so...More

Thank tamosaitise
Oliver S, Manager at Sharrow Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Dear Tamosaitise, I am disappointed you did not enjoy your Afternoon Tea. Our Tea is supplied by an excellent local supplier, who has been trading since Tea first came to be fashionable as an exclusive luxury commodity a few hundred years ago, we trust their...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
1863 Bar Bistro (Restaurant)
180 reviews
3.04 km away
The Horse and Farrier Inn
153 reviews
4.68 km away
The Royal Hotel Restaurant
134 reviews
6.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Distant Horizons UK
33 reviews
1.40 km away
Hallin Fell
66 reviews
3.19 km away
Aira Force
1,493 reviews
5.82 km away
Askham Hall Gardens and Cafe
143 reviews
6.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sharrow Bay staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar
Good for
View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Sharrow Bay Sharrow BAY, Howtown CA10 2LZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Howtown
  • Phone Number: +44 17684 86301
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing