We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hagen's

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432
+1 812-936-5550
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 308: English reviews
Cottontown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

had a late lunch there today after it being recommended by our casino host, great service, had a window seat looking over acres and acres of gold course, very pretty, our server was very friendly, our food was cooked to the exact temperature choice, just an overall great expierence..................

Helpful?
Thank timothyt159
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Greetings timothyt159 -- Thank you for your kind review and rating. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the view and the food and, especially, that the service and food met your expectations. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you. More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came highly recommended in TripAdvisor and did not disappoint! I ate here with a very large group. Service was spectacular, facility was immaculate, food was wonderful and the view, nothing short of breathtaking!

Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day Elaine P -- Wow! Thank you for the kind words and rating. We are glad to read that so much of your experience exceeded your expectations, especially the service and cleanliness. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you soon! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Ended up here for the first time because every other place we tried was full. Service was very good in spite of the crowd. Servings are ample and food is good.

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day Bonnie M -- Thank you for your kind words and rating. We are glad to read that you experienced good service in spite of our busy week. We are also glad to see that you enjoyed your food and we look forward to another opportunity to serve you! More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
260 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Wife and I came here for a late weekend visit to the resort, and one of our favorite places is Hagen's. So on a Saturday night we came to have dinner. I love the fish and chips and it's generally pretty sufficient for two. But tonight, it was a little off. And we know this place has better food than... More 

Helpful?
Thank showstang
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day showstang -- Thank you for your continued kind words and rating. We are glad to read that Hagen's is your "go-to" place to eat when in French Lick and that you enjoyed the food and watching golf, especially this time of year. We look forward to the next opportunity to serve you! More 

Whiteland, IN
Level Contributor
221 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Service was excellent and the food was pretty good. It was early in the season so maybe that is why there was a limited menu. They also add a service charge onto your bill.

Helpful?
Thank missqueenie
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day missqueenie -- Thank you for your kind review and rating. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the food and our team's service. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again! More 

Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Had dinner there and we really enjoyed it. Definitely recommend! Watch out for the "service charge" on your bill. It's there to offset a raise the food servers got recently. They will tell you it's ok to still tip, which we did because the waitress was outstanding.

Helpful?
Thank irshmgc
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Greetings irshmgc -- Thank you for your kind words and rating. We are glad to read that the your dinner and the service met your expectations. We also thank you for your understanding of our service charge and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again! More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service. We always eat here when we are visiting! The ribs are absolutely delicious!

Helpful?
Thank Arin C
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day Arin C -- Thank you for your kind words and rating. We are glad to read that you enjoy the food and we appreciate your continued business. We look forward to serving you again when you return! More 

Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2016

26 women showed up for lunch, with a reservation, and they were ready for us! The service was great and the food was delicious. Many different meals were ordered and they were all wonderful. The bar was beautiful and the view was spectacular even in the winter.

Helpful?
Thank sharenmoseman
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day sharenmoseman -- Thank you for your kind words and rating. We are glad to read that your party's expectations were met with the food you ordered and the service you received. We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again! More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Ordered the Rib Eye and the Pork Chop dinners The Rib Eye was the best I've this year anywhere cooked to perfect medium taste almost cut it with my fork. My wife's Pork chop dinner was excellent and our waitress was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Dale D
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day Dale D -- Happy anniversary! Thank you for the kind words and rating. We are glad to read that the food met your expectations and the service was very good. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again! More 

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stopped in just for lunch .The BBQ had been recommended, but actually was not that good. My wife had the fish and chips and that was excellent. Service was very good. The view of the golf course was great. Would eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank dodojoe
FLResort, Guest Relations Manager at Hagen's, responded to this review

Good day dodojoe -- Thank you for your kind review and rating. We are sorry to read that the barbeque did not live up to your expectations but we're happy that the rest of your experience did. We look forward to serving you the next time you eat here! More 

Travellers who viewed Hagen's also viewed

 

Been to Hagen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$50
Cuisine
American, Bar, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8670 W State Road 56, French Lick, IN 47432
  • Location: United States  >  Indiana (IN)  >  French Lick
  • Phone Number: +1 812-936-5550
Description
Hagen's is clubhouse dining with a panoramic view of our Donald Ross Course. The restaurant is named for legendary golfer Walter Hagen who won the 1924 PGA Championship at the golf course. The menu features soups and salads to steaks and seafood. Guests can also sit at the expansive bar where gangster Al Capone was believed to have carved a message. Just don't sit in the wrong seat!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Hagen's and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
indiana
10 months ago
Anderson, Indiana
Fort Wayne, Indiana
11 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hagen's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?