We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bell at Sapperton

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Sapperrton | Cirencester, Sapperton GL7 6LE, England
+44 1285 760298
11:30 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 11:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

564 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 562: English reviews
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just had the most amazing experience at the Bell. After a mix up with our booking that turned out to be my fault, the staff were so kind and helpful to find us a table on a busy Saturday night. My parents shared the chicken platter, which was the best chicken dish they had ever tasted. My vegetarian... More 

Thank 493joanne
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

OH MY WORD!! Thank you Joanne and for your lovely email that night - apologising that you mistook us for another Bell (I will remain discreet on that one) when you turned up. We were so worried that we had let you down and had double booked you, but our Resdiary system rarely gets it wrong. Anyhow, having squeezed you... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Good wholesome food starting with an all time fav of a jug of prawns with mayo. Shame the crab was off the menu but plaice was very good and husband was so impressed with the liver that we will return just to have this again. Such a lovely venue - think it can get busy and noisy but early Friday... More 

Thank amandaBuffy66
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Thank you Amanda - kind words indeed. The fires are still going, as are the pints of shell-on prawns - come back and get them while you can! BTW - we have a new chef starting this week who is one of the best with fish we've ever had. He can 'Russell' up a mean calves liver and bacon with... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by here for a late lunch and sat by the fire. The pub is quaint with stone walls and oak beams. The food was very good and beautifully presented. My partner had the pork belly and I had the lentil risotto. The service was impeccable. In addition to this, the dog was also made to feel welcome. Can't fault... More 

Thank Murphysdi
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Thank you Murphysdi. That's exactly what we hope our customers will enjoy. Please make yourself known next time you visit and thanks for the great photos! See you soon. More 

Tetbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

What a warm, and welcoming place. First visit for a Sunday lunch and will definitely be returning. Superb food and very attentive staff. Highly recommend.

Thank _rachelk1979
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

_rachelk1979 many thanks for your really kind review. Please make sure to visit again soon, especially with Spring on its way! Although you don't have to make it a Sunday, we might even give you an extra Yorkshire pud for giving us 5 stars next time! More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a drink here with friends on a Friday afternoon we were the only customers, except for a crowd of youngsters who were slumped around the fire.. real ale was ok but not its best, maybe they had not served many pints that day. A very cosy pub but very expensive. The wine was first class, but again very... More 

Thank peter100355
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Hi Peter, thanks for visiting us. Glad you found us cosy but really sorry you found us a little expensive. As for the feedback, many thanks and we promise to up our game and hope we can be more your 'cup of tea' next time. Don't be a stranger and remember that we do have a happy hour on drinks... More 

Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My overall impression is that it's a bit pretentious. It may be me but I don't like my food served on bits of wood and I'm not sure about the hygiene aspect of if. The service was good but not all of the staff were very welcoming but nothing really to complain about. The food was a bit Nouveau cuisine... More 

Thank John B
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Oh John, what can we say?! First of all, thanks for coming and thanks again for reviewing - any feedback is useful. We really hope to be anything other than pretentious. Don't worry, the wooden boards are constantly and thoroughly washed at a very high temperature, as are all of our staff team..without exception. We pride ourselves on our welcome,... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was on my bucket list of pubs in The Cotswolds I must visit. We didn't book just arrived and given a free table. It was busy, most tables were taken. Menus handed out and drinks order taken. I board listing several gins was on display - sadly no Cotswold gin. We ordered 2 different types of 'nibble' rather than... More 

Thank Fivestarsalltheway
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Hi Fivestarsalltheway, Thanks for visiting us and we're honoured to have been on your 'bucket list' of pubs to visit. Glad you managed to get a table. We do have plenty of Cotswold Gin by the way, really sorry that wasn't evident, will sort out asap - because it's LOVELY, isn't it?! Anhow, back to your meal..really glad you found... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great pub, delicious food and horse friendly! A super ride through from Cirencester through Cirencester park.

Thank 49kat
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Thanks Katya, was great to see you, your friends and horses. Glad you made good use of the Horse Parking! Thanks for the lovely pics - we'll see if we can get a few horse rides and routes together on our website so that more riders can stop off. There are so many beautiful bridleways and footpaths around here for... More 

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been to this gastro pub quite a few times before. Took family there on a Saturday evening. The "crispy" calamari was rubbery with the brown coating peeling off - both men of our party asked fo the dish to be replaced - but not much improved. Disappointing. My fish pie was well cooked and lots of it. My OH had... More 

Thank janasonia2015
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Hi janasonia2015, Firstly, thanks ever so much for the review. Really glad your fish pie was a success. Good, isn't it?! Now for the rest of your review... - Chef was in, yes! - Calamari wasn't crispy enough. Not our best, sorry. Would have knocked it off your bill, sorry if we didn't? - Pork, gravy, carrots - oops, sorry.... More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been to this pub many times and it's always been good, enough for all of us to recommend to many friends however today we have sadly had such a negative experience I doubt we will never go back and will certainly never recommend again! To start with the waitress got our order wrong, which is fine but she... More 

Thank RachelSara123
Chris W, Owner at The Bell at Sapperton, responded to this review

Hi RachelSara123, Thank you for your review. All feedback is gratefully received, so please take this in the best possible way. Firstly, we loved having all five of you and your family in the other day and thank you ever so much for visiting us on this occasion and many times in the past. Peter my business partner met you... More 

Travellers who viewed The Bell at Sapperton also viewed

Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds
Cirencester, Cotswolds

Been to The Bell at Sapperton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$8 - US$50
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 - 21:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
11:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Sapperrton | Cirencester, Sapperton GL7 6LE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cotswolds  >  Sapperton
  • Phone Number: +44 1285 760298

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bell at Sapperton staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?