We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Pheasant

905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
+1 508-385-2133
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good19%
  • Average7%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (38 reviews)
“sole meuniere” (14 reviews)
“french tart” (12 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, International, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This was definitely a hidden gem! My husband and I were having difficulty finding a place in town that was not booked. We took a drive to Dennis and stumbled upon this restaurant. It was fantastic! Everyone was so nice despite the fact that we...More

Thank Jessica H
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Tried this restaurant for Cape restaurant week. My boyfriend had the chowder which was filled with clams but the broth was lacking flavor. I had the beef and mushroom strudel which really was extraordinary and I was hoping that it would set the tone for...More

2  Thank chrisfromthecape
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

The Red Pheasant has always been a favorite of ours. Tonight I sat at the bar and the evening did not disappoint. I had the baked Oyster special appetizer and for dinner the Pan Seared Day Boat Scallops... both were delicious. As always the service...More

Thank Ebysea
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

thank you so much for taking a moment to tell us you enjoyed everything, we really appreciate it!

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We love to eat here because the food is always nicely prepared and of top quality. If you don't have reservations in the summer you most likely will not get a table. The hostess sometimes makes you feel like she's doing you a favor. This...More

Thank jankoza
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Wow, I am very sorry you have felt we are "starchy." I am usually the Hostess and though I do have part time help when I can't be here, I accept the blame. We aim to make you feel comfortable, we offer fine dining but...More

Reviewed 4 April 2017

The Red Pheasant is a stones throw from 6A in tony Dennis Massachusetts It can be easy to miss for the distractingly beutiful old money new england homes and landscapes. Both the exterior and the interio are reminiscent of a Currier and Ives print. The...More

2  Thank Wes S
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Wow, thank you so much! It is so wonderful to have someone paying attention to all the details we think about every day. And I think you may know our wine list better than we do! We loved reading your review and the time you...More

Reviewed 2 March 2017

All five meals were excellent as witnesed by empty plates at meal's end. The food was as outstnding as the service. Seated promptly with awesome ambiance. Make this the place to go for any occasion.

Thank grumpabear
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

So glad you had a special evening with us for your friends anniversary. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 26 February 2017

We were seated next to the fireplace which was the best table in the dining room. Our drinks were pretty and strong, just the way we like them. We had the french tart appetizer. The dough was flaky and the ham and cheese filling was...More

Thank Karen809
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

So glad you enjoyed a nice evening here on a chilly winter night, come see us when the garden blooms!

Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Have gone numerous times and the food is exceptional, whether it's fish, meat or pork. Nice older building with great fireplace and attentive professional staff. Owners on site and attuned to needs of patrons.

Thank 37brendang
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you had another nice evening!

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

We dined at The Red Pheasant on a Tuesday night. It was very quiet since it is off-season. Our two friends had the duck and said it was outstanding. My husband truly enjoyed his pork tenderloin as I did the rack of lamb. We all...More

Thank Laurel P
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

We are so glad you had a lovely evening on a cold damp January night! thank you for being here!

Reviewed 11 January 2017

For the second consecutive year, my wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Red Pheasant. And once again, they delivered big time! We try to eat out once a week, travelling all over the Cape and occasionally North to Boston. In the last year,...More

Thank WingerTheSpringer
Denise A, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Thank you for spending another anniversary with us at The Red Pheasant and thank you for sharing with everyone how much you enjoyed it, we appreciate you taking the time!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Scargo Cafe
719 reviews
.46 km away
Fin Seafood
232 reviews
.44 km away
Ice Cream Smuggler
203 reviews
.70 km away
Nearby Attractions
Scargo Tower
189 reviews
.72 km away
Corporation Beach
131 reviews
1.04 km away
Cape Cod Museum of Art
65 reviews
.63 km away
Scargo Stoneware Pottery & Art Gallery
30 reviews
.85 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
annabelle5478
Are you hiring Servers/Hostest? I used to work at "Restaurant Daniel" in NY. I come to the cape in the summer, work and then leave at the end of September. Last year i worked at Captian Linnel House in Orleans.
24 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Laurel P | Reviewed this property |
I was a guest, not the owner . I also suggest that you phone them.
0
Votes
Laurel P
Is it open 7 days a week?
16 January 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Denise A | Property representative |
We are closed on Mondays and the month of March
1
Vote
Akshay D
Would like to make reservation for party of 4 tonite. Please call me 617 633 1244. Thank you Akshay Dalal
15 August 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from TheAkumalian | Reviewed this property |
The restaurant's phone number is 508.385.2133 and they have an on-line reservation system with URESERV. TRY AGAIN TOMRROW.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$32
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:30
Thursday
17:00 - 21:30
Friday
17:00 - 21:30
Saturday
17:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 905 Main St, Dennis, MA 02638-1419
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Dennis
  • Phone Number: +1 508-385-2133
  • E-mail
Description
Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape Cod. Fresh flavors and local ingredients are our hallmarks.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing