We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shroppie Fly

) #6 of 7 Restaurants in Audlem $$ - $$$ , British,
Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
+44 1270 812379
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good18%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible25%
Travellers talk about
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We took our Mother-in-Law to The Shroppie Fly on Monday 14th August for her 80th birthday lunch. When we arrived (party of five) we were greeted by Joanne and Leah (hope this is spelt right) and from that moment on we were treated superbly! Both...More

Thank Trevor G
Reviewed 2 days ago

We met up with friends for lunch. The staff were very friendly and effiecient. There was a choice of 3 courses for £10.95, a specials board or order from the main menu. The food was excellent and served promptly.

Thank Jayne C
Reviewed 2 days ago

My friend and I visited Audlem today and had lunch at the Shroppie Fly. We were met by a very friendly waitress and left to choose where to sit, we chose indoors by a window overlooking the canal. I had scampie and my friend, spag...More

Thank Jennifer T
Reviewed 1 week ago

I picked up from overheard conversations that the Landlady was a temp. Well if I owned the Shroppie fly I would hang on to her. The food was lovely and the beer excellent. After we had eaten we enjoyed some traditional live folk music, played...More

1  Thank David3H
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear David3H Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I'll be sure to pass your kind comments over to Debbie the manager and we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thanks again

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived and we're pleased we could take the dog in,we ordered food and drinks the food took an age to come the children had free ice cream with theirs we waited so long for the table to be cleared my daughter went and asked...More

2  Thank Lesleygnantwich
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Lesleygnantwich Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at the Shroppie Fly, I’m sorry that you didn’t leave feeling entirely satisfied. You have noted in your review that the “food to an age to come” having discussed your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unfortunately today as we arrived it started pouring down which took away a lot of the attraction of this pub. That said although we only had snacks today and had to eat inside it was still good value and the service was prompt and friendly....More

Thank ed w
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ed w Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, i'll be sure to pass your kind comments over to the team. Yes the joys of British Summer time!! Fingers crossed on your next visit you will be lucky enough for the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped for lunch as on canal boat, beautiful lunch, I had chicken madras, gorgeous curry, lots of fresh peppers and chicken, couldn't fault it. Staff lovely, well worth a visit.

1  Thank Pauline W
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks Pauline W for the wonderful review i'll be sure to let the chefs know how much you enjoyed the curry we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 28 June 2017

We had the three course meal for £10.95. Excellent value. I had tempura prawns, very tasty, then fish and chips, piping hot and well cooked, followed by two scoops of my favourite Cheshire farm ice cream. Another of our group had the sticky toffee pudding...More

1  Thank Doreen P
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Thank you Doreen P for this wonderful review, i'm so pleased you and your party enjoyed the food and the service so much we certainly look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We visited tonight whilst moored on canals. Was a bit hesitant due to reviews on here. But found totally the opposite. We had steak and ale pie and when asking for ample gravy received a large gravy boat of delicious gravy. The service was with...More

3  Thank Karen M
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear Karen M thank you so much for this wonderful review, I'm sorry to hear you were to full up for pudding perhaps when you visit again you'll get to try one, the crumble is one of my favourites!!! We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 10 June 2017

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, but the place was quite empty so there was absolutely no atmosphere. Possibly due to the weather! Our meals were ok., typical pub grub but nothing special. I don't think we shall be eating there again although drinks...More

Thank Patsy10red
Sarah Y, Guest Relations Manager at The Shroppie Fly, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Patsy10red, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your review and thank you for your kind comments about the welcoming manner of the team. Unfortunately, with the torrential rain that day it was a little quieter than usual. I'm disappointed to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lord Combermere
128 reviews
.05 km away
The Old Priest House Coffee Shop
38 reviews
.10 km away
Bridge Inn
81 reviews
.03 km away
The Deli
11 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Audlem Lass Boat Service
19 reviews
.67 km away
Oxtail & Trotter
8 reviews
.17 km away
St. James the Great Church
7 reviews
.21 km away
Audlem Mill
7 reviews
.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lizbb55
19 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from ShroppieManager | Property representative |
Hi Liz. Thanks for your enquiry. On March 6th there is a new owner coming in to The Shroppie Fly. Regrettably until that time our kitchen will remain closed but please keep checking the local press and website after that... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$19
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, View, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Audlem Wharf Shropshire Street, Audlem CW3 0DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Audlem
  • Phone Number: +44 1270 812379
  • E-mail
Description
Traditional busy water front restaurant/ pub. Reasonable prices for food and drink. Beautiful canal side with outdoor seating. Friendly helpful staff. Events throughout the summer months. Live music every Saturday nights. All round great experience.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing