We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Botanist Restaurant & Bar

Western Ave. | Keavil House Hotel, Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NN, Scotland
+44 1383 736258
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good23%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible0%
2 weeks ago
“Dinner in Crossford”
27 Mar 2018
“Very good, with reservations...”
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
British
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Western Ave. | Keavil House Hotel, Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NN, Scotland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Having eaten here several times in the past & had nice food / service, my wife & I took an older relative here for a meal. The starters were OK 2 X pate & one pea soup, then came the mains. The Caesar salad with...More

Thank Clive P
Angela E, Public Relations Manager at Botanist Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Clive P, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am so very disappointed that you didn’t have a faultless experience at lunch recently and please would you accept my most sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. I will certainly...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have night state with group and eat dinner. They served food only from 18 till 21 and no choise from all meniu. It was only several choises - 3 starters ( one soup and two salats), free main dishes (meat, pasta and fish) and...More

Thank Silvija M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant in June and whilst the food was well prepared I have to say the portion sizes offered were poor. I had lamb which was well cooked but 2 slices of rump, 1 small croquet potato on a vegetable puree does not...More

Thank Brigham
Russell I, General Manager at Botanist Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Brigham Thank you for your visit to our Botantist Restaurant and I'm pleased that you enjoyed our food. I am sorry however that you thought our portion sizes were small. I will review all our portion sizes immediately to ensure that we offer excellent...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were friendly and the food was good but the portion sizes were very small and expensive for what was on the plate. I wont be back, there are plenty alternatives offering better value.More

Thank m0ira04
Russell I, General Manager at Botanist Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear m0ira04 Thank you for your visit to our Botantist Restaurant and I'm pleased that you enjoyed our food, served by our friendly staff. I am sorry however that you thought our portion sizes were small. This is not an issue that we are receiving...More

Reviewed 17 May 2018

Was there today for lunch , although first course was okay, the main course was very poor, steak pie meat was a bit tough no real flavour also the gravy was very watery, the beer battered fish was under cooked , batter was very soggy....More

1  Thank AGNESdunfermlin... V
Angela E, Public Relations Manager at Botanist Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear AGNESdunfermlin... V Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your lunch experience yesterday. I am so very sorry that we didn’t exceed your expectations and your feedback is very much appreciated. I will certainly discuss your comments about the steak...More

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed on a 2 night bb and dinner on 1st night through my hotel break . Dinner and breakfast bought great and all staff lovely.

Thank audbod48
Angela E, Public Relations Manager at Botanist Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Dear audbod48, Thank you for your review of our Botanist Restaurant, we are delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and we hope that you might come back at us at some point in the future. Regards Alistair Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 14 May 2018

What a great place to have breakfast, Etienne and his breakfast team are ace :-) Even down to making fresh fried eggs turned over so that the yolk was cooked but not hard, what can you say to that :-) As always the Staff at...More

Thank Katrina C
Angela E, Public Relations Manager at Botanist Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Dear Katrina C Thank you for your review of our Botanist Restaurant. We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience with us and thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel and my team. We look forward to welcoming you back at some...More

Reviewed 18 April 2018

Pleasant atmosphere with nice outlook to the gardens. Good service and varied choice on menu. Food we had was great quality and beautifully cooked. Recommended for anyone looking to enjoy dining at a reasonable price.

Thank George J
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I had a fantastic buffet breakfast the morning after my daughters wedding. The choice and range of food was brilliant,the staff and service was impeccable,you were aloud to go back and forth to enjoy whatever you wanted. This hotel and restaurant is definitely one that...More

Thank AlexDunfermline
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Have eaten here a number of times with stays in the hotel itself... The food is of a high standard, but it is a fixed menu and is not cheap, though to be fair the price is not too high either.... the chef caters for...More

Thank Len H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Crossford Hotels
Best Western Plus Keavil House Hotel
1,159 reviews
.06 km away
The Adamson Hotel
256 reviews
.63 km away
Davaar House Hotel and Restaurant
170 reviews
2.38 km away
Rooms at 29 Bruce Street
195 reviews
2.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Original Masterchef Crossford
18 reviews
.60 km away
Cardoon Restaurant
45 reviews
.06 km away
Kfc
63 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby Attractions
Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum
274 reviews
2.64 km away
The Harbours of Limekilns
15 reviews
2.85 km away
Pittencrieff Park
588 reviews
2.36 km away
Dunfermline Abbey and Palace
499 reviews
2.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Botanist Restaurant & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Waitstaff, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Western Ave. | Keavil House Hotel, Crossford, Dunfermline KY12 8NN, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Fife  >  Dunfermline  >  Crossford
  • Phone Number: +44 1383 736258
  • E-mail
Description
Our stylish Botanist restaurant with its outside dining terrace overlooks our garden. Our menus feature great value fixed price lunch and early evening dining. We offer both classic favourites and more creative dishes and of course succulent Sunday roasts. For that extra indulgence, our luxurious Afternoon Tea or our new delicious Cream Tea will hit the spot
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing