We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waterhouse

18 Depot Square, Peterborough, NH 03458-1455
+1 603-924-4001
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good26%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (10 reviews)
“calamari” (7 reviews)
All hours
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
18 Depot Square, Peterborough, NH 03458-1455
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, modern, nice view of the creek. The food and drinks are very good whether you want a small salad or a full entree. They source a lot of their ingredients from local farms when available and have a on site bakery for their breads...More

Thank carly03049
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to the Waterhouse today because I had seen it advertised on the "onlyinyourstate" site. We were seated outside next to the river. The hostess and waitress were very friendly and nice. I had the seafood chowder. It was great and wasn't too creamy, kind...More

Thank Joan D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had a meal at the Waterhouse during two visits to the area. Both times the food was delicious. We also enjoyed the view overlooking the river.

Thank Rosemary M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Waterhouse is situated on Nubanusit River and the expansive glass provides a wonderful view. We had the opportunity to sit in the garden but we opted to sit by the riverside seating. Two of us had a hamburger with a side salad and the...More

Thank intents2
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the meal at the Waterhouse. Even though it was 5 p.m. on a Saturday, we barely managed to get a table because of functions in the main part of the restaurant. We were seated outside, and that was surprisingly quiet and pleasant. The...More

Thank GFWCGardener
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have eaten at the Waterhouse several times and the menu is typically well above average. However, we ate there for Mother's day and had a wonderful meal that everyone enjoyed very much.

Thank Jim D
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Very friendly staff. The food was so delicious. Lobster bisque was great and the BLT was unbelievably good and BIG.

Thank kivipi
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, which you pay for in the price of your food. Though advertised as being gluten free friendly, for a place with a good selection of gluten foods - offering a couple of salads and skipping the bun if you ordered the burger seemed...More

Thank Kevin E
WaterhouseNH, Manager at The Waterhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write of your recent experience at our restaurant. We agree we have a lovely atmosphere, and we are pleased that what you "all had was good". I do remember you came in at lunchtime, and we were able...More

Reviewed 10 April 2017

Reviews were all over the map, so we decided to come on a Sunday for dinner for our first try of this restaurant. Only half of it was in use, and that section was about half empty. Shown to a nice 4-top near the window,...More

Thank LDWG
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We arrived at this place for a quick bite for an early dinner and wow, were we surprised! The best cod I've ever had and the french fries were so salty and good! They sat us right in front of the bubbling brook window which...More

Thank Carol G
Nearby Restaurants
Harlow's Pub
226 reviews
.07 km away
Bantam Grill
130 reviews
1.02 km away
Pearl Restaurant & Oyster Bar
120 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mariposa Museum of World Cultures
28 reviews
.16 km away
Bowerbird & Friends Antiques
14 reviews
.09 km away
Twin Elm Farm LLC
9 reviews
1.38 km away
Ava Marie Handmade Chocolates
34 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Patty R
I have been thinking of trying this place for a while now, and It is on my list for the Fall. Or it WAS, anyway. No more! Is this the way the staff really talks to guests who give their opinion on a bad experience? Usually, great restaurants become and stay that way by being attentive to, and accommodating of their guests in addition to serving quality food. Because I don't have the time or inclination to be treated like BelgiansNYC, I will skip the restaurant, because I wouldn't enjoy being blamed for my (reasonable) opinion. There are so many other places to try, what a shame.
28 August 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Deb M | Reviewed this property |
We walked in unannounced one Saturday, met the manager by happenstance, and asked if there was a table that night. She said unfortunately they were completely booked. But she asked us what brought us to town; when we told... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$15 - US$32
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Full Bar, Wine and Beer
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
11:30 - 20:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
11:30 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 18 Depot Square, Peterborough, NH 03458-1455
  • Location: United States  >  New Hampshire (NH)  >  Peterborough
  • Phone Number: +1 603-924-4001
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing