We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yolanda's River House

Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
401 Monmouth Ave, Ocean Gate, NJ 08740-1360
+1 732-269-4300
15:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Thu - Mon 15:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 27: English reviews
Lords Valley, PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I saw some so-so reviews of this place, but I also noticed that most of them were from a while ago. I knew that there was a new owner and we were in the neighborhood, so I thought that I would give it a try. I am really glad that I took the chance because I had one of the... More 

2 Thank PokeYerNose
North NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2015

A Great Place.. Bar and Separate Large Dining Room Hopefully the Owners come to the Realization that Ocean Gate is not the Place for "Fine Dining" with Prices to match... What they need is to hire a real cook.. a few good bartenders, and servers that bring food out on time. The location is Wonderful and the Upstairs Deck overlooking... More 

1 Thank MimiKennyB
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We first went there two years ago to celebrate my Mother's Day. They offered a Sunday Brunch out fo this world. Unfortunately, hurrican Sandy happened! They have rebuilt and now they are under a new ownership. We went back for lunch and the new owner came to our table to introduce himself, I think that was very nice and we... More 

1 Thank Cyberpilot2014
Ocean Gate, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had dinner here on a Saturday night around 8pm. The food was bland, with little taste, and the sides were very small. At best, this was cafeteria food. It's quite obvious that there is not a "chef" working in the kitchen. The owner has a table in the dining room where she uses as an office. Very unprofessional! She spent... More 

2 Thank Tylor M
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The sign it was not going to be good was when I entered the placed on a Saturday night at 530 pm, and only one other diner was inside the place. No people were even at the bar. After being seated, had to wait at least 10 minutes to be greeted by a waitress. Placed a drink order, waited sometime... More 

2 Thank holly452
YolandasRiverHouse, Owner at Yolanda's River House, responded to this review

Dear Patron, I firmly disagree with your most recent comments on our restaurant. We checked with your waitress and our chef and there were no complaints with our service or your food. We also checked our POS system and you were at our restaurant for over two hours. I personally would not stay at any restaurant for over two hours... More 

Toms River, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Best Philly cheesesteak I've had in a long time. Would definitely go back! Service was good. Nice people, good music, nice ambiance. Love the outdoor deck

Thank Carol684
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We have been to Yolanda's on 2 occasions this summer. After reading the dismal reviews, we weren't expecting to be so pleasantly surprised. The food was very good and so was the service. We learned that the restaurant changed owners. The restaurant is pretty and the wait staff very accommodating. We liked the place so much we returned with friends.

Thank Dont08901
New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We've visited Yolanda's 3 times since the spring. The first time was in May, 2013. We walked into the deserted tavern area & immediately left due to the overwhelming smell of varnish or some other chemical. The restaurant had flooding due to Sandy & it probably was from the renovations. Unfortunately since it had not been completely aired out, it... More 

1 Thank NJerseyTravelers
Pine Beach
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Good food and it was the busiest day of the year to go out to dinner. The food was good, but the flow of the food for the brunch was a little off (no salad for 30 minutes), etc...

Thank John W
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It's rare to find a restaurant that is consistant with food and service....even harder to find a restaurant that is as good as Yolanda's. Our experience has been with dinner on each visit. The food is creative, well plated and most importantly delicious. We have tried various menu offerings and found the same consistancy on each visit. The servers are... More 

3 Thank Art K

Travellers who viewed Yolanda's River House also viewed


Been to Yolanda's River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Reservations
Open Hours
15:00 - 22:00
15:00 - 22:00
15:00 - 22:00
15:00 - 22:00
15:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 401 Monmouth Ave, Ocean Gate, NJ 08740-1360
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Ocean Gate
  • Phone Number: +1 732-269-4300
This is a recently opened restaurant that we visited a week ago. The website provides good information.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Yolanda's River House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?