We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

840 Morris Tpke, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2696
+1 973-467-9550
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent21%
  • Very good41%
  • Average19%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (9 reviews)
“steak” (6 reviews)
“the managers” (2 reviews)
Closes in 15 min
11:30 AM - 2:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
840 Morris Tpke, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2696
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Out for a friends dinner. We were surprised to be in the middle of more than 6 children's birthday parties. It was like the Mc Donald's on steroids. The restaurant should have not accepted reservations outside those parties or at least should have warned us...More

Thank Grace I
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This Benihana location continues to go downhill. We used to look forward to a trip to Benihanas, but now, each yearly visit reminds us why we don't go there much anymore. If I do go, I will no longer order scallops or lobster as you...More

1  Thank Tina P
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Onion soup is total SALT. Maybe if one requests a low sodium meal, it would be possible to enjoy the food more. The chef is the main reason for coming here. Quite a nice show for the kids. Very loud with birthdays being celebrated all...More

Thank 1joanne-12
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We come here often as the kids really like it. Food is mediocre. The show is very nice. Service is mediocre. Space is tight. They try to jam in people ... sometimes squeezing in 1-2 extra chairs. And because it's busy they take every opportunity...More

1  Thank OSJ1965
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Years ago the portions were small and the food and ventilation were excellent. Now it is the exact opposite. My guess is that patrons complained that the portions were too small so Benihana made them enormous and, in order to offset the expense, now buys...More

Thank obbell2017
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

On behalf of our Benihana team, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

When I went to Benihana I thought I wouldn't like it because it's Japanese food. (I'm not a fan of Japanese and Chinese.) When we got there, there wasn't much parking. When we got inside, there were paintings, and bamboo. It only took about 5...More

1  Thank christianmU5213IY
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Real rating is "good". I can't rate them "average" because it's not your average eating experience. Add showmanship to consistently good food, particularly when you get a good chef and it's, well, a unique experience. Which makes it ideal for special occasions. Which is why...More

Thank Jim W
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We used my birthday coupon to Benihana. They will check your ID to verify your birthday. The food is OK only. Fried rice will cost extra also. Food is not cheap unless you have coupon and enjoy those "throw food" entertainment. This place is very...More

Thank tanje1
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Like last time, they charged me for extra fried rice which we did not order. At almost $5 per bowl, it was I assume the way they make extra money. Service was okay but they are greatly understaffed. Food was average, nothing to rave about....More

Thank mark p
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Came in January, the wait was long but it was worth it. The food was good and the service was entertaining. A little noisy, but that's part of the experience.

Thank Alex B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Natale's Bakery
114 reviews
1.47 km away
Boxcar Bar and Grill
55 reviews
1.19 km away
Huntley Taverne
286 reviews
.87 km away
Tillies
27 reviews
1.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Reeves-Reed Arboretum
42 reviews
1.02 km away
Paper Mill Playhouse
201 reviews
2.45 km away
Twin Elephant Brewing Company
9 reviews
3.66 km away
Melovino Meadery
27 reviews
4.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$30 - US$30
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 840 Morris Tpke, Short Hills, NJ 07078-2696
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  Short Hills
  • Phone Number: +1 973-467-9550
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing