We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Octopus's Garden

771 S Main St, West Creek, NJ 08092-3120
+1 609-597-8828
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good22%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (12 reviews)
“salad” (21 reviews)
“potatoes” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
771 S Main St, West Creek, NJ 08092-3120
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is a new owner , he has help to increase the menu for the good . If you a great meal go do it we are sure you will be please with the food ,service and atmosphere. Tom and Carol Greenbrair Jersey ShoreMore

Thank Thoms A
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Tom and Carol, I'm so pleased that you both enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere. We've been working hard to increase our menu variety as well as the quality of service. So knowing how much you enjoyed the changes is most encouraging. Hope to see...More

Reviewed 9 May 2018

- It is stated that the french onion soup is the same recipe as the Dutchman's. Not even close. Have had thee Dutchman's at least 30 times and it is great. Here, fair at best and nowhere near the Dutchman's - Filet mignon was dry...More

Thank tripleJ366
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Seafood is our specialty, so it's great that you enjoyed the tuna filet. The onion soup is actually made by the Dutchman's chef so I am not sure what the problem could have been. I do appoligize and sincerely hope you come back and give...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

My family and I have been dining at the Octopus’s Garden for many years. We have shared many great family memories at this restaurant. Therefore, I’m very “protective” and find it difficult to say anything negative. I will mention that since the new owners have...More

Thank dcocco102
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We've tried to offer more options and still maintain a great atmosphere, so I'm glad your family enjoys the restaurant just as much as before. The vegetable tempura appetizer is availible upon request on slower nights. We only ask you make your request along with...More

Reviewed 22 February 2018

It was pasta night. I ordered the Penne with Vodka sauce and grilled salmon. The sauce was red - not pink and it was very spicey - more like fra diavolo. When I asked the waiter, he checked with the chef who told him that...More

Thank alcontd
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's been a few months, but I didn't want to miss the opportunity to apologize that the food was not to your liking. Our chefs use their own creative recipes, but it seems the pasta and salmon missed the mark with you. We have a...More

Reviewed 4 February 2018

Visited on a Saturday night with our daughter & her family her birthday. Off to a rough start when she arrived before us & was rudely told that our reservation did not include children. We actually included 2 children in our original reservation as well...More

1  Thank anonymstrvlr
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm truly sorry that the service and the food were not up to par. It sounds like we had an off night. I would really appreciate another chance to remind you why we were one of your favorites. Take care, Bob Schmid, General Manager

Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

Restaurant was busy, very loud, had to ask for water refills over and over. Food so overpriced. Fish & Chips $24 for 1 large piece of fish over French fries and wet, soggy coleslaw. Lobster deep fried when noted as "flash" fried. Steaks had what...More

Thank Donna S
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, Donna. It's troubling to hear that you didn't love your first visit with us. I can certainly address service on busy nights with the waitstaff. Our prices reflect the cost of providing high-quality seafood to our customers, but I'm sorry that the food wasn't...More

Reviewed 17 January 2018

I have reviewed before and I liked it very much but it has changed ownership and now it is totally over the top delicious! I don't even like lobster BUT I literally crave the fried lobster tails. We visited on New Years Eve around 5pm...More

Thank razzledazzle58
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Been there twice. Ok atmosphere. Mostly fish. Food is OK and very expensive for what you get. Service was pretty good.More

Thank Mieke C
Bob S, Owner at The Octopus's Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's a shame our restaurant didn't wow you the first few times, Mieke. Thanks for your feedback. We work hard to bring you only the freshest locally sourced dishes, which is sometimes reflected in the price. It's true that we have many fish options, but...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

This was my first visit to Octopus Garden in West Creek. So when most restaurants on LBI close after Sept, the Octopus Garden was open and was well worth the trip off the Island. Food was fresh and the server was more than attentive and...More

Thank Angela J
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

I have eaten here previously and had a good experience however this visit was not nearly as good. We visited on a Saturday evening, it was relatively quiet but the service was still slow and lacking. We ordered 6 appetizers for the table and 2...More

Thank Dayle T
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Creek Hotels
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
230 reviews
2.18 km away
Barnegat Motel
27 reviews
7.57 km away
Quarterdeck Inn
2 reviews
8.30 km away
The Islander Motel
123 reviews
8.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Manera's
168 reviews
2.09 km away
Calloway's Restaurant & Bar
63 reviews
1.95 km away
Gourmet Deli
7 reviews
1.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Eagleswood Amusement Park
20 reviews
1.95 km away
Manahawkin Lake Park
10 reviews
4.19 km away
Lucilles candy
9 reviews
2.24 km away
Skydive East Coast
10 reviews
3.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Earle F
22 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bob S | Property representative |
Hello Earle, Thank you for your question! Our dessert menu does change from night to night but the desserts that are served here on most nights are New York Style Cheesecake, Flourless Chocolate Cake, Black and White Cake... More
0
Votes
Catherine E
7 April 2017|
Answer
Response from Bob S | Property representative |
Yes we do have a quite extensive kids menu. You may see it at: theoctopusgardenfishhouse.
0
Votes
Vincent G
30 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bob S | Property representative |
Hi Vincent, We do serve Early Bird entrees from 4:30-5:30pm on Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday evenings. If you go to our website you will find our complete and updated Early Bird, Vegan/Vegetarian, and regular... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$17 - US$35
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
4:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
10:30 AM - 2:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 771 S Main St, West Creek, NJ 08092-3120
    (Mayetta Landing Road)
  • Public Transportation: NJ Transit on Rt 9 stops in front of restaurant
  • Location: United States  >  New Jersey (NJ)  >  West Creek
  • Phone Number: +1 609-597-8828
  • E-mail
Description
The Octopus’s Garden has been serving fresh, local seafood in an elegant environment since 1977. While we’ve expanded our menu over the years, we’ve never wavered from our commitment to flavorful ingredients, from-scratch preparation, and beautiful presentation. We partner with local farmers, seafood markets, and butchers to source the freshest and most sustainable local fare for a truly farm-to-fork experience. Whether you’re a seafood lover or a vegan, we welcome you join us for an incredible meal that celebrates the best this community has to offer.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;