We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Portofino's

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
cnr Da Gama Rd & Goede Hoop St | 22 Da Gama Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
+27 42 293 3125
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Good fresh and tasty food, good price, personal service!! Seating inside and outside. We were served by the owner, who is present and available at the restaurant during business hours. What more can you ask for?

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2016

Service not bad, but an hour and 20 minute wait for a soggy sandwich and a salad that was ment to be spicy chicken and avacardo (drowned in sweet chilli sauce) inedible!

Helpful?
Thank 655erikap
Kerry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely cafe, cool design inside and a good menu to choose from! Great milkshakes here! The prices are fair also. I would recommend cafe portofinos if you are looking for a nice cuppa or a light bite to eat!

Helpful?
Thank Derek O
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016 via mobile

From the first moment of walking into the restaurant me and my husband were taken on a unforgettable experience. The waitress was very helpful and the food was delicious! I strongly recommend it to all food lovers!

Helpful?
Thank Jolandi F
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2016

I never write reviews of restaurants but i feel compelled to warn other travellers about the terrible horrific service i encountered here. My family and i had just been on a lovely safari and were making our way on the Garden Route to Plettenberg Bay. We thought we'd stop here on the way and absolutely wish we hadn't. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sian F
cafeportofinos, Owner at Cafe Portofino's, responded to this review

Good Day. Thank you for your review. I'm sorry for the experience you had with us. Please could you provide me with the date and time you visited our establishment? I would like to have a look at our CCTV system to address this matter as soon as possible. Thank you. More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We had lunch there. Service was nice but the food took very long to arrive and one of our order got forgotten. Since it took so long we didn't want to reorder. Food was ok.

Helpful?
Thank Bruno G
Invergordon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2016

Well, never had a cheeseburger that was a burger bun, halved, sliced frankfurter, topped by grated cheese and sliced avocado. Different, quite tasty, but not what I was expecting! Ordered Windhoek draught beer - because it was draught - but of course got a bottle that said it was draught beer, though bottled. The meal filled a hole, but was... More 

Helpful?
Thank paulbloodworth
cafeportofinos, Owner at Cafe Portofino's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate any feedback from our customers. I would just like to inform you that the burger you received was our very popular Cheese Griller Burger. We do not use Frankfurthers in our restaurant. It looks like misread communication from our side. Sorry for the error. We serve 3 different burgers, Beef burger, Chicken burger... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2016 via mobile

In 20 odd years of being lucky enough to go to many great places I've never been to the same restaurant twice in the same day. I have now. The utter charm of the staff combined with the superb food brought us back in the evening, and again, superb. Different waitress ( actually a bloke at lunch) same charm, same... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phin W
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We normally visit this establishment whenever we are in JBay. The food is good and the service friendly, although it can be a bit on the slow side. Worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank NielMalan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Decided to try this establishment for their milshakes. Had a cottoncandy/ candyfloss milkshake which was great except a little thin. Ordered a burger to go with it. On the menu it says it comes with Camembert cheese which sounded amazing. Well to our surprise the burgers came and the Camembert cheese had somehow become mozzarella cheese. I honestly don't know... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael K

Travellers who viewed Cafe Portofino's also viewed

Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
Jeffreys Bay, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Cafe Portofino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Pizza, Cafe, Seafood, Mediterranean, Grill
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Monday
08:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 21:00
Thursday
08:00 - 21:00
Friday
08:00 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: cnr Da Gama Rd & Goede Hoop St | 22 Da Gama Road, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Jeffreys Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 42 293 3125
Description
Family restaurant with a mix of European and Kalahari (Afrikaans) dishes on the menu. Comfortable seating for backpackers to rest their legs. Wide variety of drinks, hot or cold, and milkshakes that you wont find anywhere else.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Cafe Portofino's and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Portofino's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?