We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wharfside Grill

Mariner's Wharf | Harbour Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
+27 21 790 1100
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (22 reviews)
“prawns” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mariner's Wharf | Harbour Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off on our way to Table Mountain National Park. The coffee was good as was the service in a nice setting overlooking the beach. There was a Cape Fur Seal on the dock which was a great attraction for the kids.

Thank CookRE
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nautically eccentric decor befitting its beautiful location. Our seafaring attired servers were wonderful despite the busy lunch service madly swirling around them. We ate honest fresh seafood, cooked pretty well and washed away with a nice bottle of Rose from a great local wine list.

Thank Jim W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having been here in 2016 and 2017 we came here with full expectations. Now you can read wharfside grill as Mariners Wharf - which appeared to be the same place... I ordered my beloved baby calamaries and my wife a seafood basket like in the...More

Thank The C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The dishes were good for a late lunch meal with a view. I had the Chokka Salad and she had the Prawns Kingfisher.

Thank S. F. S
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Our dinner at the Wharfside Grill was a poor affair. Our waiter was totally unexperienced and too nervous to write down our order. Consequently we got the wrong things or we did not get our order at all. The food we got was below average...More

Thank Martin B
590shaunb, Director at The Wharfside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Martin B Please send me a copy of the bill and/or tell me who served you so I can take this further (shaunb@marinerswharf.co.za). This is clearly unacceptable and I have sent this onto our relevant senior managers/chefs.

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The food is good but not worth what they charge for it. We really had bad service. We enjoyed the crab salad from the shushi menu. Nice seating outside.More

Thank Lynn0416
590shaunb, Director at The Wharfside Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Lynn Clearly you were not happy with the service and for this we apologise. Please email me further details so I can investigate and ensure this doesn't happen again (shaunb@marinerswharf.co.za). We charge industry mark-ups and ensure we are competitive to similar establishments. Assuring you...More

Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We have visited the Wharfside Grill on a couple of occasions now and will again! The menu is extensive and offers some amazing dishes. Everything from your basic fish and chips, to lobster, seafood platters, surf and turf, etc... there is something for everyone and...More

Thank LesleyWBrown
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We went here for dinner twice and enjoyed good food in a marine atmosphere. It is like a museum inside and not only to be explored by kids. We would recommend to make a reservation if you come with 4 or more people, especially for...More

Thank I H
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Had dinner tonight in this restaurant and the meal was absolutely superb. There is a vast amount of dishes to be had including sushi, seafood, fish and meat. The service was sublime and all the waiters and staff were very cheerful. I would thoroughly recommend...More

Thank Anne H
Reviewed 19 December 2017

I may have managed to sum this experience in the title. We were on the top deck outside, sushi and delicious calamari. Neither to be faulted. Beer was cold, great setting. Yes touristy, yes mad busy, but once sat down service was good and the...More

Thank Red_wines100
PreviousNext
12345618
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Hout Bay
Chapmans Peak Beach Hotel
261 reviews
1.21 km away
Hout Bay Manor
162 reviews
1.23 km away
Tintswalo Atlantic
542 reviews
2.67 km away
Monkey Valley Resort
244 reviews
5.57 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cheyne's
378 reviews
1.11 km away
Dunes Beach Restaurant & Bar
798 reviews
.92 km away
Mariner's Wharf
1,270 reviews
.02 km away
The Lookout Deck Hout Bay Restaurant, Bar & Sushi
702 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bay Harbour Market
435 reviews
.87 km away
Bay Harbour - The Market
226 reviews
.16 km away
Urban Brewing Co.
24 reviews
.84 km away
Hout Bay
2,675 reviews
.21 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wharfside Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mariner's Wharf | Harbour Road, Hout Bay 7806, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Hout Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 21 790 1100
  • E-mail
Description
Mariner's Wharf is the first harbourfront emporium in Africa and consists of the upstairs 360 seater Wharfside Grill restaurant, the downstairs fast- food Seafood Bistro, nautical gift shops, Bakery and Fishmarket.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing