We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stone Kitchen

$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bovlei Road | Bovlei Division Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
+27 21 873 6770
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 65: English reviews
Waterfall, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited during the week, off peak season. Excellent for children with large play area alongside the tables. Menu vast and well priced. Service was a bit slow, but in these surroundings you do not mind waiting a little bit longer as the food was excellent. It was very hot, and must imagine in the peak of summer it could well... More 

Thank Lynda B
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We found Stone Kitchen by chance and are very glad we did. As a family visit we found the service good, the food excellent and the facilities (including kids play area) very good. We sat under the trees and had a great meal. The menu is well planned and very nicely executed. All main meals were superb and most of... More 

Thank Geedeevee
Wellington, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family loves going to The Stone Kitchen. Beautiful setting in the garden with spectacular views of the mountains. Friendly professional staff always make us feel welcome. Magnificent, freshly and skilfully prepared food! You cannot go wrong here!

Thank Sonja870
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear Sonja870 Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review we strive to make every visit an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Stone Kitchen Regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We were staying at Dunstone Country House and enjoyed four breakfasts and three dinners. The breakfasts were very good with a nice choice and fresh produce well served, sometimes in the winery if the wind was blowing and otherwise in the attractive garden. The dinners were also very good with a reasonable choice complemented by Dunstone wines but suggest the... More 

Thank Richard B
DunstoneEstate, Owner at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our little Bistro. We do normally have a 7 day menu for dinners, but I think we had had so many requests for certain dishes during that week that the menus got a bit mixed up and hence they got repeated, I do apologies for that. Guest are more than... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Perfect venue for children outside playground. A beautiful mountain backdrop with seating under the trees. The omelettes are fluffy and delicious with 3 filling option. A perfect venue for breakfast!

Thank Mlambros42
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review of our bistro, I am happy that you enjoyed your meals and the surrounding. We hope that next time you will have lunch at our bistro. Kindest Regards Dunstone Team More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
184 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We made a reservation for breakfast and enjoyed every minute of our visit. Small but peaceful seating area outside and the service and food was very good. Freshly prepared croissants are a lovely treat. Child friendly.

1 Thank mcp19752014
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast our croissaints are indeed freshly baked on order next time try our chocolate croissaints. We have just extended our kiddies playarea. Kindest regards Dunstone Team More 

Lemvig, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

This is such a cute place to have some lunch. Especially if you have children! There's a huge playground and a hundred different things for them to do whilst you can sit under the guava trees and enjoy the view of your child playing while having a cup of coffee. Very friendly staff, the food was really nice. We are... More 

Thank JohannaGagel
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear JohannaGagel We would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back at the Stone Kitchen. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant a number of times for breakfast and lunch for the kids playarea. Service is absolutely shockingly appalling. They will ever see us again! Every time is the same Poor service. Get some better people to work there don't bother running a restaurant!

Thank loftynmel
DunstoneEstate, Owner at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

It is so sad to read your review, we have so many happy guests and so many happy returning to The Stone Kitchen, I have no idea why on each and every visit you were so appalled. I also find its disheartening that you were unable to tell the owner or the manager of this appalling service face to face... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Exceptionally hot when we were there for lunch, but the meal was okay and the staff very accommodating in organising some salads for us for our evening braai at the Manor House.... Unfortunately what we ordered - potato wedges turned out to be fairly burnt 'chips'. Breakfast was very disjointed as the young girl forgot the toast and the butter... More 

Thank irenemaclean
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for highlighting the fact that the waiter forgot your condiments. In high season we have to employ casual staff and sometimes they do not get it right we have offered training so that they can be on par. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and so sorry... More 

Level Contributor
184 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Lovely breakfast with wide selection served on outside terrace - weather permitting. Very efficient and friendly staff. Play area for children outside available. Belly pigs and horses nearby - very homely atmosphere. Dinner is pre-selected choices which is fine. Very cozy atmosphere inside restaurant/wine cellar- food was good - majority at our table had the lamb cutlets. Well cooked and... More 

Thank sTcO
DunstoneEstate, Manager at The Stone Kitchen, responded to this review

Dear Stco Many thanks for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Stone kitchen. Our play area and farm animals enjoy the attention from all our little guests. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals and we wish to welcome you back to our estate when you are in the area again.... More 

Travellers who viewed The Stone Kitchen also viewed

Wellington, Western Cape
Wellington, Western Cape

Been to The Stone Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$3 - US$10
Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Takeout, Parking Available
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bovlei Road | Bovlei Division Road, Wellington 7655, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +27 21 873 6770
An Owner managed family bistro offering simple homecooked dishes to enjoy with wines, dishes include The Stones Burger, filled baguettes and vineyard platters. A winery restaurant with amazing views of the majestic Haweka mountains, situated off the beaten track along a gravel road - a truly rural and homely dining experience.

On the lower slopes of their estate, in Dunstone Winery Abbi & Lee offer a casual light bites menu to enjoy with wine tasting.

The Stone Kitchen is Child-friendly offering kiddie snacks and a great play area.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Stone Kitchen and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa
8 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Stone Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?