We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whistling Kettle

24 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1776
+1 518-884-2664
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good33%
  • Average6%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (59 reviews)
“panini” (33 reviews)
“scones” (37 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 AM - 6:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Soups, American, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
24 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1776
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for the crepes and were not disappointed. All the food was tasty. Loved the soups. Impressed with the tea choices. Can't wait to go back.

Thank Lou B
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Glad to hear it Lou! We can't wait to have you back.

Reviewed 11 November 2017

We went there for lunch, ended up making arrangement to pick up enough for 20+ people for our weekend party. They don't smoke meat in quantity all the time, so check their website if you want to order.

Thank francoiset737
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Love good fresh food, good fresh teas and awesome desserts? This is your place. Excellent food along with tons of teas to chose from.

Thank ToastAloha
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks for the review, we're so glad you enjoyed.

Reviewed 10 October 2017

This is our second visit and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. The red pepper and gouda soup is delicious and a bit tastier than the lobster bisque. I had savory crepes both visits: the ratatouille crepe and the turkey and brie...More

Thank fishlovergirl
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks for the review! We're glad you enjoyed! Definitely try a la carte, many love to!

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit to the Whistling Kettle! We were not disappointed. The afternoon tea selection was the best for us. The lobster bisque is outstanding. Not to be out done by the beautiful dessert crepes! I read reviews that said the bread was...More

Thank Lov2teach
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you enjoyed!

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We were looking forward to lunch on Sunday, having enjoyed a meal there a few years ago. On our first bite, we thought the tea sandwiches were toasted, but then figured out that the bread was just dry and crusty as if the food had...More

Thank AussieGeorge99
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hello, We're sorry you had this experience dining with us. Our sandwiches are made as ordered. We would love to hear more about your experience, please send us an email to customerservice@thewhistlingkettle.com.

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Generally food to accompany brunch or lunch or tea. The food is generally quite good. The selection of teas is exceptional and they can be purchased to take home.

Thank Teddyo94
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thanks for the review Teddy! We're glad you enjoy the food.

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We've been to both Whistling Kettle locations and have had consistently good experiences. This time not so much. Yes, it was late on a Saturday afternoon, and had probably been very busy, but this was not a good experience. The waitress was distracted by a...More

Thank trico2
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Hello, We're sorry to hear about your poor experience dining with us. Would you mind sending us an email to customerservice@thewhistlingkettle.com? We'd love to hear more about this.

Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stopped for a late lunch on Sunday afternoon. This was our third visit in the past two years. Half of the tables inside the restaurant and on the patio were empty and there was a large number of staff standing around talking. We were...More

Thank David S
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Hi David, Sorry to hear about your experience. We strive to give our customers nothing but the best and we apologize for falling short of yours and our own expectations. Please send us an email to info@thewhistlingkettle.com. We'd love to hear more about this.

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

The food is good, the tea selection is fantastic, the service is pleasant and efficient, and the patio is cool-ish on a lazy afternoon. It's not high tea so don't expect cucumber sandwiches. It is a pleasant way to eat lunch and is worth the...More

Thank cpurdye
kettle2, Public Relations Manager at The Whistling Kettle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Iron Roost
180 reviews
.03 km away
Next Door Kitchen & Bar
122 reviews
.09 km away
Augie's Family Style Italian
243 reviews
.09 km away
Nearby Attractions
National Bottle Museum
17 reviews
.13 km away
Dakota Ridge Farm
15 reviews
1.42 km away
A Bead Just So
5 reviews
.08 km away
Medbury Inn and Spa
13 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Whistling Kettle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 24 Front St, Ballston Spa, NY 12020-1776
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Ballston Spa
  • Phone Number: +1 518-884-2664
  • E-mail
Description
The Whistling Kettle is a full service cafe and tea room with a diverse menu offering for everyone. Paninis, crepes, artisan soups, plenty of salad choices, home made scones, tea sandwiches, beer and wine and over 150+ types of tea. We also offer all our tea in bulk as well as a full line of merchandise.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing