We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
West Coast National Park, South Africa
+27 22 772 2134
Website
Today
09:00 - 18:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The idea is great but the restaurant is tired! It needs a bit of spurking up. And the menu needs to be revised - new dishes and lower prices!

Helpful?
Thank Sam d
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Geelbeck quite a few times before , but this time was a big disappointment. The restaurant is grubby and the food was substandard - very oily vegetables and chips, limp salad , and the Malay chicken curry which is usually a highlight , was just OK... The ostrich burger is very expensive for a very average... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenni44
ElmarieL, Manager at Geelbek, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, we have a few staff on leave after season, I will check with kitchen that recipes are followed. We have training of staff in the next few weeks. We only buy fresh produce, but I must admit that the avo's that you buy in general are not good. We are changing to our winter menu soon... More 

Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location in the middle of the West Coast National Park was stunning. However, as there were no other restaurants near by they had a certain monopoly on food. The courtyard we ate in was rustic with make do canopies over the tables, but it worked. The tables clothes were dirty and you got the feeling cleanliness were not top... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterPort
ElmarieL, Owner at Geelbek, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. We do new linen every day, we are however an outdoor venue with lots of birds around. The slightest wind might have a bit of dust on your table and we change our linen all the time, we are sorry that you encountered any dirt and I will step up in making staff more attentive to... More 

Bern
Level Contributor
214 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just beside parks reception is the restaurant where, if sitting outside, you have to 'fight' with the abundant birds for your food. Not a big selection, however with tipical western cape specialities. Simple but worth a visit. Closed at evenings (goes with the park gates hours)

Helpful?
Thank rajang
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a lovely lunch in the garden at a nice table under a canopy, with weaver birds flying in and out of their nests, (and some cheeky ones landing on our table). Good food, very attractive relaxed surroundings and service.

Helpful?
Thank Rosemaryat9
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the atmosphere very relaxed and a good stop during the drive through the nature reserve. The food was excellent - had the babotie and a nice darling beer (craft beer from one of the nearby local breweries).

Helpful?
Thank paulwoutersen
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a day visit to the National Park from Cape Town. Had lunch at Geelbek restaurant. Quiche and salad was very tasty. Service was good but we had to ask to be seated. The restaurant is neat and lovely to sit outside on the terrace. Would go back anytime.

Helpful?
Thank heineraudrey
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been here over the years when staying at Duinepos. This time we decided to pop in (3.30) for coffee and cake. The cake selection was awful, my iced coffee was melted coffee ice cream!!! My husband had a cup of coffee which was luke warm. The cakes were so sweet they had no flavour at all. Such a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jerseygym
ElmarieL, Manager at Geelbek, responded to this review

Hi I will attend to the coffee section. Our cakes are baked by an award winning baker, which was voted top 4 cake baker in the country. Sorry if the cake was too sweet. We take notice of your concerns and will attend to whatever we can. We are doing training every week, and await a barista training soon. Regards... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

We did not know what to expect here but OMG what a seriously nice place with a mass of history behind it The food was simple and good and the service was much the same. You sit there under the trees with the weaver birds zooming around the place in and out of their nests. We will be going back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Poserpike2015
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

Yes, you have to enter the West Coast National Park first and pay a little fee. But the restaurant deserves a visit. Really good food, fine wines, okay service and well priced.

Helpful?
Thank 8tung

Travellers who viewed Geelbek also viewed

Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
Langebaan, Saldanha Bay Municipality
 

Been to Geelbek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
African
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 18:00
Monday
09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 18:00
Thursday
09:00 - 18:00
Friday
09:00 - 18:00
Saturday
09:00 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: West Coast National Park, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  West Coast National Park
  • Phone Number: +27 22 772 2134

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Geelbek staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?