We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plum Garden Japanese Restaurant

3349 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-5513
+1 585-381-8730
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good35%
  • Average21%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“onion volcano” (2 reviews)
“tuna roll” (2 reviews)
“miso soup” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3349 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-5513
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Another gem at Pittsford Plaza. A simple Japanese restaurant on the outside, almost missed it. They have lots of tepanjaki tables, which we tried. The food was great. We tried the chicken and shrimp. The fried rice was wonderful. We’ll be back to try the...More

Thank JeffHaole1263
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I have been here many times and it is a fun place to eat. Some chefs are better than others with their skills at the grill but the food has always been yummy!! I will go back and recommend everyone should try it at least...More

Thank MissThirsty
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

My family and I came here for dinner after 8pm...the food weren't too bad...but we felt like were being rush to get out of the restaurant.

Thank Herminia W
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Disappointed. We all ordered hibachi chicken for lunch except my granddaughter who at 12 years old was the smart one. She ordered a tuna roll which was good. The chicken was very dry, the vegetable were not hot. Rice was OK but the soup was...More

Thank Arab S
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

An ideal location for a light or heavy lunch. I stopped for a quick sushi lunch and it was great. Service was quick, waited less than 10 mnts for my meal. I ordered the Miso Soup, Spicy Tuna hand roll and a Salmon Roll (Sake)....More

Thank DKleps
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We went for lunch. We ordered chicken, and vegetable plates. Really disappointed. The chicken was dry. The rest of the meal was not even hot.. Sorry I didn't order the sushi.

Thank Dianne K
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We ate at the Plum Garden for lunch and ordered the shrimp and steak hibachi style. Our cook was friendly and we all enjoyed his expertise cooking the rice, and then our dinner in front of us. The meal was delicious and very filling.

Thank AnOutdoorEnthusiast
Reviewed 20 May 2017

This is a restaurant that not only provides great food but a show as well. The food is always fresh because it's made in front of you and the chefs put on a show that's not to be missed. We had so much food that...More

Thank Barbara m
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My wife and our two little boys visited for the first (and only) time without reservations at 6:21 on a Sunday night on a recommendation from my brother-in-law. We were told we'd have to wait 20-25 minutes, and treated the boys to Shirley Temples at...More

3  Thank erikpiazza
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Went to Plum Garden for the first time after hearing it was great. We have been to several hibachi style Japanese restaurants and this by far was the worst! Had to wait 20 after reservations were made, food came fast but room temperature. Portions were...More

3  Thank Katie F
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pizzeria Favo
54 reviews
.44 km away
Black & Blue Steak & Crab
401 reviews
.03 km away
The Burger Bar by Wegmans
38 reviews
.56 km away
Cheesecake Factory
226 reviews
.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mendon Ponds Park
135 reviews
1.03 km away
Kings Bend Park
8 reviews
1.56 km away
Bounce It Out
56 reviews
.39 km away
Pittsford Plaza
25 reviews
.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cmschmi27
4 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Barbara m | Reviewed this property |
We had 8 at our table but they have tables that are connected so you can go around the corner and if you have a very large number, you will get two Chefs! Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3349 Monroe Ave, Rochester, NY 14618-5513
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Finger Lakes  >  Rochester
  • Phone Number: +1 585-381-8730
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing