We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black & Blue Steak & Crab

3349 Monroe Ave, Ste 39, Rochester, NY 14618-5513
+1 585-421-8111
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good24%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (151 reviews)
“crab” (21 reviews)
Closed Now
4:00 PM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3349 Monroe Ave, Ste 39, Rochester, NY 14618-5513
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I had a pretty awful experience my last visit with this restaurant but because of the long history with friends and family, I decided to try again. I don't live in town, so a lot is blind trust in reviews etc. They took care of...More

Thank Michael H
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Michael, thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are so grateful for giving b&b a second chance and look forward to sharing your review with the entire b&b team. See you soon! Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went there for my daughters birthday dinner,it was special occasion so we wanted a restaurant that was a head of the rest. We found it at Black and Blue! The atmosphere and service was superb. The food was amazing! Definitely will go back.More

Thank Debbie M
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Debbie, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased to hear about your positive experience celebrating a special occasion with us. Happy Birthday to your daughter! Thank you again. Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations Manager Two For Seven, LLC...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent place for a great steak or anything crab. My husband just adores their shecrab soup. I had a change of pace and tried one of their pasta dishes. Which was unusual and delicious... Papparadelle with arugula as part of the mix. It was our...More

Thank MariaitaliaupstateNY
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We are honored to celebrate such a special occasion with your family and look forward to sharing your review with the entire team. Thank you again! Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations Manager Two...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Their food was on a par with other top named steak houses. The only problem is that I do not think a steak dinner is not worth all the pomp and circumstance at these types of places. You can get a good steak or burger...More

1  Thank Mark G
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mark, thank you very much for your review. I'd like to apologize on behalf of the entire team for any issues you experienced during your last visit. This is certainly not our standard and not what you should expect from us. If you're open to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You never have a bad experience here. Great food, great drinks, a reasonably priced wine menu and consistency. The chop salad is probably my favorite salad anywhere. We also had the shortrib on this visit as well. Perfection! It's a must visit in Rochester.

Thank dlekas
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to sharing this with the entire b&b team and hope to see you soon. Thank you again! Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations Manager Two For Seven, LLC guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Well we were 4 adults and two teenagers . Everyone ordered and many streaks were included. The most expensive steak on the menu was ordered . A filet with bone it. When it arrived it Was inedible. It was sent back and a smaller boneless...More

Thank lara p
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Lara, thank you for taking the time to leave a review and share with us your experience. We are honored to celebrate such a special occasion with your family. Happy Birthday! Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations Manager Two For Seven, LLC guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I have never been disappointed with the food or service at this restaurant. In my opinion there are not many great steak restaurants in the Rochester area and this place is my favorite. Every dish was a delight and the thing I love the most...More

Thank MissThirsty
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and share with us your experience. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations Manager Two For Seven, LLC guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We were greeted very nicely and seated right away. My lobster bisque was good not great. My wife loved the crab legs and my daughter loved her filet. I had the special...bone in filet. A little disappointing, not as good as I was hoping for....More

Thank JimmyJ62
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Jimmy, thank you very much for your review. I'd like to apologize on behalf of the entire team for the less than stellar dining experience you had with us. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service, we are concerned about the food...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

Went for lunch with friends, everyone ordered different items. I started with cup of lobster bisque, then had "black and blue" salad. Amazing!!

Thank Tim R
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Tim, thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and share with us your experience. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Kiley M Guest Relations Manager Two For Seven, LLC guestrelations@blackandbluesteakandcrab.com

Reviewed 7 September 2017

We have been to the B&B a number of times for special celebrations, and it always has been good. My favorite dish has been the 2lb. Alaskan King Crab. Our visit on 09/03/2017 was a real disappointment. The crab, which I request to be removed...More

Thank DK B
Kiley M, Guest Relations Manager at Black & Blue Steak & Crab, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. We are so sorry to hear about your poor experience in our restaurant. This is certainly not what you should expect from us. I want to assure you that we will be sharing your notes with the kitchen...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pizzeria Favo
54 reviews
1.37 km away
The Burger Bar by Wegmans
37 reviews
.55 km away
Cheesecake Factory
222 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Kings Bend Park
8 reviews
1.58 km away
Bounce It Out
55 reviews
.36 km away
Pittsford Plaza
25 reviews
.36 km away
Breakout Games - Rochester
6 reviews
.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kari A
28 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Jipeval | Reviewed this property |
Business or cocktail
0
Votes
Katie T
8 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Kiley M | Property representative |
Yes, we can absolutely prepare items that do not have shellfish and take extra precautions to ensure there is no cross-contamination. However, we do cook and serve a lot of shellfish in the restaurant. Please let us know if... More
0
Votes
Madelyn B
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Michael F | Reviewed this property |
Biz Casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$100
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Valet Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 2:30 PM
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3349 Monroe Ave, Ste 39, Rochester, NY 14618-5513
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  Finger Lakes  >  Rochester
  • Phone Number: +1 585-421-8111
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing