We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Shabu

$$ - $$$Chinese, Asian,
Dayanand street, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30549
+230 5701 2189
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good25%
  • Average2%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“dim sum” (3 reviews)
“asian dishes” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Chinese, Asian, Singaporean, Japanese, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
Dayanand street, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30549
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is good here, but I think they put too much MSG in the food. It has that addictive taste and doesn't leave you feeling full.More

Thank Paul C
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir Please note that we do not use msg in the food at all in our restaurant. I myself am allergic to it. Unfortunately in many sauces there is flavour enhancer product already but we do not use msg in our kitchen . If...More

Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Probably the cleanest restaurant in Grand Baie, prepared with the freshest local produce. One cannot fault anything in this lovely restaurant, we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit here and will definitely be back to savour the tasty and beautifully presented Asian dishes. The Dim Sum...More

Thank Nick_Germany
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to write your appreciation. Likewise it was a pleasure for me and my team meeting you and sharing so many travellers little stories. It is always so interesting to meet people who travel all over the world and to...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

We ate at Le Shabu 2-3 times a week during our 4 weeks stay in Mauritius. The food was always fresh and delicious, there’s quite a big variety of food on the menu, anything from Asian BBQ to Thai beef salad. The prices are very...More

Thank talie_fradd79
Le Shabu M, General Manager at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write abour your appreciation of our food. And hope to see you soon Cheers LE SHABU TEAM

Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

Amazing fusion dishes with lots of fresh flavors, friendly and welcoming staff, kids friendly as well and cosy atmosphere. Will come back for sure. Great experience 👌

Thank Wesley A
Le Shabu M, General Manager at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write abour your appreciation of our food. And hope to see you soon Cheers LE SHABU TEAM

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Had a lovely evening here enjoying the dim sum and the excellent thai curry, tasted very fresh. Would definitely go back here, excellent Asian food.

Thank safa_an
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your nice review and visit. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. Cheers

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We visited Le Shabu on our 8th night on Mauritius. By this point we had ticked off many trip advisor restaurants and were now unsure where to go after having a few good meals out. We fancied Chinese and came across Le Shabu, which is...More

2  Thank Lizzie S
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for visiting us. We are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. Cheers

Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

Excellent flavors, very good quality ingredients. I strongly suggest it. Not to miss the dim sum, the tom yum soup, the steamboat, the pineapple rice and the sago for dessert.

Thank stecaccia
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your appreciation to us. Hoping to see you again during your next trip in Mauritius. Cheers

Reviewed 31 May 2017

We were having a few drinks up in the north and at night time we started to feel rather hungry. My cousin mentioned about this restaurant and at first I was not too sure coz I tend to stick to what I know most of...More

1  Thank Mikash H
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about us. It always feels good to hear our food and service is appreciated. We hope to see you soon and will always try our best to meet up with your needs n requests. Cheers Le Shabu...More

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat at 21:45 when most of the restaurants were about to close, at le shabu instead we felt welcome thanks to the very nice and professional staff. The fish curry and squids were very nice. I'd definitely recommend.

Thank Luca T
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We are glad we helped you find something to eat at this time. And moreover we are glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again. Cheers The management team

Reviewed 14 March 2017

The restaurant can be a bit hard to find especially if you don't know Grand Bay. Yes ma'am not everyone knows their way around Grand Bay. We went on a Sunday evening and it was impossible to park along the street on which the restaurant...More

Thank Julien L
Le Shabu M, Owner at Le Shabu, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear Julien L Thanks for your review. Please note that we have taken note of all the negative critics and we have been working on it already. It is true that we have suddenly started to be busier than before and recruiting good staff in...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 182 hotels in Mauritius
Grand Bay Suites
8 reviews
.53 km away
Hotel Ventura
10 reviews
.59 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
3,351 reviews
.60 km away
Hotel Les Orchidees
24 reviews
.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Le Lucky Strike Bowling
27 reviews
.26 km away
Sauterelle
466 reviews
.29 km away
Dalon
299 reviews
.22 km away
Gourmet Grill Mauritius
411 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
La Cuvette Beach
481 reviews
.81 km away
Big Game Fishing
20 reviews
.29 km away
Grand Baie Beach
132 reviews
.19 km away
Sunset Boulevard
66 reviews
.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Shabu staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$28
Meals
Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Friday
7:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Saturday
7:00 PM - 11:45 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dayanand street, Grand Baie, Mauritius 30549
  • Location: Africa  >  Mauritius  >  Riviere du Rempart District  >  Grand Baie
  • Phone Number: +230 5701 2189
  • E-mail
Description
Completely renewed, cosy and bright restaurant. Dining room with fans, and open patio are available at your convenience. Our bar will offer you a choice of french wines,home made punch with a mauritian touch, local beer and imported ones and soft drinks as well as fresh fruit juices. Our house specialty is the Asian BBQ and Steamboat. The Shabu Terre Mer is the most popular among our clients. But because there is no limit to our menu we have introduced a french version of our BBQ served with french fries and salad and of course DU PAIN! We have a variety of Thai and Japanese salads and tangy asian soups like Tom Yum and Laksa. Fresh whole fish from our lagoons are available and for the darers we have Red curry with coconut milk as well as Nasi Goreng and Thai Pineapple Fried rice. Last but not least you can have asian desserts.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing