We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Shoals Club

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
100 Station House Way, Bald Head Island, NC 28461
19104544888
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Was end of season and not fully open. The location, facilities, and views fantastic. Breathtaking view of Cape Fear Point Staff member who spoke to us was so nice and informative

Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were staying in middle island and didn't realize we had access to the pool there so we got a temporary membership to Shoals Club. The kiddie pool was the highlight and where we stayed the entire time. The chair guy for the beach was useless and couldn't even figure out how to put an umbrella in the ground. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Woody W, General Manager at The Shoals Club, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Shoals Club. Your experience is certainly not what the overwhelming majority of our members and temporary members experience on a consistent basis. Our management team is happy to address any concerns you may have at the time of service if you bring deficiencies to their attention. I... More 

Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2016

We received a temporary guest membership to The Shoals Club with our house rental and couldn't have been happier. We ate a delicious lunch there almost every day and enjoyed the pool during high tide and the beach at low tide. Extra bonus...our children loved the pool games organized by the club staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christie G
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2016

If you are renting on the island try to get a membership at this club. It is on the ocean and has great views. There is plenty of covered seating for enjoying the view out of the sun! If you are a member, you can get a beach chair and umbrella. The pool is great with plenty of seating and... More 

Helpful?
Thank stargazerlilly2014
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
226 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely, uncrowded pool with plenty of chairs! Great views! The beach is eroded, but still a nice walk! Cute outdoor cafe area - heard the shrimp tacos are delish!

Helpful?
1 Thank CarsonsMommy
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

Go to the Shoals Club even if you just to take in the view :) The club is very attractive and very nice people work there!!!! The views of the beach and ocean are fabulous!!! We had lunch at the Grille and it was very tasty and again excellent service. The Shoals went out of their way to to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathtravels2382
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2016

we were celebrating with just 19 people the marriage of our son. The food was very good as was the service. They really catered to us and made everyone feel special. All the orders were correct. The food came on time. A great place to have a large group of people.

Helpful?
1 Thank judith b
Vista, California, United States
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2015

Went here for an anniversary dinner. What a disappointment. The corn/crab chowder which we were told was not to be missed was a huge letdown. 7 of the 9 in our party order it and all servings were either cold or lukewarm. The crab was a small crab dangling over the edge of the cup. The entrees proved to be... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ChampagneGirl0610
Woody W, General Manager at The Shoals Club, responded to this review

My apologies that your experience was not what you had expected. Our managers are happy to address issues at the time on the rare occurrence that someone is not pleased, if given the opportunity. With regard to the corn soup- it is not a corn and crab chowder as you mentioned and if that is what you were expecting then... More 

Bald Head Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2015 via mobile

At first we were seated in the large room at the back where a large party was already seated. Soon another group arrived and the first group proceeded to greet them, loudly, like old lost friends. The noise was such that we asked to be moved. The staff quickly moved us out of that room and onto the smaller one.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank BHIguru
Woody W, General Manager at The Shoals Club, responded to this review

My apologies for your experience. You are correct in that this is not what you should expect or receive from the Shoals Club. I would certainly be willing to discuss this issue with you further. Again my apologies that we fell short this evening. You can reach me via email at fwalls@bhisland.com. Regards, Woody Walls- Managing Director More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2015

Seven of us sat down for a meal on our last day on BHI. Seven of us ordered. Forty minutes later two meals were delivered - not ours but the table next door. The meals were returned to the kitchen and reappeared 20 minutes later to the table! Five of our seven meals arrived. Delivery staff (different from order taker)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Edward S

Travellers who viewed The Shoals Club also viewed

Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Shoals Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Station House Way, Bald Head Island, NC 28461
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Bald Head Island
  • Phone Number: 19104544888

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Shoals Club and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Shoals Club staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?