We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shoals Club

100 Station House Way, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5112
+1 910-454-4888
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good17%
  • Average14%
  • Poor17%
  • Terrible8%
14 Jul 2017
“Overpriced food, mediocre quality”
4 Jul 2017
“Decent options”
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 Station House Way, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5112
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Had a great dinner at this lovely spot. Live music and outdoor seating overlooking the pool and on to the dunes and beach. Shrimp ceviche appetizer, sword fish and New York strip were the favorites. Great bread too

Thank Donald K
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

If a visitor wants lunch at the pool, better bring your own. My son-in-law ordered chicken nuggets for his two children and pizza for himself, and when his 11 year-old daughter went to the deck to ask for ketchup, she was told that ketchup bottles...More

Thank tmcrae1949
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

Overall service was friendly. My daughter enjoyed the arts and crafts time each day. We ate lunch there a few times. Sometimes service was slow. The food was good though.

Thank hseh
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Just noticed that my last review was about Mojo's on Bald Head Island. Four years later, we ate there again last week. Much improved. Overall great experience at Mojo's. However, lunch at the Sandbar Grill at the Shoal's Club on Father's Day was horrible. Service...More

Thank CruiseTrippin
Reviewed 1 June 2017 via mobile

Here's the deal with the Shoals Club on Bald Head. Note: I only decided to write this review because of the fancy new yelp sticker which the club has proudly displayed on their front door. My family and I have been members at the Shoals...More

5  Thank ncoxla
Woody W, General Manager at The Shoals Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

I was very disappointed to read this online review from a member of the Shoals Club when we have many options for addressing concerns directly. It is also concerning to get this feedback when the overwhelming response from our members and their guests was that...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

Excellent...Truly picturesque venue. Unfortunately, both the service and the kitchen are unpredictable. You could have the most memorable evening...or witness ineptitude incarnate. (Either way, it ain't gonna be cheap...which warrants the "poor" rating.) Staff turnover has always been an issue...to the point that my wife...More

1  Thank RagTopRon
Woody W, General Manager at The Shoals Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thank you for your feedback and the opportunity to address your concerns. Unpredictable and inconsistent are not words I have heard associated with the Shoals Club for several years, so your feedback is certainly concerning to me. If there is a specific instance/visit that you...More

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Was end of season and not fully open. The location, facilities, and views fantastic. Breathtaking view of Cape Fear Point Staff member who spoke to us was so nice and informative

Thank Deborah H
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were staying in middle island and didn't realize we had access to the pool there so we got a temporary membership to Shoals Club. The kiddie pool was the highlight and where we stayed the entire time. The chair guy for the beach was...More

1  Thank Julie H
Woody W, General Manager at The Shoals Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time at Shoals Club. Your experience is certainly not what the overwhelming majority of our members and temporary members experience on a consistent basis. Our management team is happy to address any concerns you...More

Reviewed 6 August 2016

We received a temporary guest membership to The Shoals Club with our house rental and couldn't have been happier. We ate a delicious lunch there almost every day and enjoyed the pool during high tide and the beach at low tide. Extra bonus...our children loved...More

1  Thank Christie L
Reviewed 15 July 2016

If you are renting on the island try to get a membership at this club. It is on the ocean and has great views. There is plenty of covered seating for enjoying the view out of the sun! If you are a member, you can...More

Thank stargazerlilly2014
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Delphina Coastal Cuisine
146 reviews
5.10 km away
Sandpiper Coffee and Ice Cream
51 reviews
5.11 km away
Mojo's on the Harbor
324 reviews
5.03 km away
Maritime Market Cafe
74 reviews
2.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bald Head Island Lighthouse
188 reviews
4.88 km away
Bald Head Island Conservancy
32 reviews
.47 km away
Bald Head Island Club
58 reviews
4.39 km away
The Sail Shop
17 reviews
5.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
madisonmarygrace
11 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Woody W | Property representative |
The Shoals Club requires that you are a member or a temporary member (guest of a member) in order to utilize any of the facilities or dining. If you have specific questions please feel free to contact our office at... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
American, Bar, Pub
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Station House Way, Bald Head Island, NC 28461-5112
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Bald Head Island
  • Phone Number: +1 910-454-4888
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing