We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...

Outback Steakhouse

) #405 of 623 Restaurants in Durham $$ - $$$, American, Steakhouse
3500 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9015
+1 919-493-2202
Website
Save
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Menu
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good27%
  • Average30%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“onion petals” (2 reviews)
“sirloin” (2 reviews)
“house salad” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
American, Steakhouse
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
3500 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9015
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the Outback in Durham while staying in Durham one night on a trip to Williamsburg, VA.. My wife has a sensitive stomach and cannot tolerate spicy food, especially pepper. After explaining this to our waitress, Regina T., she asked the Kitchen Manager to...More

Thank Sidney L
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Staff was friendly and attentive. Food was prepared nice and not heavily seasoned. Location was great

1  Thank PensacolaBeach
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The steak was cold and dry. The service was so slow.We had to ask for things such as , dressing, tea and it took so long to get these items. Will not go back.

Thank ldrdkr
OutbackGuestServices, Manager at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review

This isn't how things should be. We'd like to review this further if you could please take a moment to send me an email at news@outback.com with the subject "TripAdvisor - Durham, NC". We can then correspond directly over email. Sincerely, Madeline Outback Steakhouse

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

We come to this restaurant often. while the food is consistently good, the service tends to be a little slow. When we come here, we usually put our "patient "hats on and enjoy the company.

Thank RicardoMB512
Reviewed 19 February 2017

We did "call ahead" at noon for a party of seven people at 7:00 p.m. We arrived at 7:00, and were not seated until 7:55. Our waitress was very pleasant and attentive, but she also said she'd been "on the floor" for just two days,...More

Thank Richard R
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I went in to order. I was met by a new server who was unsure about the menu but did not delay in getting me someone who could help me. I had never tried the potato soup but the manager brought me a sample to...More

Thank Carla P
Reviewed 11 January 2017

I recently brought a group of 12 people to the Outback at an Off-Time when the restaurant wasn't busy. We were at an in between time after a memorial service and had time to waste. Well, time was wasted, by the restaurant personnel. The manager...More

Thank Stephen M
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Just had a very nice visit for a family member birthday. Used call ahead seating so we were seated upon arrival. Drinks, blooming onion were very good and everyone enjoyed steaks of some sort, lobster, shrimp and the accompanying sides immensely! Wait & supporting staff...More

Thank ChrisR451
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

We waited for an 1 1/2 hours for a table. After finally getting a table we waited 15 more minutes and still hadn't been waited on. The manager said sorry. Nothing more. That was just very poor customer service. This has always been our favorite...More

Thank Tami T
OutbackGuestServices, Manager at Outback Steakhouse, responded to this review

We can do better than this. We'd like to review this further if you could please take a moment to send me an email at news@outback.com with the subject "TripAdvisor - Durham, NC". We can then correspond directly over email. Sincerely, Madeline Outback Steakhouse

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Took longer than it should have to be seated. Lots of empty tables and booths, not enough wait staff! And we visited early in the evening on a Monday night. Are good employees that hard to find? When we were seated the service was good....More

Thank Bill M
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Freddy Frozen Custard & Steakburgers
40 reviews
.40 km away
Kanki Japanese House of Steaks
94 reviews
.12 km away
Carrabba's Italian Grill
65 reviews
.47 km away
Peony Asian Bistro
40 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Franklin Street
280 reviews
4.78 km away
Duke Lemur Center
241 reviews
5.64 km away
Kidzu Children's Museum
32 reviews
4.01 km away
Gimghoul Castle
21 reviews
6.05 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
dstanf
I agree with chapelhillmom about the restaurants and their definition of half a rack of ribs. but a real rack of ribs usually contains 14 bones after butchering. And that is 14 ribs from each side of the pig for a total of 28 bones.
1 September 2016|
Answer
Response from cstone30 | Reviewed this property |
Understood. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31 - US$40
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
16:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 22:00
Thursday
16:00 - 22:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3500 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9015
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +1 919-493-2202
  • E-mail